We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, from the service to the room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Islander Motel
7001 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Nags Head
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous, from the service to the room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience at The Islander... After a horrible at a place rigt down the street. We called to see d they had a room after 9 and they were still open and happy to help us. We got out room key and we were talking about dinner, the lady at the front called and asked about places that would be open for dinner so late. She wet above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. The room was very nice, clean and quiet. We will be visiting this place again soon. Very please all the way around! A great place to stay!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

So I wanted to find a hotel on the beach, but we were on a budget. I wanted a clean decent room with a kitchenette so I could cook & eat cheap. I came acrossed the islander & the price was great! 100 bucks a night with a pool, and a beachfront room! I was excited, but a little nervous. I saw some pictures prior to booking, but I still didn't know what to expect. When I got there I was very very pleased! The kitchenettes are on the ground floor. I already knew that, and you can't see the ocean from there because of the sand dunes. Two days into our trip I realized we hadn't even used the stove, because we had been grilling out. I realized I'd rather have the view from the 3rd floor. I called the front desk & asked if we could move up since it was the same price. They gladly switched our room & acommodated our request. The third floor has a fridge and a microwave, but not dishes. Since we didn't have any silverware, bowls, or plates they offered to let us use they're dishes upstairs. They even brought them up to us by stairs!! The grounds of the hotel is awesome! Beautiful flowers, a hammock swing, heavy duty wooden picnic areas, grills, great walkway right to the beach, beautiful & clean pool. Eugene, the groundskeeper is awesome! He works hard and is great to chat with. He even gave us a half a bag of charcoal! Housekeepers are great too. They talked to us, and always asked if we needed anything. I saw the housekeepers cleaning. They bleach the tubs, and clean everything professionally. The one thing i didnt like was the ground floor musky smell. It must be the fact that it's on the bottom & gets a lot of moisture. However, it was very clean! Its a little outdated on the interior but who cares? It's a great place to stay & I will be back with my family!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandywine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Clean, nice place to stay on the beach and well priced. Friendly staff and very accessable. We stayed on ground level with no ocean view but had a kitchette with microwave, refrigerator, stove, sink, toaster, coffee maker and all the pots, pans and utensils. Didn't have an oven though which I expected. Nice size bathroom with great removeable shower head which comes in handy when you get sand everywhere. Needs a shower clothes line for wet suits. Beds were very comfortable. Had a back door to a small porch which was nice in the morning while waiting on everyone to get up. I highly suggest this motel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Although we did not have reservations and arrived late in the evening, we were kindly greeted and set up with a 2nd floor room with an ocean view for 3 nights. The price was very reasonable compared to other oceanfront rooms I had checked out online. The lady checking us in told us they had just put in all new mattresses. They were very comfy! Our room had a nice size refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker w/coffee. There was no extra charge for Wi-Fi service which worked fine. The hotel is not real large (which I liked) and is well kept. There is a lot of nice landscaping and there always seemed to be someone around there doing some type of upkeep on it. The pool was very clean and since the hotel is small, there were rarely more than 3 or 4 people in it at a time. The housekeeping staff did a great job and all of the staff we encountered were very polite. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will definitely stay there again if we're ever back in that area.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stay at the Islander every visit to the OBX. It’s always clean, friendly, reasonable, & conveniently located to beach access and all things OBX! The entire staff is wonderful – they always wear a smile and offer pleasant “hellos”. It’s quiet and comfortable though nothing fancy! Guests seem to be really friendly too. Our favorite beach accommodations anywhere!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

THIS IS THE PLACE YOU WANT TO STAY! We arrived in OBX to find this very nice motel that met our every need! Great place to stay with extremely nice folks. It's my new favorite motel. Rooms were well maintained, EXCELLENT VIEW! The beach is less crowded in this area too.

Room Tip: Take something on the 3rd floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Nothing fancy but the Islander is affordable and allways does the job for me.They are a clean place with a very nice pool and pool area.The owners are nice and they are oceanfront.You are not paying 5 star rates so there is no need to complain when you dont get a 5 star resort.I will be back to the Islander and have no problem recomending it to anyone else.It is a very relaxing place at the beach for a long weekend or a week stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Motel

Address: 7001 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Islander Motel to your Saves list