We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tar Heel Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tar Heel Motel
Save
You added Tar Heel Motel to your Saves list
7010 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Olathe, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great spot to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here in May of 2014. It is an older motel but was very clean and had what we needed. There was a microwave, fridge and Wifi and the location cannot be beaten. Walk across the street and you are at the beach. If you want to explore the outer banks, the motel is in an ideal location. Everyone who works here is very nice and helpful. I hope to return someday!

Room Tip: It is easier to park if you have a poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
22
16
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Super nice people that are willing to help you. Great location in nags head close to the new pier. Nice pool and great beach acess across the street. I have been staying here for years and it is always a pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The place was decent considering the price ($79/per night for an efficiency). Mostly clean and a wonderful location. Wifi didn't work very well for us, the stove was pretty old, and the air conditioning was a really noisy window unit. Overall a good experience, but don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in July of 2013. When we arrived, we were a little skeptical it would be nice because it looks so old on the outside. (We are from the west, where everything is new.) The décor is kind of ugly, the carpet could use a cleaning, and some minor maintenance should be done like some painting on the interior. However, the location was FANTASTIC. It is across the street from a beach access that has an outdoor public shower to rinse of the sand. The beach in this location was never crowded the 4 days we where there. It is nice you can park right in front of your room; it was easy to get in and out of the location. It is easy to drive to Roanoke Island for the attractions there as well as close to all the attractions and restaurants in Kitty Hawk and Kill Devil Hills. It has WIFI and cable TV. It has a cheap kind of A/C, but it worked fine. It was clean. The sheets were low quality but clean. The cleaning lady was friendly as were the dudes at the front desk. We had a room with two queen beds, and one of the beds was pretty slumped in the middle.

Overall, it turned out fine. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to visit the outer banks on a budget, who doesn't plan to spend a lot of time in the room, and who doesn't want to commit to a full week like all the vacation rentals require in the peak season.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Visited in July 2013 for our first trip to the OBX and this was a great place to vacation in the OBX with your family! It's steps from the beach, off the main drag so the traffic noise isn't noticeable. Walking distance to the fishing pier.The pool is a nice place to jump in and relax after being in the salt water all day. Our room was a kitchenette and plenty of space for three of us! Staff and housekeeping were awesome and very helpful. We have already booked for summer 2014!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed 4 nights the last week of July, it was a clean, comfortable room at the best price on the beach ... well across the street from it.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The motel has been around for decades but it is well maintained, my only complaint is that there was no dresser so we couldn't unpack our clothes. There's plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 teens.

The location is perfect, close to the National Seashore, shopping and dining within walking distance, beach access across the street and a couple of blocks from the pier.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Tar Heel is an old motel. That is a good thing. Everything in the room/kitchenette was fine. It is close to public access for the beach within walking distance. The wifi was weak but worked. Room was clean & quite. Everyone there were good, friendly people. I was there for the Bluegrass festival. I would stay again. Maybe next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tar Heel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tar Heel Motel

Address: 7010 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kick off your shoes and relax ole' Nags Head Style at the Tar Heel Motel of the Outer Banks. Walk to the beach, enjoy our pool, grill out in our picnic area. All rooms have microwave, mini-fridge, cable tv and free WiFi. The Tar Heel is in walking distance of restaurants and fishing piers as well as shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tar Heel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tar Heel Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.