We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Rated Nags Head Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Side Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Side Hotel
Save
You added Surf Side Hotel to your Saves list
6701 South Virginia Dare, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Top Rated Nags Head Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel on a trip to the Outer Banks. It is interesting to me, that the Outer Banks has so many vacation rentals that there are less hotels than in other places we have been. What I will say is that we spent a lot of time walking around, and I know why this hotel is rated so high compared to other non-vacation rentals, those hotels are older and do not appear to be in the condition that this hotel was in.
I will say that this hotel was clean, had a high sanitation rating 98% or 99% and was certainly family friendly. If you were going to the Outer Banks, value wise - location - and hospitality wise, this would be the place to go.

Room Tip: I would chose a higher floor - and not spend the extra money for Ocean Front, as all Ocean View Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
I am grateful to you for the recommendation of our hotel. We have built our business on guests spreading the good word about the quality of product we deliver during a stay with us. We strive to offer a unique combination of friendliness, cleanliness, and charm at the Surf Side that isn't easily found in a hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is sincerely appreciated. Looking forward to your next visit.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President/COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    216
    43
    6
    8
See reviews for
257
401
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ebensburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We booked our trip to the Nags Head area less than two weeks before arriving. With young children and a tall husband, our room requirements included a King size bed and a second bed that was at least a double. We prefer a 4 star rated hotel but there were none in the area so we settled for 3 stars with reduced expectations. I booked at Surf Side simply due to availability. I anticipated a mediocre establishment and was very surprised! The room furnishing and decor was up to date, bathroom modern with new sink fixtures and granite countertop, wifi reliable, and all of our needs were immediately addressed. The breakfast buffet was wonderful with a nice mix of hot foods, fresh fruit, and sweets. Even my food allergy laden daughter was able to eat a healthy breakfast with the almond milk, oatmeal, and fruit. The staff were all very friendly and the motherly lady stocking the breakfast area was just wonderful with our children - she made their oatmeal for them, served them food, and even let us come in on the first morning at closing time. All of the grounds and facilities were clean and well maintained. The shower and restroom area linked to the pool was a really nice layout that many chain hotels do not offer. The only inconvenience was repair work to the roof with scaffolding off of our balcony during our stay but with a hurricane less than two weeks prior, we were just happy that our reservation wasn't cancelled. An "inconvenience discount" would have been nice though. The beach was clean and healthy with more creatures than I like to know about but the children were thrilled to catch sand fleas, clams, ghost crabs, other creepy crawlers in abundance! We did use the indoor pool and hot tub - both were clean, not overly chlorinated, and in great condition. Windows and doors that opened provided both natural light and fresh air. The pool was a little cool and the hot tub a little too hot. Pool towels are not provided. I do wish there was an elevator in the smaller building as the luggage was hard to take up the stairs and I was nervous of the children slipping with wet shoes. The wine and snack event daily was a nice opportunity to meet other guests (but the area is a bit small for it). I had no concerns with insects/bugs anywhere in the hotel - which we have been told is a real issue with the climate in this region. Location and views were wonderful. Within walking distance to the pier. The hotel website really understates the accommodations and amenities - this is not just a recently renovated old hotel but a charming, safe, clean, and friendly establishment that I would not hesitate to visit again! We also found better restaurants in this area than the previous 5 days in Virginia Beach and our 3 previous trips further south in the outer banks.

Room Tip: In the smaller building the top floor had wonderful views. Book in the main building if stairs are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Surf Side and thank you for sharing your experience. We work hard to make our guests feel appreciated and relaxed when staying with us. When you come to the beach your visit should be an enjoyable and memorable time and it starts with your choice of hotel. We have been in the hospitality business since 1978 and our years of experience in beach resorts have taught us what our guests want and expect. The basics are the same, a clean room at a good price with a friendly staff. It is the extra steps we take that set us apart. Thanks again for your kind words, it is sincerely appreciated.
Alex Moore
President/COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We recently had a very enjoyable stay at the Surf Side Hotel in Nags Head, NC. The hotel is clean and well-kept. The room we stayed in was more than spacious enough for two guests, and had a great view of the beach and the ocean, despite being on the side of the building (Oceanview). The complimentary breakfast was great and had plenty of selection, including (but not limited to) a few kinds of cereal, waffles, fresh fruit, juice, and fresh coffee. The pool was very clean and easily accessible.

Another thing this hotel does well that many other places we've stayed seem to lack on was the hotel-wide wi-fi availability. No matter where we were on the grounds, we were always able to get a decent signal, which is extremely fortunate for travelers like us who even while on vacation may need to be able to check in at the office every once in a while.

During our stay I interacted with quite a few members of the staff, particularly the front-desk/reception staff, and I must say that these people are stark professionals. They are always courteous, friendly, and eager to help. The hotel's management has done a superb job in hiring individuals of the highest professional caliber, and they are all to be commended for excellence - we had a great vacation overall in Nags Head and the surrounding area, and yet our interactions with these folks still make the highlight reel!

There's nothing negative I can really say about the Surf Side Hotel. We had one issue during our stay, and due to the high quality of customer service and genuine care for their customers shown by the staff at ALL levels, the issue was fully resolved in a way that truly went above and beyond the call of duty. Surf Side Hotel is the pinnacle of an organization that truly cares about the people who come to stay with them, and they sincerely want to form a lasting relationship with each customer that comes through their doors.

Great job, Surf Side, we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We are a family owned and operated hotel which I believe is what sets apart from the normal hotel stay. We take a great deal of pride in the product we deliver to our guests as we want the first stay with us to be the first of many to come. We recognize we can not be successful by only having you stay with us once and go away unhappy looking for another option the next time you visit the beach. All of our staff lives by our credo 'Friendliness and Cleanliness', it is the backbone of any successful hotel. Thank you for business, your kind words, and for talking the time to review our hotel, it is sincerely appreciated.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President/COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This was the first time we had ever been to the outer banks. We wanted something on the beach and reasonable . The hotel was great. The room was clean and very nice with enough room to move around. The staff was friendly and helpful. 2 pools one inside and one out that we enjoyed. Just sorry we had such a short stay. If I ever came back I would definitely stay here again. We didn't eat the free breakfast so I cant really comment on that part.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
It is our goal to make the first stay with us the first of many to come. We understand how important the first impression is to a guest so from the minute your walk through our doors we want to deliver a special and unique experience to you. I am happy to read that we have succeeded in delivering a wonderful hotel stay for you. I sincerely appreciate you choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to let others know about your experience at the Surf Side.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President/COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This gem of a hotel prides itself on "friendliness and cleanliness." My wife and I can attest to both as being true. The views of the ocean, proximity to good restaurants and Jeanette's Pier are ideal. You will find the entire staff friendly and location ideal for short drives to Kill Devil Hills, Kitty Hawk, and Duck. We also are pleased with the hotel's policy of no pets and no smoking.
So, wait no more, plan now and make this your summer siesta!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Our credo is 'Friendliness and Cleanliness' and we take these two values of the hotel business very seriously as we know this is what any successful hotel is built upon. I am happy to know
we exceeded your expectations and that you had a wonderful stay with us, enough so that you have taken the time to review the hotel as well. Thank you for your review and for choosing stay at the Surf Side.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President/COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This was our family's first time at Surf Side Hotel. We booked it after reading it was voted as #1 hotel in Nags Head. We were very impressed. It was clean, spacious and the staff was great. The only complaint we have is with the sky light in the loft. During the day it gets warm with the sunlight. It needs a shade to be installed. Other than that we enjoyed our stay there. We would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting the Outer Banks and for taking the time to share your experience while staying at the Surf Side. I also believe we can work on and improve the sunlight so we will look into it for future stays. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you had a pleasant time in our area and that you will return again.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordonsville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Hotel was very clean and quiet. My husband and I needed some down time and this was an excellent location to do that. Direct access to beach and it was not crowded. Staff was friendly, courteous and always helpful. This was my second stay here and I would definitely come again.

Room Tip: "Oceanview" rooms are on side of hotel but do have good view from balcony, Pool side is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. We are grateful to you for your business and we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review us. Your experience is what we strive to deliver for all of our guests as we work hard to offer a hotel stay that is unique in its friendliness of staff and the charm of the property. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President/COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Address: 6701 South Virginia Dare, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Side Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.