We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First Colony Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added First Colony Inn to your Saves list
First Colony Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   6715 South Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
December Special
Ranked #3 of 6 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Branford, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Super Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband & I stayed at the Inn 5/22-5/24 2013. The room was cute & clean but the bed was uncomfortable. The mattress could use replacing The other complaint I had was replacement towels were not left & the empty tissue box was not refilled. Also the faucet in the bathroom leaked.The best part of our stay was the friendliness of the staff. The grounds were nice & I loved the access to the beach. Breakfast was average.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on the south side. It has a nice view of the side yard & bird house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
First of all thank you for staying with us. And although it is not pleasant to hear that you had some issues we need to know about this so we can make it better. I do appreciate the compliments on the friendliness...that is very important to us. We do read each review posted and do our best to correct any problem areas. I sincerely hope you come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    50
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
29
107
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I were traveling around the Outer Banks, and decided to try out this hotel. We were just thrilled with our visit, and the people were so very nice! We learned that it is a historic bed and breakfast, and is actually on the National Register of Historic Places.
We had arrived after the daily "Happy Hour" where the hotel puts out wine and snacks for the guests to enjoy on the porch. I asked if maybe we could get a bit and they were so accomodating, allowing us to partake of the goodies. We did not feel rushed at all. The hotel is located just a short distance from the beach where we were able to take a romantic walk at sunset. The rooms are quiet and very charming in their decor. And the views from the third floor where we stayed were amazing. There are wonderful swings and rocking chairs on the porches.The breakfast was good - it is included in the cost of the room. If there was a drawback it was that we had to carry our bags up three flights of stairs to get to our room. There is an outdoor pool but it was closed at the time of our visit, and it was really too cool to swim. I would definitely go back for another visit, and stay longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Well, any review that starts off with Relaxing and Romantic is going to make me smile. And yours did. We know that many people read reviews when making a decision on where to stay so thank you for taking the time to share your experience at First Colony Inn. We like what we do and we think that comes through in the way we treat our guests. Please do come back and stay longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is our 2nd stay at 1st Colony. We stayed with our 4 year old and 6 month old. It was great. It was off season so the prices were low and it was pretty quiet. We were only able to stay one night since a big wedding was booked the next night, but that was fine because we were able to visit the beach both days. The rooms were immaculate, the staff was great, the wine and afternoon snack was nice, and the atmosphere was wonderful. This is not a place for partying and most of the visitors I've seen are snowbirds or couples getting away for a quiet weekend. It's got a great relaxed vibe. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We truly enjoy hearing from our guests and especially love hearing that you have stayed with us before. Off season is such a wonderful time to experience the Outer Banks and you are right in saying that this is not a "place for partying". Our hope for our guests is that they leave relaxed and refreshed. Thank you for returning to First Colony Inn and we hope you come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

For a bed and breakfast, we found it to be charming and very clean. Two glaring weaknesses keep us from recommending it to friends. Beds are in need of replacement. They're so soft we ended up with backaches after each of the three nights we stayed. The other item that needs work is breakfast. There are not adequate places to sit if the inn is even half full and the food that was supposed to be hot, wasn't. Most motels serve a better breakfast. A B & B ought to be outstanding in both attributes. Sadly, First Colony Inn failed on both. In addition, the fixtures in the bathroom leaked, wasting valuable water. Surely the maid is responsible for reporting this. That's Room #5 if the management reads this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
I regret that your stay was not satisfactory. We are replacing the mattresses this fall...and I will take your comments about breakfast into consideration. While it is not always easy to read reviews like this we do so with the goal of improving in areas where we missed the mark. I hope you will consider coming back and giving us another chance. Thank you for staying with us and for letting me know of your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Hubby and I planned a few days down at OBX, and liked the look of First Colony. The building is really old, the floors do creak, but rooms are large and breezes abound. Breakfast is self served each morning, w/a variety of cold and hot dishes. We haven't been around for afternoon happy hour so can't comment on that. We had hoped the pool would be open as the ocean was too cold for a dip, but it wasn't. Staff was most pleasant. Great central location for exploring OBX.

Room Tip: Corner rooms go fast. We opted for first floor so we didn't have to carry luggage upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I apologize for the late response to your review here. I must missed it but did want to thank you for letting other readers know about your stay at First Colony Inn. You will hopefully come back when it is a little warmer and our pool is open. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the First Colony Inn. We stayed in room #15 (Jane Jones). The room was very large, clean, and comfortable. We took in their happy hour both days which we enjoyed. The only thing we were just a little disappointed with when compared to the B&B we stayed at the previous night was the breakfast. The amount of choices was great and plentiful (fruit, cereal, bagels/toast, and hot items such as quiche, eggs, bacon, sausage, etc). However we were pretty underwhelmed with the hot items as they were very "instant" and not fresh. Had a great stay! It was my birthday while we were their and my fiancé worked with them to surprise me with a birthday cake when we returned from our outing. The service was top notch!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your birthday getaway! I was in on the cake surprise... we can provide all sorts of goodies with a little lead time. Sometimes people even call and give us an order over the phone to surprise a friend or relative staying with us....
We sort of walk that fine line between "Inn" and "B&B", so sometimes we do take shortcuts in the kitchen because we're serving more guests than a typical B&B. We are happy to rustle something else up if the breakfast we're serving isn't what you had in mind.
Please come again anytime.

Best Regards,
Sarah Close
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a lovely charming hotel with very nice people. My room was large and comfortable. I did have a little trouble adjusting the heat, but it was me and the odd hours we were up during a photo workshop. The breakfast was a real one, with lots of choices and quality food. Even better - one morning when I missed breakfast, they got a bagel and cream cheese from the kitchen for me and let me eat in the dining room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Well we do aim to please! We are happy to help you grab a quick bite if you've missed out, or sign for a package if you need to have on delivered. Whatever we can do to help make your stay more pleasant, we're on it. We've even been know to carry a PB&J or two across the street for a little ones...
Hope you also enjoyed the photography workshop as well~

Sarah Close
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Colony Inn

Address: 6715 South Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — First Colony Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience real southern hospitality at the Outer Banks' only historic B&B. A deluxe continental breakfast with a "hot" dish is served each morning. Our rooms are as individual as our guests. Each has a private bath with fluffy towels on a heated towel bar and English toiletries. Television, telephone, and refrigerator are standard in each room. Luxury rooms boast wet bars and kitchenettes, and some have Jacuzzi whirlpool tubs, sitting rooms or private screened porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your First Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Colony Inn
First Colony Hotel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Colony Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.