We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Beacon Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Beacon Motor Lodge
2617 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
West Jefferson, North Carolina
1 review
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

On a last minute notice, we decided to head for the beach July 3-5. Everything was full, as we called the morning of July3. Wanting to stay on the ocean front was priority. The Beacon had a regular room and an efficiency available. We stayed in the efficiency pool side. We could walk out on the balcony and see the beach. All but ocean front, it only took an extra 30 seconds to get on the beach.

When I was a kid, I can remember staying here. Our room was bigger than most hotel rooms and MUCH cleaner than major hotels. Everyone there was friendly and they put on a cookout for the 4th for all the guests. It was a great stay! Thank you so much for making our stay very enjoyable. We will be seeing you soon!

Room Tip: Room 148 was a good view of the beach from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    35
    10
    9
    11
See reviews for
37
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Had an Ocean front room, best view and access to the beach in the entire area. Staff is friendly and hard working. Grounds and maintenance people keep the grounds spotless, and the room service lady had our room spotless as well. Enjoyed our stay at the Beacon motor lodge , and would go again.

Room Tip: The room was a little on the small side, but the porch/patio kind of expanded the space. Great for l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay for our first visit to OBX and found this place on trip advisor. Called on a Thursday and was able to book an ocean front room for the following Sun. for 2 nights. Office staff was very nice and the booking and check in was quick and smooth. After our first night we decided to stay one more night and they were able to accommodate us.
Like others have said, the rooms are VERY small, especially the bathroom, but there is adequate storage under the sink and also a shelf over the toilet to keep your toiletries. The rooms were very clean and the lady that cleaned ours was friendly, quick and efficient.
You cannot beat the view and the closeness to the beach, you are literally "right on the beach". Took walks everyday on the beach and did not see any other with rooms that close.
I went there with the intention to just spend a few quiet days on the beach and did just exactly that! My only "complaint" is that there are no coffeemakers in the oceanfront rooms and although they do have complimentary coffee in the office they don't open until 8 and I like my coffee much earlier than that. I knew this ahead of time and we were driving so I brought my coffeemaker with me, but had I been traveling by plane this would not have been possible. I do have one suggestion for the management and that would be to have an "adults only" time at the pool. Maybe and hour in the early day and again in the evening? I would have liked to have spent some relaxing time in the pool but there were so many children at the time we were there it was difficult to do so. Overall, enjoyed our stay...great views, quiet and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Been staying here for over 15 years. It's a great loaction with a great beach. The staff are friendly and accommodating if you need anything. Rooms are clean and very comfortable. And it's reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Beacon for several years now and we always try to stay in the oceanfront rooms. They offer a patio where you can sit and watch the sun rise while you drink your morning coffee. It is a great place at a great price!!

Room Tip: Rooms 125-132 are the smaller oceanfront while 133 & 134 are oceanfront efficiencies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Came down to the banks from the Blue Ridge parkway, and looked at a couple of spots before settling on the Beacon Motor Lodge. The room was on the beach, separated from the sand by a concrete patio, the sand actually drifting onto the patio. What a spot! We spent most of our time walking on the beach.
The room was certainly not the smallest we have had on our trip up the US east coast but it was comfortable and with the window open we went to sleep to the sound of the waves breaking just feet away. There's a laundry available to guests and that is a big plus for people on the road like us. We found the staff friendly and welcoming and had a great stay for the two nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the beach - marginally more expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

27 plus years staying at the BIG HOUSE for two weeks owned by the Beacon. Great dunes, great beach, southern hospitality, good quality of guests, hands on management, close to good food, clean pool and grounds makes for a peaceful vacation.This is one of the last remaining vintage properties right on the beach. The beach road with the walking/bike paths is a great buffer to all the development out on the highway. Hopefully if you come to Nags head you do not spend much time in your room. and know that bigger is not always better. The Beacon bridges the gap between the old and new Nags Head and does care about its guests.This is not a place for those seeking corporate hype.

Room Tip: Explain your wants and needs when booking.There is something for most budgets. Children with young c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Motor Lodge

Address: 2617 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Beacon Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Motor Hotel Nags Head
Beacon Hotel Nags Head
Beacon Motel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.