We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nags Head Inn

Save Saved
You added Nags Head Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nags Head Inn
4701 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Nags Head
Ocean City MD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I was very impressed with the staff - everyone was really nice. We were just in and out for a fishing trip and the hotel is a short drive from Oregon Inlet (important when you have to leave at 4:30am). The front desk person made sure we had coffee and a pastry for our early departure and the rooms were comfortable and very clean.

I am a picky hotel guest and I would highly recommend Nags Head Inn. The price is good and the location is great. And they have yummy sweet potato biscuits!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. A fishing trip out of Oregon Inlet Fishing Center is always a great experience (especially if you catch some fish). We are glad that you enjoyed your brief time with us before you went off-shore and hope that you will come to stay with us again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    89
    36
    8
    16
See reviews for
60
100
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meadowview, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We loved the hotel, it is right on the ocean front! All the staff were very nice, pleasant, always spoke andxwerechrlpful with all of our questions! I can say I tried the sweet potato biscuit and for me it's a pass, but the coffee was great! Just a regular plain biscuit will do for me! Will be back again, thanks for the wonderful accommodations!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head inn. Our goal is to help you have a great vacation experience while visiting the beautiful Outer Banks and we are always happy to know that we have succeeded. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great place. We stayed here for one night. This hotel is conveniently located near Jenette's Pier and the Bodie Island lighthouse. It's also right near the Manteo/Nags Head causeway so you aren't far from The Elizabethan Gardens or the Lost Colony. Restaurants/shops aren't far either as this hotel is located maybe one street over from the main drag. Front desk staff was very informative and nice during the check-in process. We had an oceanfront room on the 3rd floor (room 309). The room was very clean and still smelled new. I think it was recently renovated. King size bed (very comfortable) as well as a pull out sofa. TV/microwave/coffee maker, etc. Has a great pool/Jacuzzi area and the common areas were all very pretty and well kept. Had a pretty great time with this hotel. The views were great. The only thing I would recommend though is not use Expedia or other travel sites to book. The front desk staff told me upon check out that using those sites actually makes you pay more than what the hotel actually charges. Go directly to this hotels website to make reservations, nagsheadinn.com. We may consider using these guys for our honeymoon next year as they do have a honeymoon suite.

Room Tip: The higher the room then the better your ocean front view. We had a 3rd floor room (#309) and the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Nags Head Inn. We just completed renovations to all of our guest bathrooms plus all of the glass was replaced in the oceanfront rooms for an even better view of the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. We are glad that you liked our "new look".

All of our guests are important to us no matter what method they use to make their reservations. You can reserve a room directly with the hotel (thru our web site or by phone) or thru any of the on-line travel sites. (As you noted, reservations made directly thru the hotel are not subject to booking fees). With all of the hotels on the Outer Banks we are glad that you chose to stay at the Nags Head Inn.

We hope that you do decide to vacation on the Outer Banks for your honeymoon. It is a great area to visit and staying in our honeymoon suite could make it even more memorable.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We went for a wedding, and we had a blast. You can find a more reasonable place price wise, but will they be as friendly? It was clean! Which I love, I do wish they had a seating area in lobby maybe with a bar, but you can't have everything. They recommended a great spa for me, directed to the local great spots and was just so helpful overall! Next time I go I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay at the Nags Head Inn. Our staff loves sharing their knowledge of all of the great places to visit, eat and shop in the area and are glad that you liked their suggestions. Thanks for staying with us and we hope that you will return soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed four nights in early May. The staff was very friendly, the room was spacious and comfortable, and the location was good. Stayed on the fifth floor and the view of the ocean was awesome. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. All of our oceanfront rooms have a great view of the Atlantic but the view from the 5th (top) floor is especially awesome. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again real soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in May and had a great time! This hotel is located right on the ocean, but also right across the highway from restaurants and a grocery store. The staff was very friendly and the hotel very clean! We would 100% return!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back. We look forward to your next visit.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very nice facility, pool and spa are small, continental bkft just that....juice, sweet potato biscuits, coffee/tea. Room on street side, could hear some traffic but mostly quiet during night, large, clean, comf with a great shower. Miss Sheryl who oversees bkft area very helpful. Front desk staff also helpful and pleasant

Room Tip: Room 514 on street but road noise not a big problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. The new shower heads were installed as part of our recent bathroom renovations and have been very well received.
Everyone on the staff is glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you will come to stay again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nags Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nags Head Inn

Address: 4701 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nags Head Inn is the only Outer Banks hotel that features over 4 acres of pristine oceanfront, and is located in the middle of what locals affectionately refer to as, 'Old Cottage Row' in Nags Head. Nags Head Inn Oceanfront Hotel has become famous for delivering the Original Outer Banks Oceanfront Experience for nearly a quarter of a century by offering our highly valued guests honest vacation value. According to Outer Banks hotel reviews, our guests love the recent renovations on our 4 acres of beautiful oceanfront sand dunes, pristine beach, manicured Bermuda lawns and lush barrier island gardens… relaxing year round in our spa, indoor heated swimming pool or jumping into the beautiful Atlantic Ocean just outside their doors. We love making lasting memories happen and we’ve been told we're pretty good at it. It is our aim to make every guest become a repeat guest and offer you a vacation superior to other Outer Banks hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Nags Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nags Head Hotel Nags Head
Nags Head Bed Breakfast
Nag Head Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nags Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.