We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location, Quiet and Comfortable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nags Head Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Nags Head Inn to your Saves list
Nags Head Inn
4701 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, Quiet and Comfortable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is our third stay at the Nags Head Inn this year. My husband and I enjoy the quietness of the hotel, great location and the beach just steps away from the hotel. We always request an oceanfront room as we enjoy the fabulous view and sitting out sipping our wine or coffee. There is plenty of parking, most of which is covered. The rooms are very clean, smell good and do not reak of sand, salt or smoke. The staff is friendly and although we did not have any issues with our stay, I am sure they would have done what was necessary to correct the problem. The beds are comfortable with decent linens for a nice stay. The bathroom has been partially updated with new counter tops, sinks toilets and wallpaper. I would suspect the next step to being the hotel up to date would be to replace the older tubs, showers, faucets, and lighting in the guest bathrooms. I would like to see softer, non-flourecent lighting in the bathrooms with a larger tub. The furniture is decent but is not new. Housekeeping is friendly and ready to get to work and make up rooms as soon as you are ready for it. The microwave and fridge are nice and work fine. No continental breakfast at this hotel, however the sweet potato ham biscuits are decent. We prefer to ride up to the close Dunkin Donuts or have a big breakfast at nearby Grits and Grill. We like Pizza from Dare Devil Pizza and it is only a few miles down the beach road should you want to stay in and enjoy yur vacay on premises. For a nice dinner out, we chose Tale of the Whale for fresh seafood and to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary this past Friday.

Great value for a nice, quiet vacation. Bree at the front desk was very friendly and accommodated a request for an oceanfront room when we first had only found online a street side room. Wile it was a considerable upgrade in price, it was so worth it!
We also enjoyed the pool, us deck and hot tub- clean, not crowded and perfect to get out of the sun.

Room Tip: Request an oceanfront room on the fourth or fifth floor for the best view. Room 515 that we did stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Nags Head Inn. We are all glad that you enjoyed your time here and liked this year's renovations. I am glad that we were able to get you into that oceanfront room - relaxing on the balcony overlooking the beautiful Atlantic Ocean makes that coffee or wine even more enjoyable.
Thank you for choosing the Nags Head Inn. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    114
    45
    9
    18
See reviews for
76
125
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed in a street-view king bed room with my wife and 2-and-a-half year-old daughter. The street view was nice and saved us a good deal of money over an ocean-facing room. The hotel is in a residential neighborhood that is just the right distance from the hustle-and-bustle that lies to the north and south. The hotel is literally steps away from the ocean. We kept most of our beach supplies in the car instead of hauling them back and forth to our room. The facility is well-maintained and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We did not experience any issues during our stay but I have no doubt that if we had they would have been corrected quickly. The pool and jacuzzi were nice--my daughter enjoyed jumping and splashing in the pool when it became too dark to swim in the ocean. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely consider staying there again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review of your stay at the Nags Head Inn. We appreciate the kind words and are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit the beautiful Outer Banks.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Very clean locally owned hotel. Staff is extremely helpful and the beach was not overcrowded with people, yet the hotel had no vacancy. Perfect distance from everything in the OBX, I am quite picky due to my asthma, and never had a problem during our 8 night stay. The beds and pillows were so comfortable. I need to find out where to get one of those pillows as I miss them! When we are in the area again, we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your time on the beautiful Outer Banks. We enjoyed having you all as our guests and we look forward to seeing you and your family again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel is a quaint, locally owned hotel that is not the Ritz Carlton, but it is extremely clean and comfortable. The staff very friendly, helpful, and provide great service. Best ocean front room in order to have a view would be on fifth floor or above. Considering it is a beach hotel, the rooms felt clean and non-humid. The floors and carpet were not gritty as can be the case with such hotels -- even clean, high-end ones. The white tiles and grout were extremely white and well cared for ... a subtle detail that demonstrates extra care goes into a quality cleaning job. There is not much a lobby, no bar or dining service that I recall. However, there is a pastry breakfast in a hospitality suite, though we did not use this.

We came for a wedding. Great thing is that there was no minimum two or three night stay as is often the case on the coast of North Carolina during peak seasons.

I would stay again. Even though I was with my husband, I would feel comfortable staying here alone or with children.

Room Tip: For ocean view choose fifth floor or higher. Also, get there early if you want covered parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay with us at the Nags Head Inn. Our staff works really hard to keep the hotel clean and comfortable for all of our guests and they appreciate the kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Nags Head Inn is a wonderful hotel. Very friendly staff and located right on the beach. Lots of parking, recently renovated hotel, and of course a nice hot tub to sit in and relax. will be back for sure the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed our renovations and that nice relaxing hot tub. We look forward having you as our guests again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Entered Room which reeked of alcohol, mold, and must. Room temperature was 80.
AC not working. Bathroom floor filthy. My wife woke up with asthma exacerbation. The worst I've ever experienced ! Toxic environment! Stay away!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If you had let us know that there was a problem with at ac, we would have moved you to another room or had maintenance replace the unit. Unfortunately, mechanical problems do occur from time to time but we always try to take care of them as soon as we are aware of the trouble. Our goal is to give all of our guests a positive vacation experience and I apologize for not providing that for you and your wife.


Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Older facility but located on the beach and near many places you want to see while visiting the NC Outer Banks. Clean and friendly staff. The morning coffee and sweet potato biscuits is a great touch.

Room Tip: We did not have an ocean front room and didn't mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay with us at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our morning sweet potato biscuits. We hope to see you again next time you are visiting the beautiful Outer banks.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Nags Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nags Head Inn

Address: 4701 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Family Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nags Head Inn is the only Outer Banks hotel that features over 4 acres of pristine oceanfront, and is located in the middle of what locals affectionately refer to as, 'Old Cottage Row' in Nags Head. Nags Head Inn Oceanfront Hotel has become famous for delivering the Original Outer Banks Oceanfront Experience for nearly a quarter of a century by offering our highly valued guests honest vacation value. According to Outer Banks hotel reviews, our guests love the recent renovations on our 4 acres of beautiful oceanfront sand dunes, pristine beach, manicured Bermuda lawns and lush barrier island gardens… relaxing year round in our spa, indoor heated swimming pool or jumping into the beautiful Atlantic Ocean just outside their doors. We love making lasting memories happen and we’ve been told we're pretty good at it. It is our aim to make every guest become a repeat guest and offer you a vacation superior to other Outer Banks hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nags Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nags Head Hotel Nags Head
Nags Head Bed Breakfast
Nag Head Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nags Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.