We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun at the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nags Head Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Nags Head Inn to your Saves list
Nags Head Inn
4701 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
Lake Placid, FL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun at the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very nice facility, pool and spa are small, continental bkft just that....juice, sweet potato biscuits, coffee/tea. Room on street side, could hear some traffic but mostly quiet during night, large, clean, comf with a great shower. Miss Sheryl who oversees bkft area very helpful. Front desk staff also helpful and pleasant

Room Tip: Room 514 on street but road noise not a big problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. The new shower heads were installed as part of our recent bathroom renovations and have been very well received.
Everyone on the staff is glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you will come to stay again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    104
    44
    8
    18
See reviews for
70
115
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakville
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Nags Head in is really a wonderful place to get away from it all. It seems to have a marvelous calming effect on us. Maybe it was because it was so close to the ocean. It is family owned and has been refurbished to a high standard. The oceanfront rooms are great, as you can watch the sunrise and see the pelicans and all the fun on the beach. They have a little breakfast, with coffee, juice and buns. You can sun on the deck or go for a swim in the indoor pool or go for a long walk on the beach. It is close to everything from shopping to sightseeing. We were enjoying it so much we wanted to stay and extra night, and the hotel was kind enough to accomodate us without having to change rooms. Come to think of it, I should book this September right now.

Room Tip: They have elevators so seniors don't have to worry about higher rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of your Spring stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that we are able to provide you with the atmosphere to truly unwind and relax. Watching an ocean sunrise from your balcony is a great way to start each day.
September is also a great time to visit the Outer Banks – warm days and mild nights are the norm and the temperature of the ocean water is usually still warm enough for swimming. We will be looking forward to your return in the Fall.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We chose the Nags Head Inn based on other Trip Advisor reviews, and were not disappointed. We arrived early, and they took our number and said they would let us know when the room was ready - and called us about 30 minutes later to say it was all set. We were given a top floor room, and as we entered, saw the view of the ocean before us - breathtaking! Well worth the extra money - don't miss it. We got the special rate (pay for 3, get 4 nights); price was well within, if not cheaper than what others charge. Room was spotless, had a one-cup coffeemaker; they had a 'hospitality room' downstairs with coffee and sweet potato biscuits and pastries in the morning, if you did not want to go out for a big breakfast. Staff was friendly, and good a recommending places to eat when we asked. All in all, we had a great 4 day stay, and I would hightly recommend the Nags Head Inn.

Room Tip: 4th or 5th floor get the best ocean views, because of the dunes. Street side upper floors get a sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your 5th floor oceanfront room. All of the glass on the oceanfront was just replaced as part of our renovations so the views of the beautiful Atlantic Oceans are even more spectacular then they were before.
We are glad that you chose us for your visit to the Outer Banks and hope that you will come to stay with us again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

While many would prefer more posh surroundings, the rooms at Nags Head Inn are clean, comfortable and spacious. The real plus of this location is that it is on the beach, so you can fall asleep at night, listening to the sound of the waves. There is a small indoor pool and whirlpool, in case the weather outside isn't cooperating. There's also great shopping nearby. Their special offering a free night after purchasing 3 nights, is helpful for those on a budget.

My only caution is that before you book, make sure their renovations are complete. I was there in mid-March 2013 and was awakened some mornings to drilling and hammering.

Room Tip: Certainly, oceanfront rooms are great, but if you are on a budget, a street side room on a higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. The hotel is very centrally located right on the beach in Nags Head close to shopping, restaurants and attractions.
We are constantly upgrading our facility for our guest’s comfort and enjoyment and our renovations for this year are just about complete.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of out 4 @ 3 special. We hope to see you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights total over a weekend. The room, service & staff was great! The continental breakfast left a lot to be desired compaired w/ other hotels I've stayed in. If they modernized/expanded their breakfast offering this would have been a much better value. Everything else was great!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. Our entire staff works very hard to make sure that our guests’ vacation with us is clean, comfortable and enjoyable and we are always happy to hear that we succeeded. We are glad that you enjoyed staying in one of our newly renovated guest rooms.
We do not offer a complete breakfast, but do provide complimentary Kelly’s Restaurant signature sweet potato biscuits -with or without country ham - delivered to us fresh daily plus Danish, juice, coffee and tea each morning.
Thank you for choosing the Nags Head Inn. We hope that you will come to stay with us again.


Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Room was nice and very clean. Staff was very friendly, we were greeted every time we walked thorugh the lobby. Nice view of Nags Head and the Sound from our street front room. Sweet potato biscuits for breakfast were yummy and Miss Shirl was very friendly.

Room Tip: Hotel still under renovations. Only 2nd and 5th floors were open for guests. did not hear any constr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Nags Head Inn. You can see some fantastic sunsets over the sound from the streetside rooms.
We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It was our first visit to OBX in years and we went to Taste of the Beach 2013. Enjoyed staying here in newly renovated rooms on the 5th floor with beautiful ocean views. Slept with the heat off and the window open at night just to hear the waves. Great place to stay off season since they have an indoor pool. Very convenient to good local restaurants.

Room Tip: The higher the better for views from the room; ask for low numbers like 403, 503 to get away from el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed staying in one of our newly renovated rooms and that awesome view of the Atlantic. There is nothing better than eating a good meal – I am sure you had plenty of great food at the Taste of the Beach – then relaxing in an oceanfront room, listening to the sounds of the ocean waves.
Thank you for choosing the Nags Head Inn. We hope that you will come back soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nags Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nags Head Inn

Address: 4701 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nags Head Inn is the only Outer Banks hotel that features over 4 acres of pristine oceanfront, and is located in the middle of what locals affectionately refer to as, 'Old Cottage Row' in Nags Head. Nags Head Inn Oceanfront Hotel has become famous for delivering the Original Outer Banks Oceanfront Experience for nearly a quarter of a century by offering our highly valued guests honest vacation value. According to Outer Banks hotel reviews, our guests love the recent renovations on our 4 acres of beautiful oceanfront sand dunes, pristine beach, manicured Bermuda lawns and lush barrier island gardens… relaxing year round in our spa, indoor heated swimming pool or jumping into the beautiful Atlantic Ocean just outside their doors. We love making lasting memories happen and we’ve been told we're pretty good at it. It is our aim to make every guest become a repeat guest and offer you a vacation superior to other Outer Banks hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Nags Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nags Head Hotel Nags Head
Nags Head Bed Breakfast
Nag Head Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nags Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.