We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Beacon Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Beacon Motor Lodge
2617 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 hotels in Nags Head
cleveland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Had an Ocean front room, best view and access to the beach in the entire area. Staff is friendly and hard working. Grounds and maintenance people keep the grounds spotless, and the room service lady had our room spotless as well. Enjoyed our stay at the Beacon motor lodge , and would go again.

Room Tip: The room was a little on the small side, but the porch/patio kind of expanded the space. Great for l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    34
    10
    9
    11
See reviews for
37
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oberlin, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay for our first visit to OBX and found this place on trip advisor. Called on a Thursday and was able to book an ocean front room for the following Sun. for 2 nights. Office staff was very nice and the booking and check in was quick and smooth. After our first night we decided to stay one more night and they were able to accommodate us.
Like others have said, the rooms are VERY small, especially the bathroom, but there is adequate storage under the sink and also a shelf over the toilet to keep your toiletries. The rooms were very clean and the lady that cleaned ours was friendly, quick and efficient.
You cannot beat the view and the closeness to the beach, you are literally "right on the beach". Took walks everyday on the beach and did not see any other with rooms that close.
I went there with the intention to just spend a few quiet days on the beach and did just exactly that! My only "complaint" is that there are no coffeemakers in the oceanfront rooms and although they do have complimentary coffee in the office they don't open until 8 and I like my coffee much earlier than that. I knew this ahead of time and we were driving so I brought my coffeemaker with me, but had I been traveling by plane this would not have been possible. I do have one suggestion for the management and that would be to have an "adults only" time at the pool. Maybe and hour in the early day and again in the evening? I would have liked to have spent some relaxing time in the pool but there were so many children at the time we were there it was difficult to do so. Overall, enjoyed our stay...great views, quiet and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Been staying here for over 15 years. It's a great loaction with a great beach. The staff are friendly and accommodating if you need anything. Rooms are clean and very comfortable. And it's reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Beacon for several years now and we always try to stay in the oceanfront rooms. They offer a patio where you can sit and watch the sun rise while you drink your morning coffee. It is a great place at a great price!!

Room Tip: Rooms 125-132 are the smaller oceanfront while 133 & 134 are oceanfront efficiencies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Came down to the banks from the Blue Ridge parkway, and looked at a couple of spots before settling on the Beacon Motor Lodge. The room was on the beach, separated from the sand by a concrete patio, the sand actually drifting onto the patio. What a spot! We spent most of our time walking on the beach.
The room was certainly not the smallest we have had on our trip up the US east coast but it was comfortable and with the window open we went to sleep to the sound of the waves breaking just feet away. There's a laundry available to guests and that is a big plus for people on the road like us. We found the staff friendly and welcoming and had a great stay for the two nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the beach - marginally more expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

27 plus years staying at the BIG HOUSE for two weeks owned by the Beacon. Great dunes, great beach, southern hospitality, good quality of guests, hands on management, close to good food, clean pool and grounds makes for a peaceful vacation.This is one of the last remaining vintage properties right on the beach. The beach road with the walking/bike paths is a great buffer to all the development out on the highway. Hopefully if you come to Nags head you do not spend much time in your room. and know that bigger is not always better. The Beacon bridges the gap between the old and new Nags Head and does care about its guests.This is not a place for those seeking corporate hype.

Room Tip: Explain your wants and needs when booking.There is something for most budgets. Children with young c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

My family and I come here EVERY YEAR because it is amazing!
Sure the rooms are a little small, but we stay at the beach ALL DAY.
We usually stay 12 days with 8 people and we think its great!
PLEASE RESPOND,
CAN'T WAIT GOING IN
21-22
DAYS!!!!
YAY!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champagne1997, Manager at Beacon Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of our property. We are happy you are excited to come back this year. Our staff works hard to maintain the property and make our guests\'s vacation as pleasant as possible. We love our many return guests and it is a pleasure to greet our old friends year after year! We look foirward to seeing you soon and hope you have a great vacation with great weather!

Robin James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beacon Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Motor Lodge

Also Known As:
Beacon Motor Hotel Nags Head
Beacon Motor Hotel
Beacon Hotel Nags Head
Beacon Motel Nags Head
Address: 2617 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Beacon Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.