We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was so nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nags Head Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Nags Head Inn to your Saves list
Nags Head Inn
4701 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It was so nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was the third weekend in September and the weather was great. The Nags Head Inn was the crowning touch to a fabulous weekend. The room was very clean and up to date. The staff was friendly and were glad to answer all our questions. The beach was very accessible. The continental breakfast was good, especially the sweet potato biscuits. I'd stay there again and have recommended it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your Fall stay with us at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and look forward to seeing you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    105
    44
    8
    18
See reviews for
71
115
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

the wife and i stayed here for two nights very clean easy access to the beach and the hillarious ghost crabs! worth the money what you get is what you see close to everything you want to do or see next time we are down that way well stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review of your summer visit with us at the Nags Head Inn. The ghost crabs are really fun to watch – providing great free and natural entertainment for everyone on the beach.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guests again in the future.
Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for the OBX marathon series. The team already booked us for a late check out. Everyone was very gracious. Excellent access to the beach. I would stay here again for the value and the service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. Congratulations on taking part in the Outer Banks Marathon. It is a great event and we welcome all participants. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We were on the fifth floor and the view was spectacular. Room was very clean and quiet. Will definitely come back. The staff is friendly and helpful. Plenty of restaurants still open though it is off season. Good price for an oceanfront room in this area.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. The fall is a great time to come to the Outer Banks – less crowds + lower prices is a great combination. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our second stay. We stayed here last year and it was lovely. Came back the first weekend of October and it was just superb. Friendly staff, everything was clean. Just lovely. Staff was very helpful on where to eat, etc. Sweet potato biscuits in the morning were just a treat. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are all glad that you enjoyed your time with us again this year and look forward to seeing you next time you come to visit the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel, on the beach. Highly recommend it. Eat breakfast somewhere else. Go in October. Not crowded, weather perfect, reasonable rates. Room well kept, beds comfortable. Very good experience. Go go go go go

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. The fall season
is a great time to visit the Outer Banks – warm days and cool nights, wide open beaches and off-season rates.
Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us. We will look forward to havin you stya with us again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Excellent stay at the Nags Head Inn!

We arrived very early (11 a.m.) for a 4 p.m. check in, but the front desk staff did not even hesitate. They politely took our phone number and told us they would notify the housekeepers to work on our room, noting that they would call us when the room was ready. They told us we could park and use the beach and bathrooms while we waited. AND they upgraded us from a third to a fourth floor room...even though the hotel was very full that evening. We walked, on the beach then went to lunch and the room was ready when we returned.

The room was perfect. Very clean and comfortable with everything we needed, including coffee maker, fridge, microwave and a television with Direct TV. Our view from the balcony was incredible.

Every interaction we had with hotel staff was helpful and friendly. About a mile up the road was an excellent restaurant - The Blue Moon.

This was a quick getaway for us, as we live only about 90 minutes away. We've tried a few places up and down the beach, but nothing has been as clean and comfortable and accommodating as the Nags Head Inn. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms offer the best oceanfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Nags Head Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Nags Head Inn. It does take some time to clean and make any necessary repairs to the guest rooms between guests so we cannot always accommodate a check in earlier than 4PM, but we do try our best. I am glad that it worked out for you and gave you a little extra time on your visit to the beautiful Outer Banks.
We are glad that you enjoyed your time at the Nags Head Inn and we look forward to your next visit.

Sue Hogan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nags Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nags Head Inn

Address: 4701 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nags Head Inn is the only Outer Banks hotel that features over 4 acres of pristine oceanfront, and is located in the middle of what locals affectionately refer to as, 'Old Cottage Row' in Nags Head. Nags Head Inn Oceanfront Hotel has become famous for delivering the Original Outer Banks Oceanfront Experience for nearly a quarter of a century by offering our highly valued guests honest vacation value. According to Outer Banks hotel reviews, our guests love the recent renovations on our 4 acres of beautiful oceanfront sand dunes, pristine beach, manicured Bermuda lawns and lush barrier island gardens… relaxing year round in our spa, indoor heated swimming pool or jumping into the beautiful Atlantic Ocean just outside their doors. We love making lasting memories happen and we’ve been told we're pretty good at it. It is our aim to make every guest become a repeat guest and offer you a vacation superior to other Outer Banks hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Nags Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nags Head Hotel Nags Head
Nags Head Bed Breakfast
Nag Head Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nags Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.