We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Side Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Side Hotel
Save
You added Surf Side Hotel to your Saves list
6701 South Virginia Dare, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Just got back, another wonderful stay at the surf side. Wonderful face wipes, I love them. They do need better hand soap in the bathroom, it does not rinse off well. we always bring our own hand soap due to that. Only complaint is that we were right over the smoking area and had to come in from the balcony whenever there were smokers. (first floor, north side of building) Will not stay on lower floors except on pool side from now on. Kids love the breakfast and the waffles muffins, etc. Beds and pillows are a little soft, but that seems to be the norm these days, had same issue at a springhill suites last month. Love the new balcony over the new porte cochere/covered entrance in front of the building, accessible from the first floor near the elevator

Room Tip: avoid lower floors on north side due to smokers below near entrance. Hotel generally quiet, but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
We are grateful for your choice to stay with us again and for your time in reviewing the hotel. We learn how to improve by listening to our guests and implementing changes that we feel will benefit the majority. Your concerns about the smoking area are valid and well received. This is an item we will focus on improving for yours and other guests future stays. Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President/COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    214
    42
    6
    8
See reviews for
254
394
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at Surf Side Inn for about 5 years in a row now. We consider this our home away from home on the Outer Banks. The people that run the Inn are always so kind and helpful always trying to make your stay as nice and comfortable as possible. The rooms are large and very clean. They have a wonderful free breakfast with many choices and always fresh fruit. Every afternoon there are snacks and wine for their quests.

The Surf Side Inn is in a very nice part of Nags Head with a beautiful beach. The Inn is small which makes you feel more comfortable. We would recommend this beautiful place to anyone going to the Outer Banks?

Room Tip: Ocean front have rocking chairs! Otherwise third floor south side rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel to let others know about the experience we work hard to deliver at the Surf Side. We truly care about our wonderful guests and we appreciate the guests that recognize the efforts we are making to make their stay relaxing and enjoyable. We sincerely appreciate your years of business so we will continue working to improve the hotel to make each stay more enjoyable than your last.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President / COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

If this is number 2 in Nags Head, advise to stay at another beach, or try Lost Colony Inn nearby which seemed very clean and well run….wish we had.

Highlights of stay at Surf Side, top floor, ocean front, south building, room with jacuzzi and 5x5 foot balcony w/2 chairs:

-did not get corner room as requested and confirmed;
-was called after we got home asking why we had not yet checked out of our "second" room, which WAS the corner room and was vacant during our entire stay (ps, we only reserved ONE room);
-at checkin was given a receipt that incorrectly stated "return" after we were supposedly charged for remainder of room charge balance;
-later discovered full room charge had been made on incorrect credit card, presumably for "second room";
-credit card account still not showing proper corrections 6 days later.

while there:

-no bread for toast at breakfast and no offer/attemp (even at 8.30 am) to get more bread from grocery store;
-maid staff constantly smoking, standing or sitting on floor in hallways outside rooms;
-boxes, old bathtubs and plastic bags full of trash/lines/towels laying around tight hallways most of day;
-constant smoke drifting in hallways and to room balcony from either maids or guest "smoking" area in enclosed parking garage directly below rooms.

Front desk staff uniformly friendly and polite at all times.

Spoke to COO of owning firm who profusely apologized for errors by his manager but no adjustments offered or requested.

Would not recommend to anyone unless/until new manager arrives and implements changes to above problems.

Room Tip: Find another motel and stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
My apologizes for my staff were sincere. We failed to perform to the high standards we all strive to meet and deliver to our guests and for that I am sorry. We work hard to make every guests stay memorable for the right reasons but as much as we would all like to be perfect every single day every single time, on occasion we slip. An honest error occurred due to the changing of dates by guest but phone calls were made by our staff to verify the reservation. It was my understanding at the end of the conversation that it was accepted as such. All incorrect refunds were recharged and the incorrect charges were refunded, there was no waiting. Considering the initial lack of understanding and the nature of the additional complaints that were not brought to my attention during the phone conversation there was no reason for adjustments. Smoking is not permitted by anyone in the hotel, especially staff. For future guests looking to stay with us for the first time I believe the nearly 700 guests that have given us great reviews is a more accurate depiction of what you will experience when staying with us.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President / COO
Surf Side Hotel
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seregno, Italy
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Surf Side hotel is a quite hold hotel in Nags Head. It is located directly on the beach. Amazing view on the ocean and, if your room is on the South side of the hotel, on Jeannette's Pier. Rooms are big and comfortable, even if old, the bathroom is small and old fashioned. Free wifi available in all the rooms. You have refrigerator, hair dryer, microwave and cable TV available in the room. Breakfast included is something special for Nags Head accomodations. Pool is available for guests, a small gym, and free water and coffee. Every afternoon there is the possibility for wine tasting. We had great time in Outer Banks and at the Surf Side hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing to sty with us and for taking the time to review the Surf Side. We sincerely appreciate your business and the time to let others know about your stay.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President/COO
Surf Side Hotel
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Second stay for us. Nice location - beachfront. Our room had a balcony but not sure if all do. Staff was friendly. Complimentary breakfast had a decent selection. We only stayed overnight but satisfied with this hotel. It is on the pricey side in season but the plus is that you are right on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We greatly appreciate your choosing to stay with us again at the Surf Side. We work to make the first stay with us the first of many to come so it is rewarding to know you came back for another stay. We will continue to improve upon the experience we deliver to make each stay more enjoyable than the last.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President/COO
Surf Side Hotel
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

My wife and I returned to the Surf Side after four years. We were a little curious to see if anything had changed. To our great pleasure, this is still the best property on the OBX. If I were being picky, I could complain about the small, over-crowded breakfast area (food was great!). And best of all, the location is amazing! For relaxation and a wonderful view, it's hard to top this one!

Room Tip: Oceanfront is the ONLY way to go! The view is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for coming back to stay with us after a few years. Very happy to read that we continued to meet your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President/COO
Surf Side Hotel
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Our family of 4 spent a week here and it was perfect. We have a teen boy and a teen girl, so accommodations in hotels are becoming increasingly challenging. The loft was a perfect solution along with a pull out couch.
The fridge and microwave in the room was very convenient. And we thoroughly enjoyed the balcony overlooking the ocean in the early morning or evening.
The only thing that I would like to suggest is a place for some tables - perhaps the large front balcony on the main building or the grassy area by the pool. We ordered pizza one night and there was no place to sit and enjoy it.
This hotel must take a constant beating from the weather but yet it is maintained very well.
The laundry area is handy too and reasonably priced if you need to do some laundry. And yes, the wifi was very good.
If you're not interested in renting a house, this hotel is spot on for families!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We are happy to know that we met the needs of your family while visiting the Outer Banks. You have given a very informative review that I am sure will be helpful for other families looking to stay with us. I appreciate your recommendation on the tables and we will look hard at getting some tables in the right spots. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let others know about your experience.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President/COO
Surf Side Hotel
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Address: 6701 South Virginia Dare, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Side Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.