We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great laid back relaxing motel right on the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Islander Motel
Save
You added Islander Motel to your Saves list
7001 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great laid back relaxing motel right on the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Loved this place. Wonderful staff! All very helpful. Nice pool. Easy to find on route 12 at MP 16. Beautiful relaxing grounds. Steps from ocean. Great value. Only one thing missing....a bar! Grills. Swings. Very very close to restaurants and shops. Would go back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    29
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

this is the first time we have been to obx but there will be many more to come.We stayed four nights at the hotel it was clean beachfront and in the most perfect spot in nags head mile mark 16.This hotel is not new and rooms are somewhat dated it is not the Hilton but it is just the perfect place to stay when traveling to obx the front desk help was perfect helped with any questions you had.Right down the street from the dunes and 10 steps to the ocean.Make sure to skip making breakfast in the hotel room kitchen one day and go to bobs grill it is simply the best breakfast you will ever have

Room Tip: Room 107 steps to the beach ground level and kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Our first family trip to the Outer Banks, we chose The Islander motel. We visited last month. We stayed on the 3rd floor. Room was very clean. Bathroom was smaller than I like, but clean. Mini fridge kept things cold. Wifi was slow at times. We originally only booked for 3 nights, but enjoyed our stay so much we stayed a 4th night. Maid service was great. When we returned each day, room was spotless and always plenty of towels and clean sheets. Literally just steps from the beautiful ocean. Only negative thing was our balcony door was really tricky...the lock acted up a few times. Beautiful landscaping. We had a great time and we will definately stay here again next summer!

Room Tip: For the best view, get a 3rd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Pros:
- Service was outstanding! The owner was very helpful, helped us with our bags, gave us some pointers and was just downright super-friendly. We felt very well-taken care of.
- Our 3rd floor room was clean, pretty spacious for one with 2 beds, and we had a nice view of the ocean. It's always nice to wake up to that kind of a sight.
- They have a private beach entrance, which doesn't involve walking in zig-zags.
- The outdoor pool is clean, plenty of seating on the deck, as well as some pool noodles and a beach ball.
- There's a space to have an outdoor barbeque and sit at a table, although I never used it.
- The value of the place, in my opinion, is excellent. You won't get an oceanfront room at Nags Head for this price with all the amenities, the cleanliness, and the outstanding service!

Cons:
- The TV was a bit small, and there were some issues with the channels once in a while.
- The pool is also a bit small. We went when a family of about 6-7 people were also there, and it felt like we were invading their private party. There's not much room to frolic in the pool when another group is also there.

Overall:
If you're looking for a quality oceanfront stay, definitely consider the Islander Motel. I would highly recommend it.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

After doing much research on line I picked the Islander for it's price and location - reasonably priced, on the beach and "mid-banks". The motel was home base for our trips north to Corolla and south to Cape Hatteras. We were very pleased with our room, the housekeeping and the staff. Lovely grounds, in-room coffee, micro-wave and fridge. I highly recommend the Islander Motel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmville, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have never stayed at the Islander Motel before- to be honest we always stayed at The Tar Heel across the street. However, after not being able to get a room there we decided to check it out. We were not disappointed. The room spotless! The housekeeping staff there is amazing. The cleanest room we have ever had on the island. We were staying on the first floor and you couldn't hear a peep from above or on either side of us. Beautiful landscaping and great beach access. Nice pool with plenty of chairs and umbrellas. We had an efficiency and it was well stocked with pots, pans, utensils, etc. The bathroom was recently updated and had a detachable shower head which made it very helpful in bathing our disabled child. Awesome bath towels as well. On site washer and dryer! Awesome with three kids. We enjoyed our stay so much that we decided to splurge on an extra night. Great location too..Forget Jeanette's Pier- the Outer Banks Fishing Pier is a short drive and a whole lot better! If you are a pretentious yuppie this place is not for you. It has that old beach motel feel too it and it probably won't be good enough for them. We will be back.

Room Tip: Upper floors have ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We just spent a very enjoyable 5 days at The islander, and as it was our first stay there, I wanted to post a review. We own a property in South Nags Head and rent it out during the full season. We always like to do a "mid-season check" on our house to make sure nothing is broken and that it is being well cared for by the property management company.

We have stayed at a couple of different hotels in Nags Head but will definitely be returning to the Islander. It has the perfect oceanfront location, a pool, landscaped gardens, BBQ locations with picnic tables, Hatteras Island two-seater swings under the shade, spotlessly clean and owners who make you feel very welcome.

The rooms on the first floor are efficiencies and the 2nd and 3rd floor rooms all have a microwave, coffee maker, coffee, a small refrigerator and the balconies overlook the ocean. Decor is a little dated but if that is important to you, then I suppose you have the option of spending $250+ per night at one of the larger hotels. Most important for us was the fact that the beds were very comfortable and once again, the room was spotlessly clean.

I saw a review criticizing the fact that the air conditioner vents onto the balcony but we were not bothered by that at all. I suppose if we were, all we would have to do is turn it off and then back on again when we went back inside. A small issue considering the affordability of this hotel!

I think it is a hidden gem on the beach road and as soon as we know our dates for 2015, we will be making our reservations!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.2 mi away
Nags Head Inn
Nags Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#2 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
9.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#2 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
8.0 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Motel

Address: 7001 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.