We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but avoid 2nd floor if you want a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nags Head Inn

Save Saved
You added Nags Head Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nags Head Inn
4701 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Nashville
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but avoid 2nd floor if you want a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Pros:
- Great location on the beach and not too far from places to eat (but few within walking distance)
- Beautiful, wide, clean beach.
- Nice walk way over the sand dune (see below)
- Sweet Potato Biscuit Breakfast was decent (think little biscuits with little ham, but still tasty)
- Nice size room, clean, comfortable bed, nice bath/shower.

Cons (don't let these keep you from staying here):
- The 2nd floor is really the 1st floor of guest rooms above the car park. If you want a view of the beach you have to be on floors 3-5; else you have a nice view of the sand dune; and a bit of the ocean. The other issue is the railing has a wide top on it that obstructs your view unless you stand up.
- Not able to easily walk to a bar or restaurant. The closest good restaurant (not across the highway at the mall), the Blue Moon Beach Grill (which was great) is 0.7 miles.

Tips:
- Visit the Wright Bros museum and the lighthouses. If you don't want to drive down to Hatteras, check out Bodie Island Lighthouse.
- Ask the nice host lady at breakfast where to eat dinner.
- Go down to the Nags Head Fishing Pier and have a beer at the bar which has a nice view of the beach and ocean. Good craft beer on draft and nice staff.

Room Tip: If you really want a beach + ocean view, pay the extra money and get on the 4th or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. As you noted, our second floor oceanfront rooms do have a view of the ocean but not of the beach. For this reason they are priced lower than the oceanfront rooms on the upper floors - you still have a private balcony looking out at the beautiful Atlantic Ocean and you save a few dollars too.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    95
    40
    8
    17
See reviews for
68
108
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jeannette, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed here during a long weekend in November. Although the weather was cool, was still able to walk right out to the beach and also lay on the balcony next to the indoor pool/hot tub. Hotel was clean, quiet and the sweet potato bisquits were great. Staff was friendly, just suggest staying on 3rd or 4th floor since the lower floors only get a partial view of the ocean because of the dunes being high. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your November stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. Most people think of the Outer Banks as a summer destination and do not realize how great all seasons are here. The slower pace and quiet wide open beaches in the "off-season" is sometimes just what you need to relax and re-charge. We hope to see you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

While checking in we advised the front desk of our medical alert dog. They were rude from the very beginning. Got a call from the front desk not even one minute from returning to our room saying another guest had complained of a dog barking. Not once our whole trip did our dog bark. They were very rude to us the whole time including eye rolling and shaking of heads whenever they saw us. We advised the manager of our terrible service and she was just as rude! Bottom line is they are not service dog friendly or people friendly for that matter. Stay away!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
We are sorry that you feel that you were not treated properly by our staff. While we are a pet free facility, we always welcome and accommodate service animals and appreciate their value to our guests. The Nags Head Inn is one of the sponsors of the annual VIP (Visually Impaired Persons) fishing tournament and some of the participants and volunteers that stay with us have service dogs so the staff is aware and respectful of their presence.
We do hope that you will return to the Nags Head Inn in the future.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Knolls, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I would like to thank the staff especially Tai for all her help in extending our reservation on short
notice. We found the Inn to be very clean and staff helpful and friendly. The location
is prime and I would not hesitate to recommend the Inn or stay there again.

Room Tip: Of course try and make reservations in advance. We had street room and although of course I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for the review of your stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We’re glad that you enjoyed it here so much that you wanted to extend your stay and that Tai was able to arrange that for you. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very nice hotel located right on a beautiful beach. Rooms on the 3rd & 4th floors have spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean, walk up the stairs and over the sand dune to a sandy beach with no lifeguard, but a vendor who rents chairs and umbrellas......there is also a ramp to the top of the dunes for great viewing, but no ramp to the beach. There are small refrigerators in every room and a free breakfast of packaged "pastries" which should be missed.

Staff at front desk nice, but clueless.

Room Tip: Rooms facing ocean much better, but lower floors have their view blocked by sand dune
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed that great ocean view from our rooms and our new beach walkway (to clarify - although there is not a ramp to take you down to the beach there are stairs). We hope to see you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I made a quick trip to Nags Head for our anniversary. Sometimes we take our two dogs and need a place that accepts dogs. This time we went without them and decided on Nags Head Inn. All staff members are fantastic and always cheerful. The hotel is clean and quiet. Location is right on the beach and the new staircase across the dune makes the walk to the beach an easy one. We had a great trip!

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, make sure to book a room on the third floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you will come to stay again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Hotel room is clean. The front desk person seemed too rushed in checking us in. This hotel is oceanfront and has a boardwalk over the dunes. They have an indoor pool and hot tub. It was not crowded at all.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. Our housekeeping staff works hard to keep all of the hotel clean and inviting and we are glad that you enjoyed your room. We are located on the oceanfront in a mainly residential part of Nags Head so the beach has lots of room to spread out and relax - isn't that what vacation should be all about?.
Thank you for choosing the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We hope to see you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nags Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nags Head Inn

Address: 4701 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nags Head Inn is the only Outer Banks hotel that features over 4 acres of pristine oceanfront, and is located in the middle of what locals affectionately refer to as, 'Old Cottage Row' in Nags Head. Nags Head Inn Oceanfront Hotel has become famous for delivering the Original Outer Banks Oceanfront Experience for nearly a quarter of a century by offering our highly valued guests honest vacation value. According to Outer Banks hotel reviews, our guests love the recent renovations on our 4 acres of beautiful oceanfront sand dunes, pristine beach, manicured Bermuda lawns and lush barrier island gardens… relaxing year round in our spa, indoor heated swimming pool or jumping into the beautiful Atlantic Ocean just outside their doors. We love making lasting memories happen and we’ve been told we're pretty good at it. It is our aim to make every guest become a repeat guest and offer you a vacation superior to other Outer Banks hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Nags Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nags Head Hotel Nags Head
Nags Head Bed Breakfast
Nag Head Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nags Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.