We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A combination of a bed and breakfast/hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added First Colony Inn to your Saves list
First Colony Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   6715 South Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
December Special
Ranked #3 of 6 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Severn, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A combination of a bed and breakfast/hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was my first trip to Nags Head, NC in about twenty years. There are three levels to this Inn and since we were rather late in booking, we had the third floor which we had to climb to get to our room. The rooms were very clean, the people were absolutely delightful and the breakfast in the morning was delicious. They took into consideration every ones dietary needs.

We will definitely go back but not stay on the third floor. Closet space was very limited in that particular room. You are a half block from the beach. They supply beach towels, chairs for their guests. There is also an wonderful pool outside.

Room Tip: Third floor room has limited closet space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We appreciate your review here. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with other readers. We work very hard to make our guests feel welcome here and are happy to go the extra mile to make everyone comfortable while they are at First Colony Inn. I am glad to hear you will be coming back! The Outer Banks is lovely in the fall and spring too so perhaps you will have a chance to visit when it is a little slower paced here. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    50
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
29
107
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mount, NC
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

It was a perfect weekend. A cool front came through and the temperatures were in the low 80's with low humidity. Of course the Inn had nothing to do with the weather but it certainly made the stay perfect. Our room was a mix of antiques and modern conveniences with a small kitchen area. The refrigerator was too small but we had brought a cooler for our lunches so we were able to make do. We didn't need the TV and that was a good thing because it was almost as dated as the antiques, in electronic age that is. The Inn had chairs and umbrellas to use on the beach, a tea and wine time in the afternoons, and the most awesome breakfast ever! There was a nice paved walking path to use for morning walks or runs whichever you prefer. We walked across the highway one night for dinner at Pamlico Jack's and then dessert at DQ that was located beside the restaurant. The staff was very helpful and nice. We hope to go back this fall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Perfect weekend...what a nice way to start a review. One of the best parts of my job is reading all the reviews, (even the occasional ones that are not so good) so I can share with the staff and help us hopefully make each guests stay better. We also like Pamlico Jack's restaurant and I hope you were able to catch an Outer Banks sunset from there...they are spectacular. You mention that you hope to come back this fall and we certainly hope you are able to do so. That is probably my favorite time on the Outer Banks. Much slower pace and the weather is just wonderful. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

After traveling the NC OuterBanks for a week from Beaufort to Ocracoke to Manteo, we decided to make our final destination Nags Head, since it was not too far of a drive from Duck, Corolla, etc.
The First Colony Inn was highly recommended, and even though the price tag was a little high because we were staying for the 4th weekend, it was well worth it.

We arrived around 5PM after touring the Currituck Lighthouse and the inn keeper (I think his name was Chris) welcomed us and offered us wine and dessert as part of their afternoon social, even though the social technically ends at 5:00. He also chatted with us and asked us where we planned to have dinner that night. When we told him that we didn't know yet, he asked us what kind of dinner we wanted and called up a place that he knew of that was REALLY good and made us reservations or 7:00PM. :)

The room was a very nice size and so adorable. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom, while small, had a very nice shower and heated towel rack.

The Inn has a private beach access across the street and plenty of porches to sit on to enjoy the view of the beach or the sound...depending on the side.

Breakfast was very good, with eggs and another hot dish...plus cereals, pastries, fruit, etc. The coffee was fresh and their was an assortment of juices.

If you can splurge a little, definitely stay here on Nags Head. It's a treat!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different. Our room was on the third floor (there are no elevators) and had a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
It is always nice to hear compliments about one of the staff at First Colony Inn and I appreciate that you mentioned Chris in your comments since he takes his job very seriously and truly wants each guest to feel special and welcome at the inn. I am also glad that you said First Colony Inn came highly recommended since word of mouth is still the best advertisement there is. We are always happy to read such positive reviews...it makes us feel good to know we have provided a nice place to stay and made our guests feel comfortable. Please come back...often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We just left and I can't wait to go back!! The hotel is lovely...very clean and the staff is incredibly friendly & helpful. Our room (nicholas johnson room) was spacious and well appointed...the fridge ended up freezing everything but it wasn't a big deal. The grounds are gorgeous and the pool was heavenly. The private beach access is across the street from the back of the property...we preferred that to being directly on the beach. We highly recommend this hotel...can't wait to plan another stay!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Please do come back...as often as you can! Your review made my day and I sincerely appreciate that you shared your experience with other Trip Advisor readers. We want every guest to be as satisfied as you were and your kind words are hopefully very helpful to others on this site. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We came to Nags Head for a wedding at the Elizabethan Gardens - all the way from England. First Colony is a wonderful place and so relaxing that we stayed an extra night. The staff are great and very helpful. The 'afternoon tea' [3.30 to 5.30] is a wonderful idea - tea, coffee, soft drinks, wine, desserts and some savory nibbles - all part of the price!
Having said that, the rooms are quite expensive.......

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Relaxing is certainly one of the adjectives we hope our guests use while they are at First Colony Inn. Seeing as you came "from across the pond" I am happy to hear you had such an enjoyable time that you stayed a bit longer. If you are back in states anytime please keep us in mind and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband & I stayed at the Inn 5/22-5/24 2013. The room was cute & clean but the bed was uncomfortable. The mattress could use replacing The other complaint I had was replacement towels were not left & the empty tissue box was not refilled. Also the faucet in the bathroom leaked.The best part of our stay was the friendliness of the staff. The grounds were nice & I loved the access to the beach. Breakfast was average.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on the south side. It has a nice view of the side yard & bird house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
First of all thank you for staying with us. And although it is not pleasant to hear that you had some issues we need to know about this so we can make it better. I do appreciate the compliments on the friendliness...that is very important to us. We do read each review posted and do our best to correct any problem areas. I sincerely hope you come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I were traveling around the Outer Banks, and decided to try out this hotel. We were just thrilled with our visit, and the people were so very nice! We learned that it is a historic bed and breakfast, and is actually on the National Register of Historic Places.
We had arrived after the daily "Happy Hour" where the hotel puts out wine and snacks for the guests to enjoy on the porch. I asked if maybe we could get a bit and they were so accomodating, allowing us to partake of the goodies. We did not feel rushed at all. The hotel is located just a short distance from the beach where we were able to take a romantic walk at sunset. The rooms are quiet and very charming in their decor. And the views from the third floor where we stayed were amazing. There are wonderful swings and rocking chairs on the porches.The breakfast was good - it is included in the cost of the room. If there was a drawback it was that we had to carry our bags up three flights of stairs to get to our room. There is an outdoor pool but it was closed at the time of our visit, and it was really too cool to swim. I would definitely go back for another visit, and stay longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Well, any review that starts off with Relaxing and Romantic is going to make me smile. And yours did. We know that many people read reviews when making a decision on where to stay so thank you for taking the time to share your experience at First Colony Inn. We like what we do and we think that comes through in the way we treat our guests. Please do come back and stay longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to First Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Colony Inn

Address: 6715 South Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — First Colony Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience real southern hospitality at the Outer Banks' only historic B&B. A deluxe continental breakfast with a "hot" dish is served each morning. Our rooms are as individual as our guests. Each has a private bath with fluffy towels on a heated towel bar and English toiletries. Television, telephone, and refrigerator are standard in each room. Luxury rooms boast wet bars and kitchenettes, and some have Jacuzzi whirlpool tubs, sitting rooms or private screened porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your First Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Colony Inn
First Colony Hotel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Colony Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.