We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Side Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Side Hotel
Save Saved
You added Surf Side Hotel to your Saves list
6701 South Virginia Dare, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Nags Head
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very clean property!! The internet photos of the room are just like the actual rooms. What a pleasant surprise. Especially enjoyed the NO PET POLICY was able to feel free to enter property with ease, not having pet roaming the property and worrying about dog hair and fleas. The staff was polite and welcoming.

Room Tip: 2nd floor oceanfront king room wih sofa and side chair as an at home flair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you Mary for taking the time to review the Surf Side and for choosing to stay with us. I appreciate your time and your business.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    502
    195
    39
    6
    8
See reviews for
237
359
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have stayed at Surf Side for many years it is a great place. It is located in a very good location for just about anything you are doing at the beach.The service is great and the rooms are very clean and nice. We go to Nags Head about three times a year and we stay their every time love it. Bill& Laurie Chester VA.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Bill and Laurie if only all of our guests could be the wonderful guests that you are for us. We have built our success upon making each stay with us as enjoyable as the last so we work hard to make sure that the Surf Side always meets then exceeds your expectations. Thank you for your many years of business, it is so very sincerely appreciated.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A trip to the beach is always a treat. A trip to the beach including a wonderful place to call home, excellent. From the warm welcome at the front desk to the beautiful, clean rooms and the amazing views, everything about this facility is top-notch. Our suite was spacious, the bathroom well-appointed and the bed comfortable. The room smelled clean and fresh when we arrived and the thermostat controlled heater kept the room warm without overheating. This is not a brand-new hotel, but it is immaculately kept. The breakfast is your standard "continental" style, but there was an assortment of cut fresh fruit (pineapple, blood orange and mango) and my husband enjoyed the sausage gravy on the biscuits. Coffee and hot cocoa (from packages) are available every day until 10pm and we were told there would be snacks in the late afternoon, but we weren't around to enjoy them. Also, didn't check out the indoor pool and hot tub, but a sign indicated the pool floor was to be resurfaced shortly. Clearly this is a property that the owners care about and the staff has adopted a similar attitude. Our room was more than large enough for me and my husband that with a fold-out sofa and pocket door for privacy would work well for a small family also.

Room Tip: The king oceanfront suites have three balconies which means you can have shade or sun, wind or no wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience at the Surf Side with others on Tripadvisor. As a family owned and operated hotel we do indeed take a great deal of pride in the product we deliver. Along with our amazing staff we want your first stay with us to be the first of many to come. Thank you again for the wonderful review, it is sincerely appreciated.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the Surfside last August and fell in love with it and with the outer banks. We just made reservations to return this Memorial Day with our extended family. The staff is friendly and helpful, the hotel is immaculate, the room comfortable with a great view of the ocean. It's in a central location for stores and a shopping mall. There's a very nice breakfast to get you off to a great day exploring or just enjoying the beach. The beach itself is terrific. There are enough people to make it feel festive but not so many that you ever feel crowded. There is a nice outdoor pool as well as an indoor pool with a hot tub which our grandchildren really enjoyed. It's a lovely place and we hope to spend many more vacations here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
And we love having you as our guest! We strive to make the first stay with us the first of many to come so it is especially rewarding to know you will be back again in May. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the great review, it is very much appreciated.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Surf Side almost every year for the past 14 years. We always wonder what improvement they will have made since the last stay. It never fails that they have made some change, small or large, that is a nice improvement. Some reviews mentions all kinds of shabby conditions. We have never seen ANYTHING like that! This is a beachfront hotel that does take the wear that comes with many people dragging in sand and all from the beach. I think they do a fantastic job of keeping everything clean and maintained. The breakfast is very generous and plenty to get your day started. We love the fridge and microwave that we stock for lunch. We love the Surf Side and plan to come back as often as possible. Also, in reference to the sand dunes blocking the view from the pool. I am sure the hotel is not in charge of the dunes. Perhaps we can tolerate the dunes (and also the boat and pipes) for the preservation of the beach. The beach here is beautiful and I hope it stays that way.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
It is hard to express in text what it means to us to have such wonderful repeat guests such as yourself. I suppose the best way we show our thanks is bydoing exactly what you mention, improving the property. We recognize the Surf Side is not a new building and indeed being oceanfront makes the effort to keep the building in top shape takes even more effort, and money. We know that we must always keep renovating and improving to make each stay with us better than the last. You can be assured we will continue to make the changes necessary to keep the Surf Side #1 in Nags Head!
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

When the hotel we had reserved was woefully inadequate we stopped in to Surf Side to check the level of accommodation. To our delight, we found the hotel in great shape (many in Nag's Head are tired facilities), the room was roomy and very well appointed, great view of the ocean, generous breakfast, and a helpful staff. The location is excellent for food, shopping (3 minutes to the outlet mall), and it is just over a 1/2 mile walk on the beach to the Nag's Head pier. I am really glad that my first reservation did not work out because the Surf Side was clearly the superior choice.

Room Tip: There are corner rooms that get more sun. They are 15% more in price, but worth it this time of year...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
While we want all of the hotels to meet guests expectations as it makes our community better as a whole, i am glad you found us when in need. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review the Surf Side.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent two nights here in January. The hotel has a mom and pop look from the outside, but things could not be more immaculate once inside. We stayed on the south side of the third floor with two balconies and great views. Had a king bed, very large room, well thought out details. Not luxurious, but comfortable and extremely clean. Good buffet breakfast (like a Hampton Inn) and complementary evening wine hour. We watched the snow on the beach from our room all one afternoon, but if you are there in warmer weather, nice pool area and easy beach access.

Room Tip: Recommend corner room with balcony. Third floor south side has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Mom and pop indeed! We are a family owned and operated hotel which allows us to offer a unique experience that you won't get from a chain hotel. We recognize that our exterior is not the most amazing architecture but for now we are focusing on making sure our insides, both in service and rooms are top notch. Thank you for the review.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Address: 6701 South Virginia Dare, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Side Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.