We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Owens' Motel

Save Saved
You added Owens' Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Owens' Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7115 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 hotels in Nags Head
Bealeton, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We checked in 8/25/13 And we were very impressed with the price, the room was clean and people very friendly unlike the experience we had in Virginia beach I would absolutely go here again. we were able to walk across to the beach walk to a little store down the street etc>

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    22
    21
    6
See reviews for
25
37
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night when we arrived in OBX the day before our beach house rental. The rooms are a little dated but are very clean. Our room seemed to have a few updates since our last stay (new carpet, etc). If you are looking for a chain motel with wifi and bagels in the morning, this is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for a bit of a throwback with fantastic service and old fashioned charm, this is your place. The location is right on the beach and everyone there is super friendly and very accommodating. (They even keep track of the room we stayed in the prior year and asked if we would like the same room this year!) This motel matches the personality of Nags Head and the beach road. After reading some reviews of other OBX hotels and comparing their rates to Owens, we would not consider staying anywhere else at OBX!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestonsburg
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Owens is an older hotel and the desk closes at 9 pm but there is easy access to the beach and its your choice across the road was ours and it was pretty good the beds were not bad .I rested well . There was no noise in the night . and they do pretty good up keep on the motel . No Breakfast but at the price we paid on the ocean how could they ? No internet was a little out of hand .

Room Tip: We chose across the road but crossing 12 is easy nearly any time .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was inexpensive compared to others and the staff were very nice. But the outside was run down, the room was a bit shabby, the mattress pad thin and kept slipping off during the night, no place to put toiletries. There was a small fridge, microwave on top and coffee pot on top of that. Only two plugs though so you had to unplug something. No wireless. Couldn't get 3G to work either. Very noisy old air conditioner. The picnic area with one old table and one charcoal grill all very worn out and shabby. No shade by table. The beach was nice. Didn't cross the street to use the pool so don't know about that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If youre looking for fancy schmancy nancy,find a chain hotel and pay double. This place is an inexpensive motel that you sleep in because you're there for the BEACH!
We enjoyed a really nice beachfront room that has been updated. It wasnt spotless ,and who cares?! Bathroom was updated recently and looked nice. Balcony was the best for my family to wake up and look out at the ocean morning and night. Decent little flat screen TV.

Only drawback is the pool. Its behind the resturant on the other side of the street. Looked small too so we didnt bother.

The general mood in Nags Head is laid back and friendly from tenants to staff. Get away from the rat race and unplug for a few days here. You may be surprised.

Room Tip: Only 9 oceanfront rooms. Plenty of others across the street if you dont mind a quick walk to the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I will qualify this review by saying we have never stayed in a motel before on the Outer Banks, we have always rented a condo, but the condo was sold and not being rented.
The postives...I got a great deal on this hotel. We also stayed oceanside and getting to the beach was simple. The staff are all great, very helpful. The beach area is great, perfect location.
The negatives....Boy does this place need some renovating. Our room was clean, our bathroom was spotless, if you can call it a bathroom. There was no where to put any toiletries. The beds were awful as was the decor. Definitely bring your own pillow. The TV was on this little table that made it almost impossible to watch from bed because it was so low to the ground.
The pool was disgusting. The first night there was so much chlorine in the pool you couldn't see the bottom. The smell of chlorine was overwhelming. How hard is it to maintain a pool? The pool location is awful. Behind the restaurant and quite a hike if your staying across the main road.
Don't take ice out of the coolers they have for guests!! The ice is loaded onto the back of a gator and then scooped into the cooler with a bucket. I have no idea how this is even sanitary.
The reality of this motel is that is has seen better days, I don't even know how you renovate it.
I do realize that these motels have a lot of turnover of guests in the summer months. Your also at the beach, where sand will always be an issue. I don't envy the person who is tasked with keeping these rooms clean.
Bottom line - tired motel that has seen better days and needs some serious renovations. The staff was great. If your looking for somewhere to stay for a few days and can get a good deal, I would try it. Other hotels/motels will run you over $200.00 per night in high season and they aren't much better.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean side have the benefit of beach access. Horrible parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drewryville
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Glad other people have liked their stay with this hotel but its not a place I wanna go back. We were at this hotel on fourth of July week & we will never stay here again. Front desk girl was very nice which was a plus but upon getting to our room there was a huge roach in the bath tub as big as my thumb. We couldn't find any other hotels to stay in being the week we were there so we killed it & checked the rest of the room. (No more bugs found thank goodness) It needs to be updated, the walls in the bathroom need to be cleaned (something was all over them), no phone, tv was a older kind & could only go up & not down on channels, the shower head was so stopped up with water deposits it was only spraying a small amount of water, cracks in the walls & the smoke detector was not even on the wall just a hole & bare wires sticking out the wall (which we told front desk girl when we checked out). I don't mind staying in older hotels but I do expect them to be clean & half way nice but this was a bad. I'm just thankful the 2 nights we were there we only slept & showered (maybe total of 6 hours each night) & the rest of the time we weren't there. Please management fix this place up, It deserves it & until they do people please stay some where else.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Owens' Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owens' Motel

Address: 7115 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 hotels in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Owens' Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Owens' Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owens` Hotel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owens' Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.