We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surf Side Hotel Nags Head, NC! Awesome place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Side Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Surf Side Hotel
Save Saved
You added Surf Side Hotel to your Saves list
6701 South Virginia Dare, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Perrysburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Surf Side Hotel Nags Head, NC! Awesome place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here two nights., family of 5, 10 month old, 4 yr old, 8 yr old and parents. Opted for the 2nd floor corner suite, it was a little more money but totally worth it. For starters, we've never been to this are of the Outer Banks and were unsure what we were in for, this is a very nice boutique style small hotel and their service, cleanliness and care was exceptional! It was around 55-60 degree weather so not exactly great for outdoors type of a vacation, but it was a great location, you cannot ask to be any closer to the beach, the outdoor pool was open, it was extremely clean, we did not touch it. The furniture by the pool is all adironack style no plastic stuff, very nice and freshly painted. In the lobby, coffee and tea around the clock. The continental breakfast was equivalent to that of a Comfort Suites, perfect for a quick bite to eat and sufficient, staff was very friendly handling the breakfast. The walk to the beach was basically just steps out of the door over the dune top deck and bam, you are on the beach. Overall the beach is surrounded by smaller houses and maybe a couple of smaller type inns. The area overall, was family style, nothing trashy, nothing upscale, just nice. Without a baby in tow the walk to the pier would have been easily doable, maybe less than a 1/4 mile away. Our kids played on the beach for hours two days and other than a handful of other guests there was very little beach traffic.

The place smelled immaculate, which is a big deal for smaller hotel types on oceanfront property. Normally places like this smell musty and funky from the sea, they go to some crazy lengths to keep this place as fresh as it was. It was freshly painted walls everywhere, the place was clean, extremely clean.

Our room was really, really nice. We are not big hotel people at all, we always opt for a larger room if we have to travel by means of a hotel and staying here really was fabulous. Our room itself had an entrance room with queen sleeper sofa, wall mounted flat screen tv, fridge,micro and a huge north facing oceanview balcony, this room had a pocket door to close it off, which worked perfectly for us as a family with a baby and kids. This room also contained a small dining table. Through the pocket door was a large closet area on one side, bathroom on the other. Through that area was a large king sized room with nice furniture, a very comfortable bed and a sitting area with a sitting chair and a love seat and coffee table. Again, this room had a north facing balcony, it was huge and an oceanfront facing balcony with 2 chairs and a table. The balcony's were great. The views, amazing. There was enough room for 5 of us to get around, and no one felt confined and it was extremely comfortable. Also, the bedrooom contained it's own TV flat panel, and alarm clock. The Bathroom was smaller, but totally clean, really clean, nice little bottles of higher end items, and the place has really, really, nice towels for any hotel. The cleanliness of this bathroom cannot be played down. We have 3 little kids and I literally cringe when taking them to hotels, after spritzing the place down with lysol (my habit upon arrival anywhere) I was in literal disbelief at how clean this place was. The floor in the bathroom was spotless, mirror, spotless, toilet, spotless, tub, shining. If you travel a lot you know that means a lot.
The towels given to us for the indoor pool were super nice, not your typical cheap blue striped hotel towel, this was like a bath sheet, super super posh and nice. The indoor pool was clean and the water was warm, we all swam and used the pool on evening along with many other familys. The only negative thing I would say is that they need an exhaust fan in the pool area, it was steamy like a hot shower and literally hard to see. If that's negative ok, but really that's the only adverse thing my husband and I had to say. From now on this will be our overnight stay each year before we check into our vacation home. Thanks for a great stay Surf Side inn!

Room Tip: get the Corner Suite it was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    197
    41
    6
    8
See reviews for
243
364
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent place to stay, location was ideal. Close to all major attraction both north and south of the hotel. The place was very well maintained and clean. Beds were very comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I liked being on the top floor because the view of the ocean is great from there. I would also recommend staying in the building with the elevator. The free breakfast was an added bonus. I will stay here again, for sure. Thanks to all at the Surf Side Hotel for making my Easter vacation enjoyable and relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Surf Side Inn is a special place. We love the pool, the welcome reception every afternoon, and the fact that they always remember us as prior guests. Located at the end of the beach we love the most. We always feel recharged when we stay at The Surf Side Inn.

Room Tip: The south side of the hotel has sun in the morning, the north side looks at the sunset in the aftern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro NC
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We came upon this hotel late in the day and they gave us a glass of wine even though technically we were a little late for it. The office staff was very competent and the price was reasonable. We learned that getting a good rating from TripAdvisor is very important to this hotel, and they work hard for a good recommendation.The room was immaculate and good sized, and the breakfast (included) was good and offered wide choices. Facility not brand new but well maintained, felt recently renovated. All rooms have some view of the ocean ... either "ocean front" or "ocean view". Comfy bed. Very convenient as well, being near the Manteo bridge. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for ocean front, since ocean view is nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a great hotel. Clean, large rooms. Friendly, knowledgable staff. Amazing view of the ocean. Indoor pool is separate from main building, but has changing rooms, and is heated. Will definitely return. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had a great 3 nights stay at this oceanfront property in Nags Head. They have amenities that you normally see at top resorts. Complementary wine and snack reception each afternoon, generous complementary breakfast that included meat, balcony w/ chairs overlooking the ocean, ample, high-quality towels, etc. Very friendly. They offer an off-season discount of 15% Sun-Thurs if you ask for the 2013 Getaway Card rate; then stop at the Visitor's Center in Manteo on US 64 and pick up the Card to check-in - still good til May 15th and then picks back up Sept. 15 - Dec. 31. Not good on days that bump up against a holiday. You can also use the Card, which is free, at many area restaurants.

Room Tip: We had an oceanfront room on the 4th floor (top) so no one was walking around above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel was one of the cleanest I've have ever visited. I saw a member of housekeeping cleaning each individual step on the staircase, even though most people use the elevators. The front staff were very accomodating with helpful suggestions. The rooms were adequate size. The indoor pool and hot tub were very warm and inviting. The continental breakfast was impressive and the woman who runs the breakfast did an awesome job and was very friendly. Happy hour wine in the lobby was a nice touch. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Address: 6701 South Virginia Dare, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Side Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;