We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nags Head Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Nags Head Inn to your Saves list
Nags Head Inn
4701 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
Staunton, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great place nestled right in by the beach. Staff was super helpful; especially Jeff when I came down early for my morning walks on the beach. He helped with directions, getting my MC trailer freed up (was blocked in). Always hot coffee in the lobby in morning. Sweet potato biscuits at Ms Shirl's are great!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor Oceanfront rooms have view of beach but not spectacular. Opt for the upper rooms if availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and your interactions with members of the staff. This is a great area with a lot of wonderful attractions and fantastic restaurants and we all enjoy helping our guests find their way to all that the Outer Banks has to offer.

We hope to have you come to visit with us again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    105
    44
    8
    18
See reviews for
71
115
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We enjoyed staying here with a deal of 3 nights, the fourth is free. The hotel is right on the beach. We had a fantastic view of the ocean and beach from our fourth floor room. Definitely stay on the fourth or fifth floor for the best view. It was nice to have a balcony but when we were there it was too hot to sit there. At the beginning of the week there were only a few people on the beach so we enjoyed the peace and quiet, Watching the pelicans fly and dive was fun. We would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room on the fourth or fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here with us.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip to the Outer Banks. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We've been staying at the Nags Head Inn every summer since 2004. It is extremely clean, has a knowledgeable staff, lots of parking, and the indoor pool and hot tub overlook the beautiful beach. There is a small café on the second floor where they offer complimentary pastries, coffee and juice, but the hostess seems to monitor the food so that guests don't take too much! She has actually "blocked" me from the pastries! Also, they need to offer some different items, because year after year, it's the same old thing. Last year, I got a moldy danish, which was very unappetizing, and my ham & sweet potato biscuit was stale and the ham was rancid. Maybe some small boxes of cereal, pop tarts, bagels or English muffins would be nice. We'll definitely stay here again, we just won't be visiting the café.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have a better view of the ocean because there is a sand dune directly behind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are sorry that you do not enjoy the sweet potato biscuits (with country ham and without) that we offer each morning – these are baked fresh and delivered to us daily - A little local taste of Nags Head.
We are glad that you like the rest of the hotel and continue to visit us after 10 years. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Had always wanted to stay at this hotel some time so was very pleased to have found a great deal online on just the dates I needed. Our room was on the 5th floor street side but we could see the sound so we still had a water view. Had been remodeled and it was also very clean. Will definitely stay there again. Nice perk was the complimentary YMCA passes! The only down side is that the ice and vending machines were not enclosed in a separate room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at the Nags Head Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful sound view from the 5th floor room – we do have some spectacular sunsets here on the Outer Banks. The YMCA is a great facility and we are glad that you were able to get your work out in while you were here.
Although the ice machines and vending machines are not in a separate room, we feel that having them on each floor next to the elevators and stairwells provides a convenience for all of our guests.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to the Nags Head. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had a wonderful stay. The staff is very friendly. The inn is very clean. I would recommend this place to anyone. The steps and deck to beach are new. It also includes a ramp which is nice. The indoor pool is good on a rainy day. The early check in was a nice surprise. The maids are nice.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are pleased that you enjoyed our new beach walkway and our renovated indoor pool area.

We are glad that you chose to stay with us during your Outer Banks vacation and hope to see you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

What a surprise...we opt for the parking lot side of the hotel but didn't feel we were short changed for not having ocean view. Older hotel that has been maintained beautifully and appears to have had remodeling. Clean large room on fourth floor; very comfortable bed and bathroom. Beautiful access to the beach that gave us access to beautiful photographs of early sunrise.

Room Tip: Ask for highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you liked all of our recent updates to the rooms and our new beach walkway. We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I took a quick trip to the Outer Banks last week. We went sort of "last minute". I checked hotels and saw only good ratings on the Nags Head Inn but they were all booked up save for one room. The room was not Oceanside but we took it. When we got to the Inn we were pleased to see it was Oceanfront and you can walk up and sit on a platform overlooking the Ocean and Beach. The room itself was spacious and well appointed. Everything was very clean and the staff at the front desk helpful and friendly. There are many nearby restaurants and they do have a coffee and pastry ;room in the morning. Parking is plentiful and free. All in all, a very
pleasant stay. We plan to return, only next time we will book an Oceanfront room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and are happy to know that you will be back. Give us a call in advance to reserve that oceanfront room – I am sure that you will really like the view from the room and your own private balcony. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nags Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nags Head Inn

Address: 4701 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nags Head Inn is the only Outer Banks hotel that features over 4 acres of pristine oceanfront, and is located in the middle of what locals affectionately refer to as, 'Old Cottage Row' in Nags Head. Nags Head Inn Oceanfront Hotel has become famous for delivering the Original Outer Banks Oceanfront Experience for nearly a quarter of a century by offering our highly valued guests honest vacation value. According to Outer Banks hotel reviews, our guests love the recent renovations on our 4 acres of beautiful oceanfront sand dunes, pristine beach, manicured Bermuda lawns and lush barrier island gardens… relaxing year round in our spa, indoor heated swimming pool or jumping into the beautiful Atlantic Ocean just outside their doors. We love making lasting memories happen and we’ve been told we're pretty good at it. It is our aim to make every guest become a repeat guest and offer you a vacation superior to other Outer Banks hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Nags Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nags Head Hotel Nags Head
Nags Head Bed Breakfast
Nag Head Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nags Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.