We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July break at the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Islander Motel
Save
You added Islander Motel to your Saves list
7001 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“July break at the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We just spent a very enjoyable 5 days at The islander, and as it was our first stay there, I wanted to post a review. We own a property in South Nags Head and rent it out during the full season. We always like to do a "mid-season check" on our house to make sure nothing is broken and that it is being well cared for by the property management company.

We have stayed at a couple of different hotels in Nags Head but will definitely be returning to the Islander. It has the perfect oceanfront location, a pool, landscaped gardens, BBQ locations with picnic tables, Hatteras Island two-seater swings under the shade, spotlessly clean and owners who make you feel very welcome.

The rooms on the first floor are efficiencies and the 2nd and 3rd floor rooms all have a microwave, coffee maker, coffee, a small refrigerator and the balconies overlook the ocean. Decor is a little dated but if that is important to you, then I suppose you have the option of spending $250+ per night at one of the larger hotels. Most important for us was the fact that the beds were very comfortable and once again, the room was spotlessly clean.

I saw a review criticizing the fact that the air conditioner vents onto the balcony but we were not bothered by that at all. I suppose if we were, all we would have to do is turn it off and then back on again when we went back inside. A small issue considering the affordability of this hotel!

I think it is a hidden gem on the beach road and as soon as we know our dates for 2015, we will be making our reservations!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    25
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Selinsgrove
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Chose this motel after searching and calling everyone on the outer banks. We were so pleasantly surprised. This motel is the PERFECT location. Our room overlooked the ocean. Was so wonderful to see the sunrise and sunset right from our balcony. The Islander has everything you need. Beach access right outside your room, heated pool, ice machine, wonderful staff, clean rooms, and tables outside to sit and relax. I have stayed at other motels here at the obx, and I was very impressed with this one. You just cannot beat the location for the price, and we like the easy access we had right to other attractions from that location. Just a hop skip and a jump to Roanoke Island, Bodie Lighthouse , and Pea Island. Loved our stay, and cannot wait to come Back!

Room Tip: Ocean view 2nd floor or 3rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We were in the off season so got an unbelievable price. We were so impressed with the room size, fridge, microwave, free wifi, heated pool and beach access. This place is nothing fancy, lacks indoor hallways and electronic keys...things I'm more accustom to...but it MORE than met our needs and we completely enjoyed our stay. If we are ever back in the Outer Banks we will stay at the Islander Motel for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed regularly for 20+ years. Wonderful staff, well-maintained rooms. Great ocean-front location. Nice, clean pool. Not luxury, but good value.Small and cozy.Pretty gardens.Always stay in same room,first floor, ocean-front with easy beach access.Good for a short 5 day stay. Will go again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was disappointed in Motel which I thought was run down & smelled of bug spray. Had planned on staying longer but didn't find Kitty Hawk much to my liking, a little too much like Myrtle Beach. Happily front desk refunded our money with no hassle. Very nice beach at motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our family went to the Outer Banks/Nags Head earlier this month. We stayed at the Islander for 4 days and loved it. It had all the features of staying in a house (we had a room with a kitchen), but the towels and sheets were changed out everyday. It was perfect. The room was slightly dated, but beachy. It was also very clean, I felt comfortable letting our 1-year-old loose on the floor. It's also in a great location. It's within walking distance to numerous restaurants, market, etc., and right on the beach. Our room had a front and a rear door, which was very handy.

We also loved the pool and swings outside. It was a very relaxing and comfortable stay. I wish there were more motels like this one. There's nothing I would change about this place. We will be back in a year or two.

Room Tip: If you're on the lower floors, does not matter if you're facing ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Islander Motel is a very peaceful and relaxing location. The rooms are very clean, the staff is great and the view of the ocean spectacular. If you just need to get away to unwind, this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Motel

Address: 7001 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.