We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay at Nags Head, OBX, Nc” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Colony Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added First Colony Inn to your Saves list
First Colony Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   6715 South Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“A nice place to stay at Nags Head, OBX, Nc”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our stay. We got a great deal: 3 nights for the price of 2 this April. The staff were polite. Breakfast was fresh and sufficient. Afternoon tea/wine was nice to have. Beach is a couple of hundred meters and you have to cross a street but that is no big deal unless you expect this to be a beachfront place! It looks like a great place to have your wedding.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Happy that you took advantage of our April Special, always nice to get a good deal! Thank you for your comments, we appreciate it. And you are right, this is a great place to have a wedding and we host quite a few throughout the year. Please come back when you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    56
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
36
128
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Able to accomodate us last minute, also allowed us to check in early, very polite service and recommended resturants in the area. Very clean well maintained room with balcony and rocking chairs in lovely grounds with a view of the sea. The bed was comfortable but the air conditioning unit was a little noisy. Breakfast was good but finished at 9.30am which was a little early especially whilst on holiday!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Clean and comfortable, polite and friendly...always very rewarding when we see these words in a review. We want each guest to feel relaxed and to enjoy the Outer Banks while they are here. I sincerely appreciate that you took the time to post your review and next time you are on holiday I hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a historic old inn, operating as a B&B. Rooms are finished with antiques. Air conditioned, private baths. Not ocean front, but not too far away down a walkway. Full breakfast. We were there in March. Located near the outlet mall. We prefer the B&B experience to typical American style hotels, and if you do too, this place will not disappoint.

Room Tip: King mattress in room two (Roger Bailie) was pretty soft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your posts here, we appreciate that you took the time to let other visitors to this site know of your experience at First Colony Inn. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their time with us and on the Outer Banks. B&B people are a special group and we know from experience that they do read the reviews on tripadvisor, because they tell us! We hope you come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Visited over Valentines' weekend, and was able to book a room two weeks in advance. The hotel is very much a beach inn, with weathered wood exterior, simple and elegant rooms, and the ocean in the backyard. Porches surround both stories, with benches, swings, and views of the Atlantic. We missed breakfast, but it's free for anyone who stays the night, and the beds are huge, comfortable, and surrounded by nostalgia. Highly recommend, would stay again.

Room Tip: Corner room was comfortable, but without an ocean view. Second floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
It is always so rewarding to read that our guests have had a good stay with us and especially that they appreciated the character of First Colony Inn. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your visit with us. We appreciate it and know that perspective guests do as well.
We hope you will be able to come back often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I continue to return to the First Colony Inn on every visit to the Outer Banks in part, due to the wonderful nostalgic character of this historic property and also the great service and attitude of the staff! They go out of their way to make you feel special. A great way to experience the beauty of the Outer Banks! We highly recommend this Inn to anyone who is visiting and wants to enjoy a beautiful older Inn with character and better than the normal service! Truly not a typical hotel experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
What a nice way to start my day! We hope all of our guests feel exactly the same way about First Colony Inn as you do and we especially appreciate that you return to stay with us when you visit the Outer Banks. I will share this with the rest of the staff here at the inn as they enjoy hearing about guests experiences. Thank you and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocomoke City, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Spent New Year's Eve there and enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was friendly and our room was so warm and comfy. There was a Keurig in the room with an assortment of coffees and teas which suited me to a tee! Lots of special little amenities like a towel warmer really added to the charm. Breakfast was served in the dining room and included quiche, scones, nut bread and an assortment of cereals and yogurt. I didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Read the description of rooms to decide which better suits your needs. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Happy New Year! And, a big thank you for your kind review of First Colony Inn. It is so nice to hear when our guests enjoy their time here and we work very hard to make everyone feel comfortable and welcome. Please come back when you can and again, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

A very charming Bed & Breakfast. Friendly staff go out of their way to make sure you have a comfortable stay. Great location, great views, excellent food. Room was very clean, spacious and quiet. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We all sincerely appreciate your nice review here. We take what we do very seriously and our goal is that every guest at First Colony Inn feels welcome, comfortable and very relaxed when they leave. Hopefully you will come back soon.
Thank you from the innkeeper and her staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
1.9 mi away
Nags Head Inn
Nags Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#9 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,611 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
6.7 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#10 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Colony Inn

Address: 6715 South Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Colony Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience real southern hospitality at the Outer Banks' only historic B&B. A deluxe continental breakfast with a "hot" dish is served each morning. Our rooms are as individual as our guests. Each has a private bath with fluffy towels on a heated towel bar and English toiletries. Television, telephone, and refrigerator are standard in each room. Luxury rooms boast wet bars and kitchenettes, and some have Jacuzzi whirlpool tubs, sitting rooms or private screened porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your First Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Colony Inn
First Colony Hotel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Colony Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.