We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor conditions” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Owens' Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Owens' Motel to your Saves list
Owens' Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7115 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Blackwood, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Poor conditions”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Cheap quality motel! Uncomfortable beds, tiny bathroom with stall shower, noisy AC. Not even a phone in the room to contact the office which was across the street. Yes, you can walk to the beach across the street but that is it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Wakefield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great location and reasonable price. Needs a bit of work, especially in the bathroom. When the tub is completely rusted through, it is time to spring for some repairs. Parking was a bit of a problem, but that was not management's fault. We should have had a spot in front of our room, but someone was always there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WriterFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bealeton, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We checked in 8/25/13 And we were very impressed with the price, the room was clean and people very friendly unlike the experience we had in Virginia beach I would absolutely go here again. we were able to walk across to the beach walk to a little store down the street etc>

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night when we arrived in OBX the day before our beach house rental. The rooms are a little dated but are very clean. Our room seemed to have a few updates since our last stay (new carpet, etc). If you are looking for a chain motel with wifi and bagels in the morning, this is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for a bit of a throwback with fantastic service and old fashioned charm, this is your place. The location is right on the beach and everyone there is super friendly and very accommodating. (They even keep track of the room we stayed in the prior year and asked if we would like the same room this year!) This motel matches the personality of Nags Head and the beach road. After reading some reviews of other OBX hotels and comparing their rates to Owens, we would not consider staying anywhere else at OBX!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mi_2_obx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestonsburg
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Owens is an older hotel and the desk closes at 9 pm but there is easy access to the beach and its your choice across the road was ours and it was pretty good the beds were not bad .I rested well . There was no noise in the night . and they do pretty good up keep on the motel . No Breakfast but at the price we paid on the ocean how could they ? No internet was a little out of hand .

Room Tip: We chose across the road but crossing 12 is easy nearly any time .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was inexpensive compared to others and the staff were very nice. But the outside was run down, the room was a bit shabby, the mattress pad thin and kept slipping off during the night, no place to put toiletries. There was a small fridge, microwave on top and coffee pot on top of that. Only two plugs though so you had to unplug something. No wireless. Couldn't get 3G to work either. Very noisy old air conditioner. The picnic area with one old table and one charcoal grill all very worn out and shabby. No shade by table. The beach was nice. Didn't cross the street to use the pool so don't know about that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brwt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nags Head hotels

Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If youre looking for fancy schmancy nancy,find a chain hotel and pay double. This place is an inexpensive motel that you sleep in because you're there for the BEACH!
We enjoyed a really nice beachfront room that has been updated. It wasnt spotless ,and who cares?! Bathroom was updated recently and looked nice. Balcony was the best for my family to wake up and look out at the ocean morning and night. Decent little flat screen TV.

Only drawback is the pool. Its behind the resturant on the other side of the street. Looked small too so we didnt bother.

The general mood in Nags Head is laid back and friendly from tenants to staff. Get away from the rat race and unplug for a few days here. You may be surprised.

Room Tip: Only 9 oceanfront rooms. Plenty of others across the street if you dont mind a quick walk to the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rohlfinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
6.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#8 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,857 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#2 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
6.4 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owens' Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owens' Motel

Address: 7115 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Owens' Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owens Motel is a family owned and operated motel that is located on the beach in South Nags Head. Clean, cozy rooms at affordable rates. Where families, fishermen, golfers and bikers are always welcome. Accomodations include oceanfront efficiencies, oceanside rooms, westside courtyard and westside rooms. The oceanfront barbeque grill and picnic are a favorite spot. Located directly across from the beach road, you'll find our clean, refreshing swimming pool. Daily maid service, air conditioning and cable TV are part of the ammenities that will make your stay memorable. The motel is located in the center of it all. Close to the Oregon Inlet Fishing Center, Pirates Cove Fishing Center, Jennettes Pier, Tanger Outlet Mall, Jockey Ridge State Park, The NC Aquarium, Elizabethan Gardens, Historic Manteo and the Lost Colony. Owens Restaurant, a AAA Three Diamond Award Restaurant is right next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Owens' Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owens` Hotel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing