We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we were very pleased” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Side Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Side Hotel
Save
You added Surf Side Hotel to your Saves list
6701 South Virginia Dare, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
kings mountian, nc
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“we were very pleased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Rooms were clean and ready by 2pm. Everything was in good repair and the staff friendly. Breakfast was better than it needed to be and the attendant there very friendly. Location was perfect for us to attend a wedding in Manteo. We stayed two days and had a fine time. My only hesitation about recommending this place is that it might be harder to get a reservation next time! I don't think you could do better in the area. The only reason it did not get five 'stars' over all is because i reserve those for places like waldorf astoria and the like. This is the 'waldorf astoria' of the outer banks.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side are excellent with a nice view ot the beach and pool. Rooms on the ocean fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    214
    42
    6
    8
See reviews for
255
394
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in the honeymoon suite for 4 days, and we had the best experience imaginable. This is a friendly, family-owned hotel, and it was meticulously cleaned and well-maintained. The jacuzzi bath was large and functioned perfectly, and the bed and linens were very comfortable. The view from the top floor corner room is unbeatable - we sat watching the ocean for hours, as it was a bit too cold to spend too much time outside. Highly recommended for anyone looking for an affordable, upscale place on the OBX.

Room Tip: The top floor has the best views around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived to a fast and friendly check in! The king suite corner room was large with a great location. We appreciated the pocket door between the sleeping areas. The room included a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. We enjoyed the daily breakfast and the nightly wine reception. We had a relaxing and rejuvenating time!

Room Tip: King corner suite with 3 balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything you needed. We sincerely appreciate you choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review the Surf Side. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Surf Side several time and it is always great. The staff is great and very helpful. The included breakfast is great. Rooms are very clean and well appointed. We had a king this time but have also had a room with 2 queens and both are great. Surf Side is in an excellent location in Nags Head. It is great staying here as you go out the door by the pool and walk a few yards and are on the beach along the Atlantic ocean, which you can view from your room too. I am a beachcomber and found many treasures this time. I did not have my bucket and the staff kindly supplied me with 2 plastic bags. I filled one and kept a special find in the other! The pool and spa are great, very well kept as is the entire hotel and grounds. We will be staying here in the future for sure, can't wait!

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor and up have better views of the Atlantic ocean. South side rooms overlook poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
It is a true reward for the team when our wonderful repeat guests such as yourself continue to come back again and again to experience what they work hard to deliver. We are grateful for your many years of staying with us and for letting others know about the great job the team at the Surf Side does for the guests.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our second year staying at the Surfside Hotel the weekend of the Kelly's St. Patrick's Day Parade. The owners/staff are very pleasant and accomodating. Our oceanfront 4th floor room was perfect. The view was breathtaking complete with an awesome sunrise, dolphins, seagulls. The hotel location is nice for a easy walk to Jeanette's Pier to collect shells. We will definitely stay again as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are grateful for your continued business so we will continue to work hard to make every one of your stays with us more relaxing and more enjoyable than the last. Thank you for choosing the Surf Side and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor, it is sincerely appreciated.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I am so glad we switched to the Surfside after finding out the original hotel we booked was undergoing much needed renovations. My husband and I were completely blown out of the water with our stay at the Surfside...from the friendly front desk, to our gorgeous, super-clean room and finally the central location and breathtaking ocean front views, we will recommend this hotel to friends and family as well as make this our one and only choice for accommodations while visiting OBX. We stayed in the Oceanfront Jacuzzi Suite in the smaller, two story building and loved it!!

Room Tip: Go for a jacuzzi room, you won't be sorry!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are so happy to know you found us after staying at another hotel and that you loved the experience we deliver at the Surf Side. We sincerely appreciate your business and for taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel on Tripadvisor. We will look forward to this stay being the first of many to come.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband, 16 year old daughter and I stayed at Surf Side Hotel on March 12. We had a large bedroom with king sized bed, plus a loft overhead with a queen size bed. We were still in the off-season (by just a few days) so a lot of the restaurants we walked to were still closed. We probably should have asked for a corner room so that you get two balconies with windows (to allow more light in the room as it was very dark on the day we were there). The beds were very comfortable and the room very quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I sincerely appreciate your business and for taking th time to review the Surf Side. Wer hope to have you as or guest again soon.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Address: 6701 South Virginia Dare, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Side Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.