We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are going back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Owens' Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Owens' Motel to your Saves list
Owens' Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7115 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“We are going back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I booked a room for us for a Friday night while we waited for our house key the next day in July 2013. We have stayed at Owen's before so we knew the layout of the motel and what the rooms are like. We had two good friends with us this time who had never stayed there before. We arrived around 3 and both of our rooms were ready for us and they had put us side by side like we asked. We always stay in the rooms across the street from the office and beside the restaurant. I think they call those the West Side? Anyway, both of our rooms were clean and we had no bug issues or any complaints about the air conditioners, mini fridge or bathrooms. Are the rooms large? Not by any means. The bathrooms aren't large either, but big enough for one person to be in there getting showered etc. We love the location of this motel and the fact you can walk to either Sam and Omie's or The Dunes for a good meal. Both are also excellent for breakfast in the morning. We were able to get parking spots right in front of our doors and changed and went to the pool. It was clean, although from all the people using sunscreen, there was a film on top of the water that comes from people who spray on their sunscreen and then immediately jump into a pool. Apparently they don't read the directions which say "apply 20 minutes before sun exposure." It was really hot out, so after a while and a few beers, no one cared and we were in that pool to cool off. We have eaten at Owen's Restaurant several times and always have a fabulous meal there, so don't hesitate to try it if you are there. We are booked into this motel again for this July, 2014 and so are our friends. We look forward to staying there and would recommend this motel to anyone looking for a good deal, a great location and a comfortable room to stay in. No, it's not the Holiday Inn, but it's family owned and they take pride in their motel.

Room Tip: The rooms across from the pool are not as old as some of the ones on the same side as the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    23
    21
    7
See reviews for
27
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The room was small and smelled like old lotion, there was no internet or phone, the air conditioner was so loud we could barely have a conversation, the shower was a single stall with nowhere to put toiletries, the only ice available was dirty and kept in a cooler across the street, and the door key kept getting stuck in the door. All of that would have been fine if we could have had a decent night's sleep during our stay. That was absolutely impossible on the brick-like bed and flat pillows provided. We're both under thirty and after one day our backs were sore. After three, we were ready to flee. Without a doubt the worst hotel bed I've ever slept in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selbyville, Delaware, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We've been going to the Outer Banks area for over 16 yrs..have stayed in different hotels and house rentals. Needed a one night stay for business reasons so picked Owens. Poor choice! Next to the bed were several dead bugs in a layer of dust..taking up much needed space in a very small room. A picture on the wall near the door was pretty..except for the splashes of something all over it & the wall next to it! Ice was available only by a cooler outside the office which by 9 pm was mostly water. My neighbors got very noisy after 11 pm..not the hotels fault but I guess very thin walls. Could barely move in bathroom..live & learn..I will stick to other places on my trips to Nags Head!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Cheap quality motel! Uncomfortable beds, tiny bathroom with stall shower, noisy AC. Not even a phone in the room to contact the office which was across the street. Yes, you can walk to the beach across the street but that is it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Great location and reasonable price. Needs a bit of work, especially in the bathroom. When the tub is completely rusted through, it is time to spring for some repairs. Parking was a bit of a problem, but that was not management's fault. We should have had a spot in front of our room, but someone was always there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bealeton, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We checked in 8/25/13 And we were very impressed with the price, the room was clean and people very friendly unlike the experience we had in Virginia beach I would absolutely go here again. we were able to walk across to the beach walk to a little store down the street etc>

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night when we arrived in OBX the day before our beach house rental. The rooms are a little dated but are very clean. Our room seemed to have a few updates since our last stay (new carpet, etc). If you are looking for a chain motel with wifi and bagels in the morning, this is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for a bit of a throwback with fantastic service and old fashioned charm, this is your place. The location is right on the beach and everyone there is super friendly and very accommodating. (They even keep track of the room we stayed in the prior year and asked if we would like the same room this year!) This motel matches the personality of Nags Head and the beach road. After reading some reviews of other OBX hotels and comparing their rates to Owens, we would not consider staying anywhere else at OBX!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Owens' Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owens' Motel

Address: 7115 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Owens' Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Owens' Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owens` Hotel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owens' Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.