We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Good Value AND A Great Place to Stay!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Side Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Side Hotel
Save Saved
You added Surf Side Hotel to your Saves list
6701 South Virginia Dare, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
River Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Good Value AND A Great Place to Stay!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were impressed by the spacious accommodations and the absolute cleanliness of our 2nd floor room. We had an impressive ocean view and appreciated the easy access to the beach for our daily walks. Without exception the staff were very friendly and accommodating -- they do a GREAT JOB. Complimentary cookies and hot cider in the lobby mid-day and wine and dry snacks in the late afternoon were a nice touch after hiking/sight-seeing all day. You can't beat the value of this property (especially in the off-season!) We highly recommend this property to anyone looking to stay in Nags Head, NC!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    198
    42
    6
    8
See reviews for
243
366
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North East, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

A very nice, clean , quiet stay during the off season. The staff (Larry and Todd) were most courteous, friendly and professional. The rooms were quite nice, clean and well appointed.
The internet service was quite acceptable, and the selection of rooms was quite varied with a room to fit almost any taste and budget. I would not hesitate to recommend (already have) this hotel to friends. It was a most enjoyable off- season stay in Nags Head NC. And Johnathan gave quite an impressive performance.

Room Tip: Many options available to fit any budget (off -season). We had a 3d floor Ocean View (side of bldg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We cannot compliment the staff highly enough for the excellent service we receive every time we visit. The rooms are always clean, are constantly being renovated, and the owners and staff are very aware of the kind of service it takes to keep guests coming back. It is truly a joy to stay here.

Room Tip: For the best view on the coast, get an oceanfront room on the third or fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I normally stay at a place close by. They were close for remodeling/maintenance and we had to choose some place else. We were blessed with our choice - not having any idea where we were headed.
This is our new 1st choice. Everyone was friendly and helpful, everything was clean, the afternoon gathering was fun and we met a lovely couple from Maryland, and the breakfast was wonderful. What a beautiful of the ocean. Can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: Our room faced the water, was quiet and what a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Don't let the small lobby scare you!! The room was standard US hotel dimensions. Bathroom nicely remodeled, well stocked with towels, and CLEAN. The beds are VERY firm and linens were CLEAN !! Didnt make it over to the indoor pool, but the outdoor one looked just fine!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenton, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

As an "extended local" (only live 60 miles from the beach) I have stayed at most of the motels on the Outer Banks..the Surf Side is my favorite, by far. The staff is always friendly and eager to serve, the rooms are always clean and well kept, the linens are always clean and not over used before replacement. My wife and I stay at the Surf Side at least two times per year and occasionally more and we have never been dissappointed in the experience. Even though I am an occasional cigar smoker I am pleased that this is now an entirely non-smoking motel (you cannot even smoke on the balconies), and if I want to look at the ocean and smoke my evening cigar they have provided a nice deck spot to accomodate.
We have stayed in most every type of room that is provided, but my favorite is the oceanfront superior..with two balconies, both of which provide ocean views.
Surf Side is well worth the price and we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Neck, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We came here as part of our destinations during our wedding anniversary, plus during a family reunion of our kids and grandkids. Prior to meeting them in Myrtle Beach, the two of us stayed at the Surf Side in Nags Head, what a lovely stay. If you think you're getting the Hilton On The Beach, you're wrong, this is more down to earth and real. Ocean view room, some wine during "meet and greet" cocktail hour, gorgeous balcony view and relaxing night. Small but perfect pool to the side of the hotel, and the beach, steps away. On top of that, our hosts (Michaila and Larry) were thoughtful enough to remember that it was indeed our 25th wedding anniversary, and they added a lovely bottle of champagne and two Surf Side wine glasses to our room prior to check-in. We were truly touched by that extra sentimental and thoughtful gesture. You will love this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Address: 6701 South Virginia Dare, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Side Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.