We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Side Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Side Hotel
Save Saved
You added Surf Side Hotel to your Saves list
6701 South Virginia Dare, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“great location, nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Nothing is cheap in the summer on the OBX. We rented one of their corner suites for 5 days and it was pricey, but having the doors open at nite for the ocean sounds, and the constant breezes made up for it. It was a vacation. Breakfast was an nicely upgraded continental breakfast and a great gal who kept the fruit coming, the coffee brewing and stocks full. Not having to venture out was a big plus. Front desk and other staff, friendly and helpful.
It needs a little refurbishing, but everything does in this area with the huge number of sandy tourists.

Room Tip: corner suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
While we also believe we have an excellent location, when it is coupled with the great service from our front desk staff and the clean accommodations provided by our housekeeping staff we know we offer the best choice in a hotel at the beach. Thank you for the kind words and for helping others make the decision to stay with us at the Surf Side. Your business and time in placing the review is sincerely appreciated.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    198
    42
    6
    8
See reviews for
243
366
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Shop around before booking here. We could have had a rental house for the price. Nice staff. Pool towels have to be returned to the front desk after using them and it was uncomfortable when customers were inside the office. Other than that it was okay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for letting others know about the quality we deliver to our guests. We agree that new customers should shop around as we are well aware of what other hotels offer to their guests. We have a superior location, the best views, superior staff, far more extensive breakfast, wine and cheese social, two pools, sunset deck, and the cleanest rooms. Rentals do not include daily housekeeping service, the amenities we offer, and they won't be oceanfront for our price per night. Wishing you the best of luck finding that rental the next time you are on the Outer Banks.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Surf Side Hotel / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Chose this hotel entirely off of TripAdvisor recommendations...and they didn't fail me! We'd never been to the area. Surf Side is in a GREAT location. Nags Head is more relaxed and less commercialized than the other towns. The hotel is great. We had the room with the loft, which was perfect for the two teenage girls to use for a little privacy. Room clean, big, with microwave/fridge/coffeemaker, nice balcony. Nice view of the ocean and we could leave the door open at night (screen closed) to let the sounds of the ocean put us to sleep. Hotel rates were VERY reasonable. Nice to have a free breakfast AND snacks/wine in the afternoon. Outdoor pool was nice with plenty of chairs and the beach is amazing. Close enough to walk to Jeanettes Pier. Great restaurants within walking distance. We would visit again AND stay at the same place!

Room Tip: We had 5 people, so we did the room with the loft. I would definitely recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us. It is wonderful to read how much you enjoyed the hotel and the Outer Banks. We hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future.
Cheers
Alex Moore
President
Surf Side Hotel / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is an extremely clean and friendly hotel with a great location on the beach. The little "extras" like the 4 pm daily snacks, the infused ice cold lemon water, and the abundant fresh fruit at breakfast were awesome. Our room was spacious (enough for 2 teens and 2 adults) and even though we faced the parking lot side of the building, we had a nice view of the ocean and could fall asleep to the sound of the waves each night. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Surf Side and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. We sincerely appreciate your business and your kind words. We will look forward to seeing you again.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Surf Side Hotel / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Really enjoyed Surf Side Hotel. Met up with another family and had a great experience. My friend and her family selected the hotel. I was leary since I had not seen the hotel. However, the reservations I had about staying there left before I saw the hotel because of the customer service I received on the phone on the way to the hotel. I had questions and the staff was so plesant and nice, it set the tone for my entire stay. I would stay at this hotel over and over again. Excellent staff, clean rooms, great breakfast and awesome location. I have no complaints at all. It's not new or fancy but it is everything you need to have a great vacation at at the beach. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
The success we have at the Surf Side has been built upon our wonderful staff so I am grateful you recognized them and their importance to the experience we deliver. Our staff understands our guests want a different experience when staying with us so they work hard to make every stay relaxing and enjoyable. Our goal is to make the first stay with us the first of many to come. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review the hotel.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Surf Side Hotel / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The pros:The view from our ocean front room was very good. The rooms were nice with good roominess(also see cons). The noise level was very low, what I mean by this is the room walls seemed to be thicker than some of the newer big name chains, allowing less noise to be heard in your room.Beach access was great and I believe they provided beach chairs and umbrellas on the beach.The cons:This hotel is in desperate need of upgrades throughout!! The exterior is rundown and blah. The elevator is very old,noisy,slow and is the only one in the whole building so you can only imagine the backup when arrival or departure. The shower could have been a little more friendlier. The room, which I noted earlier was roomy, until I opened the sofa bed, which would not open fully because it hit the jacuzzi, so the foot of the bed was at a slight incline and you could not walk around without folding the bed up. The bed was very uncomfortable(like sleeping on a board) As a side note, the hotel gave me a 15% discount for the issue with the sofa bed, which was nice. Overall, the hotel is fair at best but is overly priced for being so outdated. I would expect a more modern product for the large price($695 for 2 nights) I will probably stay elsewhere next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valley forge pa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Well what can I say...we had another awesome stay at Surf Side. Had a great time. ..View from our 4th floor room was spectacular. Room was very clean. For a room with 2 beds in it , it was spacious. Once again the staff was very courteous and a friendly bunch to talk with. We loved the idea they give free ice to fill coolers with. That's was a nice perk. So if ur looking for a great place to stay at the OBX the Surf Side its definitely a great place to stay. We've been staying there for 8 years now and every time was well worth it. Looking forward to staying there again next year. Keep up the good work

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Address: 6701 South Virginia Dare, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Side Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.