We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Islander Motel
Save
You added Islander Motel to your Saves list
7001 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Brandywine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Clean, nice place to stay on the beach and well priced. Friendly staff and very accessable. We stayed on ground level with no ocean view but had a kitchette with microwave, refrigerator, stove, sink, toaster, coffee maker and all the pots, pans and utensils. Didn't have an oven though which I expected. Nice size bathroom with great removeable shower head which comes in handy when you get sand everywhere. Needs a shower clothes line for wet suits. Beds were very comfortable. Had a back door to a small porch which was nice in the morning while waiting on everyone to get up. I highly suggest this motel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
26
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boonville, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Although we did not have reservations and arrived late in the evening, we were kindly greeted and set up with a 2nd floor room with an ocean view for 3 nights. The price was very reasonable compared to other oceanfront rooms I had checked out online. The lady checking us in told us they had just put in all new mattresses. They were very comfy! Our room had a nice size refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker w/coffee. There was no extra charge for Wi-Fi service which worked fine. The hotel is not real large (which I liked) and is well kept. There is a lot of nice landscaping and there always seemed to be someone around there doing some type of upkeep on it. The pool was very clean and since the hotel is small, there were rarely more than 3 or 4 people in it at a time. The housekeeping staff did a great job and all of the staff we encountered were very polite. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will definitely stay there again if we're ever back in that area.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stay at the Islander every visit to the OBX. It’s always clean, friendly, reasonable, & conveniently located to beach access and all things OBX! The entire staff is wonderful – they always wear a smile and offer pleasant “hellos”. It’s quiet and comfortable though nothing fancy! Guests seem to be really friendly too. Our favorite beach accommodations anywhere!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

THIS IS THE PLACE YOU WANT TO STAY! We arrived in OBX to find this very nice motel that met our every need! Great place to stay with extremely nice folks. It's my new favorite motel. Rooms were well maintained, EXCELLENT VIEW! The beach is less crowded in this area too.

Room Tip: Take something on the 3rd floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Nothing fancy but the Islander is affordable and allways does the job for me.They are a clean place with a very nice pool and pool area.The owners are nice and they are oceanfront.You are not paying 5 star rates so there is no need to complain when you dont get a 5 star resort.I will be back to the Islander and have no problem recomending it to anyone else.It is a very relaxing place at the beach for a long weekend or a week stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We went right after Hurricane Irene and some parts had been devastated. We delayed our trip by one day due to road closing. When we arrived, it was amazing the cleanup this hotel had done to make ready for guests and it was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Very disappointed in this place. My oceanfront balcony was mostly glassed in, with only a small window that could be opened. With the air conditioning unit venting out to the balcony it was like a sauna - could not even sit out there! They only provide you with soap, no shampoo or any extras. They dont even supply coffee for the in-room coffee makers. There are much nicer places in Nags Head for about the same price, so avoid the Islander.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Motel

Address: 7001 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.