We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find with beautiful beachfront views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Side Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Side Hotel
Save Saved
You added Surf Side Hotel to your Saves list
6701 South Virginia Dare, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Nags Head
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent find with beautiful beachfront views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband, 8 year old son and 13 year old daughter were looking for a clean, reasonably priced hotel with ocean front views the night before Thanksgiving. After checking reviews on line we called to check availability and we checked in a few hours later. At 9pm we were greeted by a friendly front desk clerk who was extremely accommodating! He upgraded us to a ocean view room with a king size bed and a pull out sofa. We asked for a cot and he provided us with a roll away bed for our son for free! Rooms were clean, king size bed was very comfortable and the balcony view over looking the ocean was breath taking! There was a very decent free continental breakfast provided in a clean dining area. We were so impressed with how friendly and accommodating hotel staff was and even in 50 degree weather the out door pool was open and the grounds crew was vacuuming the pool! We will definitely stay here again in the warmer months and would highly recommend this hotel! Location was perfect to local restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    498
    194
    39
    6
    8
See reviews for
235
358
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cascade, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We love to visit the Outer Banks in December when it's calm and everything and everyone is more relaxed. It's wonderful to sleep and awaken to the sounds of the surf; the A/C unit noise level was very low, so we could still hear the surf (with the sliding door closed when desired.) Surf Side Hotel offers clean, fresh, comfortable accomodations, and the staff is very friendly.
(A fellow caffiene afficiando staff member very understandingly and very readily swapped out the decaf coffee packets in our room for 'high-test' regular caffeine, bless him.)
We'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Very comfortable stay hotel is right on the beach and very pleasant. Great weekend getaway.
I definitely will be back nice friendly staff. We had a great time visiting the island and seeing the sites.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were impressed by the spacious accommodations and the absolute cleanliness of our 2nd floor room. We had an impressive ocean view and appreciated the easy access to the beach for our daily walks. Without exception the staff were very friendly and accommodating -- they do a GREAT JOB. Complimentary cookies and hot cider in the lobby mid-day and wine and dry snacks in the late afternoon were a nice touch after hiking/sight-seeing all day. You can't beat the value of this property (especially in the off-season!) We highly recommend this property to anyone looking to stay in Nags Head, NC!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

A very nice, clean , quiet stay during the off season. The staff (Larry and Todd) were most courteous, friendly and professional. The rooms were quite nice, clean and well appointed.
The internet service was quite acceptable, and the selection of rooms was quite varied with a room to fit almost any taste and budget. I would not hesitate to recommend (already have) this hotel to friends. It was a most enjoyable off- season stay in Nags Head NC. And Johnathan gave quite an impressive performance.

Room Tip: Many options available to fit any budget (off -season). We had a 3d floor Ocean View (side of bldg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We cannot compliment the staff highly enough for the excellent service we receive every time we visit. The rooms are always clean, are constantly being renovated, and the owners and staff are very aware of the kind of service it takes to keep guests coming back. It is truly a joy to stay here.

Room Tip: For the best view on the coast, get an oceanfront room on the third or fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I normally stay at a place close by. They were close for remodeling/maintenance and we had to choose some place else. We were blessed with our choice - not having any idea where we were headed.
This is our new 1st choice. Everyone was friendly and helpful, everything was clean, the afternoon gathering was fun and we met a lovely couple from Maryland, and the breakfast was wonderful. What a beautiful of the ocean. Can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: Our room faced the water, was quiet and what a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Address: 6701 South Virginia Dare, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Side Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.