We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nags Head Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Nags Head Inn to your Saves list
Nags Head Inn
4701 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed there this past weekend. Check in is scheduled at 4 but we arrived earlier than we anticipated and they kindly got a room ready for us by 2. The room was spacious and clean. I do wish the pool was bigger and the jacuzzi as well, but besides that everything was great. I loved that their parking was under the building so our car wasn't sitting out in the hot sun! The beach was beautiful! Staff was friendly and very informative. We didn't try the morning breakfast so I can't comment on how that was, but the coffee was good. I would def. stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that we were able to get you into your room a bit early so that you could begin your weekend at the beach. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you visit with us again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    125
    48
    9
    19
See reviews for
85
138
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockton, PA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I almost don't want anyone else to know about "our special place"!!! My husband and I stayed here last year, and fell in love with the charming hotel and the people who work here! Don't pay attention to the reviews of second floor rooms..we stayed on the second floor last year and loved it! This year we were on the fifth floor, and the renovations were amazing as we're the views!! the sad came when we had to check out, and housekeeping came flying out of the elevator, with my husbands camera cords in hand, hoping we hadn't left yet! Thank you so much! Everyone was so kind..and was very supportive of my efforts "to boost the local economy"!!! Love you guys"

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you came back again this year and got to see all of our latest renovations. The staff all enjoy having guests like you and are glad to hear that we helped to make your Outer Banks vacation a memorable one. We hope that we will see you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Staff is very nice, room is excellent. View of beach from ocean front rooms is disappointing. A large black top parking lot was constructed between the hotel and dunes - diminishes view significantly. Was very surprised at this poor choice of construction since there is plenty of property for parking on the side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on 4th or 5th floor for best view, however, parking lot is still an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay at the Nags Head Inn. Our guests are usually very happy with the view from all of our oceanfront rooms. The hotel is situated on the property to maximize setback from the ocean in the event of serious storms while preserving the ocean view for our guests. The property on each end of the building is being utilized as drain fields for our underground treatment plant. We like your idea but unfortunately it just is not feasible now, nor was it at the time of construction. We are glad that you enjoyed the room and our staff but sorry that, for you, the view was not satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I returned to the Nags Head Inn for the 6th time in the past 7 years and it gets better each year we vacation there. The staff is as friendly as it is possible to be and the beach is a beautiful as ever. Be sure to request the top floor as the view from over 70 feet in the air is spectacular, to put it mildly. It is expensive but well worth it. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The 2nd floor does not offer a view of the beach. 3rd and 4th are ok but the 5th floor offers the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay with us at the Nags Head Inn. The view from the oceanfront rooms has always been great but with the new glass system it is even more spectacular. We are glad that you enjoy your time with us each year and hope that you will continue to be a part of our Nags Head Inn family for many years to come. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I was very impressed with the staff - everyone was really nice. We were just in and out for a fishing trip and the hotel is a short drive from Oregon Inlet (important when you have to leave at 4:30am). The front desk person made sure we had coffee and a pastry for our early departure and the rooms were comfortable and very clean.

I am a picky hotel guest and I would highly recommend Nags Head Inn. The price is good and the location is great. And they have yummy sweet potato biscuits!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. A fishing trip out of Oregon Inlet Fishing Center is always a great experience (especially if you catch some fish). We are glad that you enjoyed your brief time with us before you went off-shore and hope that you will come to stay with us again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowview, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We loved the hotel, it is right on the ocean front! All the staff were very nice, pleasant, always spoke andxwerechrlpful with all of our questions! I can say I tried the sweet potato biscuit and for me it's a pass, but the coffee was great! Just a regular plain biscuit will do for me! Will be back again, thanks for the wonderful accommodations!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head inn. Our goal is to help you have a great vacation experience while visiting the beautiful Outer Banks and we are always happy to know that we have succeeded. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great place. We stayed here for one night. This hotel is conveniently located near Jenette's Pier and the Bodie Island lighthouse. It's also right near the Manteo/Nags Head causeway so you aren't far from The Elizabethan Gardens or the Lost Colony. Restaurants/shops aren't far either as this hotel is located maybe one street over from the main drag. Front desk staff was very informative and nice during the check-in process. We had an oceanfront room on the 3rd floor (room 309). The room was very clean and still smelled new. I think it was recently renovated. King size bed (very comfortable) as well as a pull out sofa. TV/microwave/coffee maker, etc. Has a great pool/Jacuzzi area and the common areas were all very pretty and well kept. Had a pretty great time with this hotel. The views were great. The only thing I would recommend though is not use Expedia or other travel sites to book. The front desk staff told me upon check out that using those sites actually makes you pay more than what the hotel actually charges. Go directly to this hotels website to make reservations, nagsheadinn.com. We may consider using these guys for our honeymoon next year as they do have a honeymoon suite.

Room Tip: The higher the room then the better your ocean front view. We had a 3rd floor room (#309) and the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Nags Head Inn. We just completed renovations to all of our guest bathrooms plus all of the glass was replaced in the oceanfront rooms for an even better view of the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. We are glad that you liked our "new look".

All of our guests are important to us no matter what method they use to make their reservations. You can reserve a room directly with the hotel (thru our web site or by phone) or thru any of the on-line travel sites. (As you noted, reservations made directly thru the hotel are not subject to booking fees). With all of the hotels on the Outer Banks we are glad that you chose to stay at the Nags Head Inn.

We hope that you do decide to vacation on the Outer Banks for your honeymoon. It is a great area to visit and staying in our honeymoon suite could make it even more memorable.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
4.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#8 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,618 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
4.8 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#10 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nags Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nags Head Inn

Address: 4701 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Family Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nags Head Inn is the only Outer Banks hotel that features over 4 acres of pristine oceanfront, and is located in the middle of what locals affectionately refer to as, 'Old Cottage Row' in Nags Head. Nags Head Inn Oceanfront Hotel has become famous for delivering the Original Outer Banks Oceanfront Experience for nearly a quarter of a century by offering our highly valued guests honest vacation value. According to Outer Banks hotel reviews, our guests love the recent renovations on our 4 acres of beautiful oceanfront sand dunes, pristine beach, manicured Bermuda lawns and lush barrier island gardens… relaxing year round in our spa, indoor heated swimming pool or jumping into the beautiful Atlantic Ocean just outside their doors. We love making lasting memories happen and we’ve been told we're pretty good at it. It is our aim to make every guest become a repeat guest and offer you a vacation superior to other Outer Banks hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Nags Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nags Head Hotel Nags Head
Nags Head Bed Breakfast
Nag Head Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nags Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.