We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Outstanding Property on the Outer Banks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Side Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Surf Side Hotel to your Saves list
Surf Side Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6701 South Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Plantation
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Outstanding Property on the Outer Banks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have been travelling to the Outer Banks for many years for fishing and vacation, and the Surfside Hotel has been my favorite destination. The staff is friendly and very accomodating. The rooms are spacious with great views and more importantly, very clean. Thanks to Larry for a great stay and I look forward to visiting the Surfside very soon.

Room Tip: Be sure to request Oceanfront view, it is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
I really love when a reviewer lets me and others know about the great service our team delivers. Larry and the front desk crew work hard at delivering a special experience while staying with us on the Outer Banks so that your first stay with us will be the first of many to come. Thank you for continuing to be a wonderful repeat guest and for your kind words in your review, it is sincerely appreciated.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    234
    47
    6
    9
See reviews for
285
439
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel has the hometown feel. The desk clerk made you feel like one of the family. Their indoor pool was fantastic, especially with the cold windy nights of winter. The breakfast was great. You don't have to have a ocean front room to have a great view. It is reasonably price for all the amenities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you Andrea for the short and sweet and to the point review that really covers what we deliver at the Surf Side. Your business and the review are sincerely appreciated. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, MA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We arrived today (a nice day in Feb.) and found our room amazing. The view of the ocean from our room is spectacular. The desk clerk could not have been more helpful. The off season rate is unbelievable. If we come back to the outer banks we definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at least on the second floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
It is great to read that you enjoyed our hotel so much. We strive to deliver to al of our guests exactly what you described so thank you!
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have been vacationing at the Outer Banks for over 20 years and for the last 3 years at the Surf Side Hotel. The atmosphere and hotel staff are what keeps us coming back. Very up to date and clean rooms. Also to note is the clean hotel grounds. Larry,at the front desk, courteous and professional. Great hotel to stay at!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for making the Surf Side your choice when visiting the Outer Banks. I am grateful for your business and for taking the time to review the Surf Side, it is sincerely appreciated.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Surf Side Hotel is a one of a kind experience! We have stayed here on multiple occasions and plan on coming back with our family for many years to come. The rooms are spacious and clean with a million dollar view! The staff is friendly and welcoming. You will not feel like you are staying at a hotel, they make you feel like they have known you for years and they remember you when you come back! They go above and beyond to make your stay memorable and special! Be sure to make a point of going to the continental breakfast each morning and the evening social hour! These are all great opportunities to meet other guests and talk with the staff about places to visit and restaurants to try out. The location is perfect and gives you accesibility to many local attractions, restaurants, and shops even in the winter! If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Nags Head you will not be dissapointed!

Thank you for making our stay wonderful! We will be back next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Caty I simply could not ask for more in a review that says exactly what I hope our guests will experience while staying with us. You have hit all of the points that we work hard to deliver to our guests. The amazing team we have at the Surf Side strives to deliver what you experienced so I am truly grateful for your review and your time to put it together and share on Tripadvisor. Your business and your review are most sincerely appreciated.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very clean property!! The internet photos of the room are just like the actual rooms. What a pleasant surprise. Especially enjoyed the NO PET POLICY was able to feel free to enter property with ease, not having pet roaming the property and worrying about dog hair and fleas. The staff was polite and welcoming.

Room Tip: 2nd floor oceanfront king room wih sofa and side chair as an at home flair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you Mary for taking the time to review the Surf Side and for choosing to stay with us. I appreciate your time and your business.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have stayed at Surf Side for many years it is a great place. It is located in a very good location for just about anything you are doing at the beach.The service is great and the rooms are very clean and nice. We go to Nags Head about three times a year and we stay their every time love it. Bill& Laurie Chester VA.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Bill and Laurie if only all of our guests could be the wonderful guests that you are for us. We have built our success upon making each stay with us as enjoyable as the last so we work hard to make sure that the Surf Side always meets then exceeds your expectations. Thank you for your many years of business, it is so very sincerely appreciated.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
1.9 mi away
Nags Head Inn
Nags Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 521 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#9 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,614 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Address: 6701 South Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#1 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Side Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Surf Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Side Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.