We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would stay again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tar Heel Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tar Heel Motel
Save Saved
You added Tar Heel Motel to your Saves list
7010 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“We would stay again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed 4 nights the last week of July, it was a clean, comfortable room at the best price on the beach ... well across the street from it.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The motel has been around for decades but it is well maintained, my only complaint is that there was no dresser so we couldn't unpack our clothes. There's plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 teens.

The location is perfect, close to the National Seashore, shopping and dining within walking distance, beach access across the street and a couple of blocks from the pier.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
22
16
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ladysmith, Virginia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Tar Heel is an old motel. That is a good thing. Everything in the room/kitchenette was fine. It is close to public access for the beach within walking distance. The wifi was weak but worked. Room was clean & quite. Everyone there were good, friendly people. I was there for the Bluegrass festival. I would stay again. Maybe next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My son and I worked our way down the eastern seaboard staying in hotels in the $65-$70 range -- hey, he's going to college! -- in nice oceanside locales. The Tar Heel was just a block off the beach and the room was clean, if not even close to luxurious. A little scruffy on the outside, but a bargain, fer sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mertztown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Not a fancy motel, but is very budget friendly and has everything you need for a nice vacation. Close to the beach, swimming pool, A/C. Room was cleaned everyday and had plenty of room for 3 adults and 1 child.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Its not easy to find a hotel that fits my family's budget and is right across from the beach, Tar Heel topped it all off with nice clean rooms and wonderful service. The staff was friendly--extra towels, extra pillows, and even a cot for my little one. (Yay for breathing space!) I'm already planning to stay there again next summer!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at the Tar Heel for a summer wedding at the Outer Banks. Great job by the staff keeping everyone happy and all the rooms cleaned. They had no problems getting us extra pillows, ironing boards, directions, etc. Everything we couldn't bring from home, or forgot, they helped us out with. The place was very good and at the lowest price around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxboro, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

If I could afford to stay in a 5 star hotel in Vegas, surrounded by strippers, playing slots, I wouldn't be spending my vacation in Nags Head. That being said, I was very pleased with my room. It was clean, well maintained, and worth the price I paid for it. I needed a nice place to sleep, while I was relaxing at the beach, and this is exactly what I got. The towels were clean, and the shower was hot. The TV worked, unlike some other places I've stayed at. It was everything I could ask for in a room at the beach.

Room Tip: Off season is usually the best time for a quiet vacation, and the best prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tar Heel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tar Heel Motel

Address: 7010 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kick off your shoes and relax ole' Nags Head Style at the Tar Heel Motel of the Outer Banks. Walk to the beach, enjoy our pool, grill out in our picnic area. All rooms have microwave, mini-fridge, cable tv and free WiFi. The Tar Heel is in walking distance of restaurants and fishing piers as well as shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tar Heel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tar Heel Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.