We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than I expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Owens' Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Owens' Motel to your Saves list
Owens' Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7115 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
Ephrata, PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Much better than I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by our one night stay at the Owens Hotel. The room was just a quick walk to the a beautiful beach and the room was clean, had a brand new air conditioner and very comfortable beds. I was surprised because I had read reviews on Trip Advisor before we went and I wasn't sure what to expect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    23
    21
    7
See reviews for
27
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Owen's Motel while exploring OBX. We rang up and booked over the phone and asked about the various rooms. We decided upon the ones with ocean views. Upon arrival, the helpful lady in reception speedily checked us in and gave us our room key. Our room was number 9 on the 2nd floor. Initially I wasn't impressed with the way the motel looked, as I felt it looked a bit run down. We opened the door and both wowed at the size of the room and its amenities. Opening the door on to the veranda gave us amazing views of the ocean, up and down the beach and Jennette's Pier.

The room was clean and well presented and the bathroom was of a good standard.

If we visit OBX again, I wouldn't hesitate in booking in for another few nights.

On the negative side, the AC in the room was very noisy and did little to cool the temperature of the room. No problems though as we propped the room door open with a chair and had the veranda door open. A nice breeze passed through the room cooling us down.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We visited the area for a long weekend to explore OBX, and found the Owens Motel to be clean, welcoming, accommodation. Rate seemed a bit expensive given the limited amenities; however, most lodging in OBX is pricier than other NC locales. We stayed in the single-story building across the street, which was quiet and convenient. The rooms are dated; however, given the relatively low price, and proximity to the beach and Jeannette's Pier, we weren't expecting much. If you are visiting Nags Head on a budget, give it a try.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have never stayed in a worse place. This hotel is dirty, bug infested and disgusting. Please avoid this place at all costs! I ave never seen such a crappy place! The pictures quaint, but believe me it is far from quaint, it is gross! Do not stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was surprised by the blue painted paneling, the white wicker furniture, and the truly tiny bathroom. I was more surprised at the stench that hit me when I opened the refrigerator to unload our cooler. We were given the opportunity to switch rooms or switch refrigerators with the room next door. Since we had already moved in, we thought the appliance switch best, especially since the other room was dark and completely old school wood paneled. My poor husband did most of the manhandling of the little beast (a first in our many motel stays). No help was offered. The old brown one left a puddle on our floor and a trail to it's new home. The new one was white and completed the white theme perfectly. That experience was a definite deduction of my rating. We had to get ice from a cooler in the office and the television was little more than a computer monitor. We had a real key! (not a keycard)
That said, I really like the fact that we had windows on THREE sides (it being an end unit) and with no neighbor in the next room, it was like being in a cabin. We hit the beach at sunset and again before and at sunrise because it was SO CLOSE! It was substantially cheaper than the chain hotel and the stay I remember best from our week on the road. It's also the only place I took pictures of, because of it's unique qualities.
It had plenty of towels, microwave, fridge (thanks to my husband, one that worked AND matched the decor), hair dryer, coffee-maker, alarm clock, window unit AC (somewhat noisy), pink decorative plates on the wall and a pink flyswatter thoughtfully provided. It was clean. Plus the section we stayed in (they have another set of units further west) was roughly 50 feet from the BEACH!
I did not spend a lot of time awake in this room so I am forgiving of it's shortcomings. If I was a diva, I would have hated it. I took it for what it was and I am not sorry. Our beach experiences made up for the TV, fridge and cubbyhole commode.
We were there off-season and it was quiet and I slept well. I would probably not have like at as well if it was summer and fully occupied.
Rating this is difficult. If not for the labor involved, TV and commode cubbyhole, we had a great stay - 4.5. It isn't the Holiday Inn. If you want that kind of experience -DON'T stay here. Because of the age, I should probably give it a 2. If you're a guy, none it probably matters to you and only the TV sucks. That kinda leaves me at a 3.

Room Tip: I recommend #8 or higher. Higher has a balcony or patio overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, md
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I love this motel. I have never stayed across the street, and never will. Nothing against it other than the fact that I stay at Owen's because I can walk out of my door and hit sand, and then water immediately. I always stay in the beach front condos, so I can't vouch for the regular rooms. Condos are nice. There's that typical slight "must" smell when you walk in, but any hotel (even fancy ones) that are 20 feet from the ocean are going to have that issue. Sand, salt water and bare feet will do that.

Clean motel, friendly staff, literally right on the water, and hands down the BEST restaurant right across the street (Owen's Restaurant).

Could definitely use an update in the rooms themselves and I think that would help people's opinions.

Reasonable pricing (especially in the fall for condos), convenient location and friendly staff will keep me at Owens.

Room Tip: Take a condo. Right on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Owens' Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owens' Motel

Address: 7115 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Owens' Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Owens' Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owens` Hotel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owens' Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.