We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel on the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Side Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Surf Side Hotel to your Saves list
Surf Side Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6701 South Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Quinton, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have stayed at Surf Side hotel numerous times and it never disappoints. We spent Friday and Saturday night and it couldn't have been better. When we made our reservation there was only one oceanfront room left and it was on the 1st floor with a limited ocean view, so we weren't sure how much of the ocean we were going to be able to see. Well we were pleasantly surprised that we had a great view. Room 521 was an efficiency with plenty of room. We could of stayed a week there and been comfortable. Great beach access and and great pool. The staff is wonderful. The lady the handles the breakfast in the morning is so sweet and helpful. From the waffles and sausage gravy to the fruit and bagels, it was delicious. They even have wine and snacks in the afternoon. We will be back, great location, wonderful room, pleasant staff - what's not to love!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    218
    45
    6
    8
See reviews for
260
409
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding and the hotel was perfect for our stay. The hotel was very clean for an older hotel and the bathroom was newly renovated and very nice. The pool was an added bonus! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our only complaint was the bed was a bit hard for my husbands back. I would recommend this hotel and would welcome a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathmore, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

You can tell it is a family run business by the amount of care and attention you get ! The continental breakfast is wonderful and you are always greeted with a 'good morning' ! The housekeeping staff are amazing ! Great place to stay ! We were there for a week :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahalu u, Hawaii
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Welcoming, friendly reception staff. Older building, but kept very well. Super clean. We had a double queen bed room and it was a decent size. Our room had a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Free wine and nibbles in the afternoon, served in the reception area. Continental breakfast was decent, although I prefer real cutlery rather than plastic. Parking is extremely easy. Very convenient location for Jennette's Pier, Owen's Restaurant and other places we wanted to visit. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrardstown
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Based on Trip Advisor reviews, we stayed four nights here. We got an oceanfront room on the corner by the pool. I was worried it would be noisy but it never was. The view was amazing. The rooms were spacious, exceptionally clean and well appointed. The bathroom, although very small had granite countertop, very nice toiletries and was very clean. The bed and sofabed were comfortable. They offered a continental breakfast which also included, waffles, sausage, and chipped beef gravy along with the cold offerings. It was very good. They also offered wine and snacks in the afternoon. The pools (indoor and outdoor) were beautiful and well maintained. Also, it is within walking distance of Scammell's Ice Cream Shop, The South Beach Grille, and Waveriders which are all very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed here three nights the place is older but it has been renovated to be very clean feling. Nice accommodations with a decent size room. 2nd floor King non-smoking included refrigerator microwave a couch and a nice view of the pool an ocean. Continental breakfast was a very good one with cereals, waffle makers all kinds of breads, fresh fruit, milk coffee juices. Not bad to be complementary. Pulling a decent size very clean lots of comfortable chairs with cushions and easy access to the ocean with a very wide beach with beach chairs and umbrella rentals available also. If You're looking for the ritz-carlton, this isn't it but if you're looking for a clean, affordable room right on the beach this is a nice find.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The room had an excellent View. It was right on the ocean we were able to listen to the ocean while we drifted off to sleep! The rooms were bigger than we expected. The staff was very nice and helpful. They made sure to invite us to the complimentart snack and wine hour and the complimentary breakfast in the morning. Overall our experience was excellent. And would defenitly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Address: 6701 South Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Side Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Surf Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Side Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.