We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Side Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Surf Side Hotel to your Saves list
Surf Side Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6701 South Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mathews, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for the Outer Banks Marathon weekend and we could not have been more pleased. We booked an oceanview queen loft which faced the parking lot. The price for the space could not be beat. Although our room was not oceanfront, we could still see plenty of the beach (and even the sound) from our balcony. (Room 407) Every evening there is complimentary wine and snacks in the lobby, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The beachfront location is just wonderful, and we were within walking distance of a convenience store (Cahoons) and Owens Restaurant. Having the loft in the room made all the difference, and as I say there were three queen beds, so there was plenty of space. We have nothing but good things to say about this place and would return in a minute. Thank you to the friendly front desk staff!

Room Tip: Room 407 overlooks the parking lot but you can still see the ocean as well as the sound from the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    218
    45
    6
    8
See reviews for
260
409
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We only spent one night and had no reservations, but being that it was off-season we were surprised that they were almost full. They did find us a room on the top floor with three Queen beds, but discounted the price and were very friendly.

The room was clean, the view in the morning was nice and they recommended a great restaurant for dinner.

Would probably stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

My Wife & I were debating whether to stay here or the Sea Ranch on our 1st OBX Vacation.... so we did both. 2 days here, then 2 at Sea Ranch.

We had rm 214, which is actually the 3rd floor so you get a great view of the Ocean. Room was good sized, Beds were comfy and clean.

I wouldn't advise getting a room near the Elevator because it's a bit noisy with the doors opening/closing & the dinging.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is the first time my husband and I have stayed in a hotel at Nags Head. Usually we stay in a private home but since the house we normally stay in was not available and this was the only time we could go we chose the The Surf Side Hotel. We were very pleased with the hotel. We stayed in a one bedroom corner suite right on the ocean front and while it was very nice we found ourselves wishing we had gotten a room with a full kitchen. We only had a microwave and a small refrigerator. The bedroom was very nice and comfortable and the three private balconies we had all overlooked the ocean. We would definitely recommend the Surf Side as it is convenient to everything and within walking distance of restaurants and Jennettes Pier. We didn't have a chance to use the pool but it was nice and in a good location. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our corner suite had the best views. No A/C noise at all in our suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Buffalo, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I were staying in Nags Head for a wedding - we chose the Surf Side because of its location. We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel - the rooms were great, friendly staff, good view and easy access to the beach. When we return to the area we will stay at the Surf Side

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln NE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were totally pleased with our stay at the Surf Side. We live in Nebraska and rarely get to the ocean, so when we do, we want to be by the ocean. Take two short flights down the wooden stairs off the hotel deck and there you are at the water. We had an oceanfront room with a kitchen which was perfect because we do tend to eat in. Our building did not have an elevator, so next time we may consider staying in the main building that does have an elevator. The staff was gracious, housekeeping great and timely, breakfast very good. Stay here!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Gap, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is all around amazing! The rooms are clean, the property sits right on the beach and the views are spectacular! The hotel is very family friendly, there is something for everyone! This hotel has an indoor and outdoor pool unlike many hotels/motels in the area. This is great for when the weather isn't cooperating- you can just head to the indoor pool! Surf Side overall is very well maintained and has great curb appeal! The outside of the hotel looks very high end and 'expensive' but the rates are pretty affordable! All the employees are very personable and the phrase 'southern hospitality' definitely proves itself true here! The housekeepers are very respectful and do a great job cleaning the rooms- we even left our housekeeper a $10.00 tip at the end of the week which we do not do very often for housekeepers at other hotels. The rooms themselves are very modern and livable. There are flat screens in every room and the rooms are decorated very well. The hotel also offers a HUGE continental breakfast-every breakfast item you can think of! If you are looking for the perfect hotel in the Nags Head area and you haven't discovered the Surf Side yet, you need not look further! It's central location makes it easy to get around to all the desirable attractions that the OBX has to offer. Close to dining and shopping- the Tanger Outlets are right across the by-pass! This hotel is everything we were looking for in a hotel and more!

Room Tip: There are only two ocean front Efficiencies (these rooms have full kitchens) which are in the South...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Address: 6701 South Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Side Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Surf Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Side Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.