We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Product doesn't equal the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Side Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Surf Side Hotel to your Saves list
Surf Side Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6701 South Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Product doesn't equal the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The pros:The view from our ocean front room was very good. The rooms were nice with good roominess(also see cons). The noise level was very low, what I mean by this is the room walls seemed to be thicker than some of the newer big name chains, allowing less noise to be heard in your room.Beach access was great and I believe they provided beach chairs and umbrellas on the beach.The cons:This hotel is in desperate need of upgrades throughout!! The exterior is rundown and blah. The elevator is very old,noisy,slow and is the only one in the whole building so you can only imagine the backup when arrival or departure. The shower could have been a little more friendlier. The room, which I noted earlier was roomy, until I opened the sofa bed, which would not open fully because it hit the jacuzzi, so the foot of the bed was at a slight incline and you could not walk around without folding the bed up. The bed was very uncomfortable(like sleeping on a board) As a side note, the hotel gave me a 15% discount for the issue with the sofa bed, which was nice. Overall, the hotel is fair at best but is overly priced for being so outdated. I would expect a more modern product for the large price($695 for 2 nights) I will probably stay elsewhere next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    217
    44
    6
    8
See reviews for
260
406
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
valley forge pa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Well what can I say...we had another awesome stay at Surf Side. Had a great time. ..View from our 4th floor room was spectacular. Room was very clean. For a room with 2 beds in it , it was spacious. Once again the staff was very courteous and a friendly bunch to talk with. We loved the idea they give free ice to fill coolers with. That's was a nice perk. So if ur looking for a great place to stay at the OBX the Surf Side its definitely a great place to stay. We've been staying there for 8 years now and every time was well worth it. Looking forward to staying there again next year. Keep up the good work

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Very nice hotel with all the amenities. Great service. The view is awesome. Both indoor and outdoor pools are very nice. The room was nice size and kept very clean. All the hotels in Nags Head seem to be old and in need of a little TLC. All in all the stay at the Surf Side was a good experience and the continental breakfast is and extra additive. Allow for more time for fun.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We have been staying at the Surfside for 19 years now! It's a great hotel-clean, updated, and has a very friendly staff/ good service. We've never looked to stay at any other hotel. The breakfast each morning is very nice. It's in a great location with a great beach and all the amenities we need for our week away. We typically stay on the 4th floor and have great ocean/beach views.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusby, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We've been staying at the Surfside for over 15 years and keep going back. The owners continue to remodel and update where needed. The latest remodel lends a "Tommy Bahama" vibe to the rooms and lobby. We prefer the tower building (either 3rd or 4th floor for the best views). The south building does not have an elevator.
They provide a breakfast every morning that we find to be more than adequate. There is enough variety to cover most tastes.
This property is right on the beach, the staff is friendly and going there is the next best thing to being at home in Nags Head!

Room Tip: Tower building, 3rd or 4th floor for the best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great location . Oceanfront and great beach . Kids loved the pool .3rd floor view was amazing .Nice touch with free breakfast . Very clean and great people .You only have so many hotel options at nags head and this is the best one . We will be back .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our oceanfront room on the 2nd floor was very clean, very comfy, and had all the amenities we desired. The cleaning staff did a great job each day. The only downside to the room (owing to our own personal preference) is that the beds were not aligned on the same side of the room as the open portion of the window/sliding glass door...so that you could wake to the view of the ocean. With the beds on the opposite wall, you can see the ocean from the bed...but only a sliver. Again, a personal preference. But, listening to the ocean waves through the open door each night made up for it a great deal! :) We chose to not partake of the in-hotel breakfast...the dining room area is very cramped/stuffy at breakfast "rush hour", and the pickings were rather meager in comparison with other hotels (no eggs, no bacon, cold sausage patties you had to microwave yourself, etc). You can tell the hotel itself has some age on it, but they have kept it in great shape, and keep it all very clean. We didn't use the indoor and outdoor pools they have, but both seemed very clean and well maintained, and drew a good crowd each day. All in all, a very pleasant stay...we'd certainly consider the Surf Side in the future!

Room Tip: All oceanfront rooms seem to be good...with an actual full ocean view even from the first floor! No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Address: 6701 South Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Side Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Surf Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Side Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.