We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Side Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Surf Side Hotel to your Saves list
Surf Side Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6701 South Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
King, North Carolina
1 review
“Great weekend get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is the third year we have stayed at the Surf Side but certainly won't be the last. The rooms have always been clean and comfortable and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We really enjoy our stay at the Surf Side!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    234
    47
    6
    9
See reviews for
286
439
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Big hotel chains had better watch out! This hotel challenges them in every way, and surpasses them in most categories. We were greeted with a polite and efficient person at the desk for check-in, who gave us some good local info, and then offered free refreshments that are available in the lobby each afternoon. We were directed to our room and holy moly! We had 2 spotlessly clean balconies in our corner room, each with nice clean rocking chairs and each with a view of the ocean and beach that is unsurpassed anywhere, anytime. The room is clean, so very clean and although the hotel may have a few years on it, it has been thoughtfully and carefully maintained and upgraded.The doors have keyless entries, opened a modern electronic cardkey. The bathrooms are spotless, the carpeting in the room is like new, and the bed is clean with fresh linens and upscaled clean and laundered designer look coverlets like the big hotels. Even the closet is spotless with sturdy wooden hangers and freshly cased extra pillows. No dingy bedspreads that others have used before you. It also had a nice flat screen TV, a nice clean sofa, a small refrig, a microwave, coffeemaker with all supplies and a hairdryer and even granite countertops in the bathroom. There were several wrapped mints left by the housekeeping staff each day, and a basket of toiletries, lotions and soaps in the bathroom, So, do you get the point? They offere a free complimentary continental breakfast in the mornings, and will even give you free ice for your cooler before you leave. It was so nice, we opted to stay at the hotel one night instead of going out and just sat on the balcony and watched and listened to the waves. The only fear I have is that by giving all this info out it may become harder to get reservations. This hotel is one of the best. Well done, Surf Side, well done!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are nice with 2 balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poquoson
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Surf Side Hotel always meets expectations. Great place to stay and enjoy the views. Beds are comfortable, rooms are clean and staff are very friendly. Oceanfront suit is quite large with incredible views.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

First time staying at Surf Side and there was nothing that was any less than outstanding about our visit. We were upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite with Jacuzzi and complementary Champagne, two balconies, one overlooking the ocean and the other with a view of the sound, and the most comfortable bed imaginable. Daily perks of wine and snacks, cider and cookies drew us to the lobby a few times, which was a plus, because both of the desk managers were super personable and helpful. The breakfast area was immaculately clean, as was the rest of the hotel. Spend time here and I promise you'll be treated like family by the entire staff.

Room Tip: Pay the few extra bucks for an oceanfront room with balcony. The sunrises are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatteras, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

First-class establishment, Stayed here first time in the 80s, Always clean, comfortable and convenient. Oceanfront suites with in-room hot-tub are the best offering, but all rooms offer great views and pool and hot-tub indoors for all guests. Complimentary breakfast adds to the pleasure and value of your stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I had to travel to NC to attend a funeral. The rooms are very clean and updated. It is not the Ritz Carlton, but you feel like you are in luxury with the spectacular oceanview from the balcony and the super comfy beds. We couldn't really enjoy the beach because it was freezing, but at least we had a spectacular view. The continental breakfast was the standard spread: hot and cold cereal, pastries, boiled egg, bagels, waffles, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, apple and orange juice. The staff was very friendly. The room also had great amenities: microwave, refrigerator, and free wifi. I will definitely stay here again and at least the circumstances will be better but staying here definitely made me feel confortable while mourning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolesville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were impressed with the warm greeting and hot cider with cookies upon arrival. The ocean front room was large, with great view from the balcony. It had a fridge, microwave, coffee pot and new TV. It was nicely furnished, comfortable bed and very clean. Bathroom had shelves with ample towels and wonderful bathroom toiletries. Nice continental breakfast. This is a charming, older hotel that we look forward to staying in again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
1.9 mi away
Nags Head Inn
Nags Head Inn
#4 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#9 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,614 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Address: 6701 South Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#1 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Side Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Surf Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Side Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.