We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the price for a stay at the beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Islander Motel
7001 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Nags Head
Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Can't beat the price for a stay at the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Islander Motel. The motel was close to Manteo/Roanoke Island, Highway 12 going to Hatteras, and Tanger Outlet mall. As others have stated, the motel is an older establishment, but it is very well maintained. When I made the reservation, I was somewhat skeptical about what type of room we would get when we arrived. The rate was only $86 per night for an oceanfront room, and the room was much nicer than we anticipated. The landscaping is immaculate with picnic tables and grills, and a small pool area. The mattress on the bed was very comfortable, and we slept great. The bathroom was small, but very clean. We stayed in room 207, and the view was fabulous. You could actually see the ocean from the bed which isn't something you can do at the larger motels. We could open the door to the balcony and listen to the sound of the waves. Before traveling to Nags Head, I reviewed the motels in the area extensively and even called a few of them. When I called the Islander, the staff was very friendly. The Islander only had an efficiency available for the first night of our stay, but they accomodated us by moving us to an oceanfront room for the next three nights. We had gone out to breakfast the following morning, and when we got back to the motel, the housekeeping staff had our oceanfront room ready and had even moved our luggage to the room. If you prefer a more modern motel, then this place is not for you, but if you just want a relaxing time at the beach, then I would highly recommend the Islander. We saved a lot of money that we were able to spend on other things.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

Stayed three nights in late May. I am writing this post on our last night of the stay from my laptop as the motel offers free wireless. This is a quaint motel, write on the beach. It is an older motel that has three floors. We are staying on the third floor. The view of the beach is good but not great. If you want the great view then you need to be in the other section of the motel with either room numbers 206, 207, 208 or 306, 307, 308. The balconies aren't the type you would spend a lot of time on so the view we have is adequate. The grounds have picnic tables, charcoal burning grills, a small pool that we didn't use, and a private walkway to the beach. The grounds are maintained nicely and look inviting. The room we have has two double beds, a small desk to work at if need be, a small refrigerator, a coffee pot with coffee, another small round table with two non-reclining chairs. The entry way is tile and changes to carpet as you enter to where the beds are. This is good because we can keep the sand that is tracked in, into that area. The bathroom is small and outdated but relatively clean. The beds are very comfortable. It feels like the mattress has a pillow top. The rooms are dated but for $86 a night with this location to the beach, it can't be beat. Our three nights were also very quiet. I was not awakened by any noises and slept til 9:30a.m on Sunday. It is walking distance to the tanger outlets, but crossing over hwy. 12 could be dangerous. There is a wings gift shop outlet within walking distance along with restaurants for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It is on the south end of Nags Head and less than a mile from Hwy. 64. If you want to stay in the Nags Head, Kill Devil Hills, Kitty Hawk area but want to visit Hatteras or Okracoke, then this is the place to be. If you are used to staying at Ritz-Carltons, then this is probably not for you. If you want a place to stay that is clean or at least makes you feel like it is clean but don't want to break the bank so that you can spend your money on other things besides where you are resting your head, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maryland
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

Stayed the weekend and was not impressed with the place. We had issues with bugs and the front desk personnel could have been friendlier. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this place to a friend.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

People at the front desk were just wonderful-- I'm thinking it was a family run motel. The swimming pool: It was nice and the size was fairly big for a motel. The bedrooms: it felt like we were sleeping on a cloud. Very comfortable. Pillows were soft as well. TV and small fridge worked. We were only given soap. No shampoo or conditioner. Bathrooms were okay--small, but it seemed clean. We could hear the ocean as all rooms face the beach.

  • Liked — Convenient location - Great price
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything we didn't like.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

The Islander Motel is an old place. But it is well located in Nags Head directly on the beach with a large parking lot and a friendly staff. Their rates are excellent for that kind of place and the room, despite is old furniture and shower was really clean, and the fridge kept cold my beer! We got all the comfort we needed to stay for a short period. They have a small pool aside the building and lots of chairs to relax under the sun. Our final advice is if youre going to the OBX for many days try to find a better place. But if the beach is your only concern and so is your budget, don't worry, there is worst places.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Motel

Address: 7001 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Islander Motel to your Saves list