We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dunes South to your Saves list
Dunes South
8643 Old Oregon Inlet Road, Nags Head, NC   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a week at Dunes South and enjoyed our stay very much.
The unit(306) was spacious and clean. I think these units are heavily used which accounts for the carpeting being less then ideal.
For us the important aspects were the proximity to the beach and they very friendly guests staying in the other units. Also that the property is dog friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I went last September, and will go again this September. This place is affordable, comfortable, down-to-earth people, very friendly. All items needed to eat and clean are in the kitchen or small closet, the stack-washer-dryer worked great, the bathrooms were in good condition. The parking is adequate, there is a nice tennis court. There is a small outdoor shower and hose to clean up / spray off chairs etc, plus a lockable closet on the ground floor.

The location is superior, far away enough to be peaceful, but not so far down the road to be annoying. If you bring your bicycle you will love this. If you are a hardcore walker, jogger, runner, this is a perfect location also. Try to avoid middle of the day though, as you will likely get dehydrated and sunburn. It's close enough to see all the lighthouses south to Hatteras, and Rodanthe / Waves for Kite Surfing / water sports. Surfing lessons available all over, please note, some of the most dangerous rip currents in the world. If you plan on swimming in the ocean you should be a very good swimmer. I did not see any lifeguards. (If you get a chance stop by WRV (Wave Riding Vehicles) in Kitty Hawk. This is the best surf shop in the world and my favorite place to get clothes, nothing else comes close)

Sometimes they have roped-off areas on the beach for hatching turtles. Do not disturb these. The turtle-nest-babysitting at night was one of the best experiences I've ever had, and I've traveled to Italy and other exotic locations and I have to say, paradoxically, this was an even better vacation, but, I'm not a materialistic person who constantly needs to be "entertained". If you have spoiled children, they could get bored here. Nothing a bit of good discipline and family values can't fix though. Throw your I-phones and TV's away. Get enlightened. Reconnect with Nature. Reconnect with the sky, stars and universe, this is possible at this edge-of-the-ocean place. Now I know why my other family members have been coming to Nags Head for years. May you find peace of mind and heart-enlightenment. Hope you have a great vacation too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutville, Virginia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have been owners at Dunes South since 1979, and we own three weeks in unit 312, which is right on the beach. We have one summer week and two weeks at Christmas. Although it's nice to come in the summer, we prefer the winter weeks at the beach to just get away and relax. Most winters are still warm enough to walk on the beach and enjoy watching the waves roll in from the third floor living area deck, or the second floor master bedroom deck. The unit has 3 bedrooms and a loft, and is equipped with everything we need for cooking in and saving money. Management does have to replace items frequently because some people take things when they leave.
Our last visit was in the summer of 2012. We were excited to see that the city of Nags Head had increased the size of the beach and refurbished the dune line. However, we were disappointed that the pool had been taken out after the prior year hurricane had damaged both the pool and the gazebo. Owners will be voting on relocating the pool in 2013. Hopefully, it will be an enclosed pool, since owners and visitors were not able to use the pool except during the summer months.
Although there are not planned activities at the resort, there is no lack of activities in the area. We look forward to trying out new restaurants, especially those specializing in seafood. We can't get fresh seafood inland, so that's usually our eating out treat while visiting the Outer Banks. A must for seafood is Fisherman's Wharf in Manteo - a bit hard to find, but wonderful seafood! If you're adventurous, wind sailing off the dunes is a great experience. There is a fishing pier very near the resort for the fishing enthusiast. Also, the Wright Brother's Museum is a must see for the history buff. During the summer months, there is an outdoor play at Roanoke Island. Other sporting attractions in the area include: minature golfing, go cart racing, and arcade games. Be adventurous and visit the lighthouse or visit the less populated beaches and you might even spot wild horses.
I do relate to one comment about the unit, the furniture is in need of updating. Our unit had a mismatched group of furniture during the 2012 visit, but they were at least comfortable. Also, the twin bed matresses had been replaced from the previous visit. The queen and double beds appear to have been replaced as well, and a double bed was set up in the loft, which had previously had only a matress on the floor. So we all slept well, even if the furniture was dated in the living and dining areas. One thing I can compliment about the management, is that the unit has always been clean, and when we've had any problem, they were quick to respond.
So if you're looking for new furnishings and plush carpeting, you probably shouldn't choose the Outter Banks. But, if you are a beach lover and want to experience the great outdoors in a very relaxing setting, then Dunes South is the place for you. We are the only timeshare resort in Nags Head, so the beaches are not normally as crowded.

Room Tip: Units 311, 312, 313, 314 are all 3 BR/Lift and right on the beach. All are duplex units, so very li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, NJ, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I rented unit 308 the week before so I was a little apprehensive but it turned out to be a very nice unit only about 40 yards to the beach. The unit was clean and well supplied. It had two bedrooms, two bath, and a jacuzzi in the master bathroom. The master bedroom had a TV with cable which was another surprise because we were told there was only one TV in the LR. We we able to get wifi in the unit even though the management lowered our expectations (which was good because they couldn't guarantee we would be able to get it). The signal strength was low but i was still able to surf the internet with little problem. Only slight negative was the kitchen was a little cramped so only one cook in this kitchen. I prefer to stay further north around MP 4 or 5 but if you're ok staying further south this is not a bad option, especially last minute.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We just returned from a week long stay at Dunes South. We had stayed here 2 years ago and had a better experience but this time we actually left a day early because the furniture and beds were so totally uncomfortable we couldn't stand it another day.
Pro's: Close to the beach. Close to fishing pier and awesome Fishheads Bar that features free live nightly entertainment and 10 cent shrimp. Relatively inexpensive in comparison with some rentals. Lovely sidewalk along the beach road for riding bikes, walking or jogging. All linens are provided, dish and laundry detergent, even toilet paper, trash bags and a roll of paper towels. Management for very responsive and quickly had a broken appliance repaired.
Con's: Security- don't leave anything outside your unit even for a minute. My husbands bike was outside the door for less than 30 minutes and it was stolen. Units are in disrepair. Water stains on the walls and ceilings, broken deck furniture, boards falling off the deck. Furnishings are old and very uncomfortable. We stayed in unit 301 and the living room furniture was a couch, loveseat and chair all were crate furniture. Sturdy but very uncomfortable and the upholstery had some holes in it. The mattresses on the beds were very uncomfortable. The kitchen was very sparsely supplied. Only 1 glass baking dish. Sufficient china, glasses and silverware. Most of the mixing bowls seemed like things you would buy at the dollar store. Owners could bring their pets but renters can't. The people staying next door had 2 giant dogs that barked frequently. The walls between units are thin and we were constantly hearing them opening and closing the sliding door, dogs barking and what sounded like playing indoor basketball next door.
Overall if you have low expectations you'll probably really love Dunes South. No more crate furniture for me.

Room Tip: Plan on bringing any type of kitchen tools you think you might use with you or else you might have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We exchanged on our timeshare for a week. Great beach front. We stayed in condo 323. The condo had some updates but could use some updates in the kitchen. Overall the charm grew on us for our first visit to Nags Head.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We are still staying in unit 306, one house off the beach but great views and large space. We have three bedrooms and a double bed in the loft, so really 4 bedrooms total. The decks are great, the area is nice and the beach is perfect. Having three baths is also nice. We exchanged using RCI, we have stayed in nicer places but considering it is spring break and we found a place large enough for 3 teenage boys and 3 adults we can't complain. Now some cons, but I am not whining, I just found out the boys don't have pillow cases, of course they don't say anything. Also the furniture is basic, but functional, the beds are what you expect, bring Advil and the kitchen is well stocked, but with worn out pans etc, bring Pam. This is place where you make your own fun, like the old fashioned vacations. We enjoyed walking the beach in the morning, hanging out playing bags and having some cocktails. The Nags Head Pier is an easy walk to fish from, they also have a nice little bar and ten cent shrimp. Once again, not a fancy place, very basic, but not bad for a large group, it is hard to find a large property to exchange for like this. I would return here again if nothing else was available to exchange for, I would like to find a newer unit, but this place had all we needed and we had a good time in OBX, we will leave with good memories.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunes South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes South

Address: 8643 Old Oregon Inlet Road, Nags Head, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Dunes South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes South Hotel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.