We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Welcoming Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Colony Inn

Save Saved
You added First Colony Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
First Colony Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   6715 South Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Welcoming Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Visited over Valentines' weekend, and was able to book a room two weeks in advance. The hotel is very much a beach inn, with weathered wood exterior, simple and elegant rooms, and the ocean in the backyard. Porches surround both stories, with benches, swings, and views of the Atlantic. We missed breakfast, but it's free for anyone who stays the night, and the beds are huge, comfortable, and surrounded by nostalgia. Highly recommend, would stay again.

Room Tip: Corner room was comfortable, but without an ocean view. Second floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
It is always so rewarding to read that our guests have had a good stay with us and especially that they appreciated the character of First Colony Inn. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your visit with us. We appreciate it and know that perspective guests do as well.
We hope you will be able to come back often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    42
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
25
93
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I continue to return to the First Colony Inn on every visit to the Outer Banks in part, due to the wonderful nostalgic character of this historic property and also the great service and attitude of the staff! They go out of their way to make you feel special. A great way to experience the beauty of the Outer Banks! We highly recommend this Inn to anyone who is visiting and wants to enjoy a beautiful older Inn with character and better than the normal service! Truly not a typical hotel experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
What a nice way to start my day! We hope all of our guests feel exactly the same way about First Colony Inn as you do and we especially appreciate that you return to stay with us when you visit the Outer Banks. I will share this with the rest of the staff here at the inn as they enjoy hearing about guests experiences. Thank you and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocomoke City, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Spent New Year's Eve there and enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was friendly and our room was so warm and comfy. There was a Keurig in the room with an assortment of coffees and teas which suited me to a tee! Lots of special little amenities like a towel warmer really added to the charm. Breakfast was served in the dining room and included quiche, scones, nut bread and an assortment of cereals and yogurt. I didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Read the description of rooms to decide which better suits your needs. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Happy New Year! And, a big thank you for your kind review of First Colony Inn. It is so nice to hear when our guests enjoy their time here and we work very hard to make everyone feel comfortable and welcome. Please come back when you can and again, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

A very charming Bed & Breakfast. Friendly staff go out of their way to make sure you have a comfortable stay. Great location, great views, excellent food. Room was very clean, spacious and quiet. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We all sincerely appreciate your nice review here. We take what we do very seriously and our goal is that every guest at First Colony Inn feels welcome, comfortable and very relaxed when they leave. Hopefully you will come back soon.
Thank you from the innkeeper and her staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed two nights for our anniversary and it was a wonderful Inn. Beautiful old Inn with all modern amenities. The breakfast was wonderful and they staff is very friendly and wanted to make sure that we had a great stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
A belated Happy Anniversary and a Thank You for your nice comments about First Colony Inn in Nags Head. We always like to hear from our guests that they enjoyed their time with us and that you found us friendly and helpful. Please do come back again just as soon as you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This historic inn is a beautiful old property that was built in the "Old Nags Head" style, with shingle siding and wide porches. We were told that it was originally located on the beach, but, because of beach erosion due to storms, it was moved to a safer area across the road. The room was comfortable and nicely furnished, with many amenities, including refrigerator, coffee pot, TV, luggage rack and writing desk. In the bathroom were comfortable robes, a towel warming rack, and a variety of toiletries. A generous breakfast buffet was offered each morning, and tea and wine were served during an afternoon social hour. We found the staff to be pleasant and accommodating, even when it was necessary for us to make changes in arrival and departure dates. We will certainly stay at First Colony again on our next visit to the Outer Banks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Oh my goodness...thank you so much. We enjoy hearing from our guests and it makes us feel very good to know that enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope you will come back and stay with us again. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This b&b is convenient to everything. Chris was the person at the front desk. He was very friendly, pleasant and helpful. He made a reservation for dinner at a local restaurant that he recommended. It was a great restaurant. We walked out to the beach and down to Jennette's Pier. The b&b has a small boardwalk that goes directly to the beach for guests. The room was nice and clean. The bed was comfortable and furnished with a TV, a small refrigerator and a coffee maker. There was a generous supply of toiletries. Breakfast was very good. This place is a very good value for what they make available to guests. We would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
When I read these posts I always hope to see the words "clean" and "comfortable" and "friendly" and you wrote about all three! Chris is one of the reasons that First Colony Inn is such a special place, and I will make sure he sees your post. Thank you for the comments and helpful information you included for others. We hope you are able to come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to First Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Colony Inn

Address: 6715 South Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — First Colony Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience real southern hospitality at the Outer Banks' only historic B&B. A deluxe continental breakfast with a "hot" dish is served each morning. Our rooms are as individual as our guests. Each has a private bath with fluffy towels on a heated towel bar and English toiletries. Television, telephone, and refrigerator are standard in each room. Luxury rooms boast wet bars and kitchenettes, and some have Jacuzzi whirlpool tubs, sitting rooms or private screened porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your First Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Colony Hotel Nags Head
1st Colony Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Colony Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.