We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll Be Back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Side Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Surf Side Hotel to your Saves list
Surf Side Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6701 South Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We'll Be Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We just returned from a 4-night stay at the Surf Side. We usually rent a house, but in the off season we've stayed in various hotels. Surf Side is the 4th hotel we've tried, and we'll be back. Surf Side is not as nice as the Hilton Garden Inn, but is much less expensive. Parts of the hotel have been renovated/updated but other parts still appear outdated or under renovation. The positives, however, are many: great oceanfront location, comfortable beds (pillows not so much), large room (we had a corner room with two balconies), helpful staff, clean, free breakfast (not hot, but enough variety to fill us every day), The location is great for southern Nags Head activities and restaurants: close to Sam and Omies, Owens, go carts, mini golf, outlets, Jennette's pier, etc. The view from our oceanfront room was spectacular. Helpful tip: There are two buildings. Breakfast is served in the main building, which also has the lobby. The indoor pool and hot tub are in the south building.

Room Tip: The first floor oceanfront in the main building offers a great view (see my photos). The corner roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    250
    47
    6
    9
See reviews for
311
454
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We were on a roadtrip from Fla to meet friends in Williamsburg, Va and decided to spend a couple of days on the Outer Banks as we had never been. It was great experience and the Surf Side Hotel was a great place to stay. We were there mid-week during the off season so some businesses had not yet reopened but the staff was very helpful in directing us around the area.
I would definitely stay here again on any return trip to the Outer Banks and would recommend them without reservation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Employees very friendly & helpful. Accommodations great. Would come again. We have been coming to the Outer Banks over the years. There is something new every time we come. We also enjoy the old standbys. Surf Side helped our stay to be more enjoyable (even on those rainy days). Thank you!:)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

After a couple of stays here.. All I can say is fantastic! Very friendly staff, big rooms, clean! And right on the ocean! I've stayed in many hotels along the outer banks over the years.. Surf Side is by far the best!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Just got back from a mid-week off-season stay at the Surf Side Hotel for a first time visit to the Outer Banks. Had a great rate on a corner room, wow. Terrific view of the ocean. Nags Head seemed a good jumping-off point to see the sights, from Wright Bros, Jockey Ridge, all the way south to Cape Hatteras and Ocracoke Ferry, and up to Duck and Corolla. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and had 3 balconies because we had a corner room. Staff very accommodating and made some good suggestions for local restaurants. Continental breakfast had everything, juice, breakfast breads, yogurt, and fruit. Can't complain about any of it! Coolish weather kept us out of the pools, but the indoor hot tub and pool seemed nice and warm, and other guests were enjoying them. Have to say the hotel is very quiet, and the wine and snacks in late afternoon were a very nice amenity. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lawrence, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I have been traveling to the Outer Banks for 40 years ! If my memory serves me correctly I started staying at Surf Side 35 years ago ! At this point in time, being 65 years old, I do not even think of any other place to stay ! Surf Side is my first and only choice . The only way I would stay anywhere else is if I rented an expensive house or made late plans and could not get a room at Surf Side. Yes , my visits are year round . I do a lot of fishing from Oregon Inlet . The owners of Surf Side have continued to remodel and keep an extremely clean facility through out the years. Looking forward to Many Happy Return ! Surf Side IS The Outer Banks Vacation .

Room Tip: Best to stay in the original building. Any room is nice , except the loft rooms, the upper bed has i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We opted to stay at Surf Side for a weekend visit and even our young children high-fived me on picking this place! We stayed in a queen oceanfront, and the room was larger than expected. Everything was clean and well-kept and the view was spectacular. I especially loved the rocking chairs on the balcony! The continental breakfast and snacks/wine in the afternoon were bonuses. Because the weather was cold/windy, we took advantage of the indoor pool and hot tub. And the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Everything about our visit was very pleasant and enjoyable. We had planned to hit both the northern and southern shores during our visit, and Surf Side was right in the middle. Add to that the abundance of restaurants and shops nearby, the location was perfect for us. If I could change one thing, it would be the access to the beach... sand covered the only steps leading down to the beach, so it was a bit treacherous to get down there and back, but we made it! Highly recommend this location to anyone looking for a great place to stay while in Nags Head.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
1.9 mi away
Nags Head Inn
Nags Head Inn
#4 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#2 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,688 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#7 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Address: 6701 South Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Side Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Surf Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Side Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.