We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Beacon Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Beacon Motor Lodge
2617 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 hotels in Nags Head
Eagle Rock, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a 1960s motor lodge that has been kept up and clean. It is the style where you can pull right up to the door and unload your stuff. The pool deck and courtyard is in the center and it also has a nice oceanview upper deck on the beach. The rates drop this time of year and make it very economical for those of us on a budget. We met some very nice people here also. It has a friendly down home feel with the playground, outdoor grills and picnic tables in the courtyard. Their were several other couples grilling steaks while we were there too. This was nice getaway for us and we were glad we found this place.
The only reason I gave the sleep quality a average rating was the AC unit in the room seemed loud to me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champagne1997, General Manager at Beacon Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your nice review. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Robin James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    34
    10
    9
    11
See reviews for
37
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fenwick Island, Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This place is just as we remembered. We love the old style and charm. Our room was clean and bright. We did a spur of the moment get away and did not have any reservations. We could have stayed at any of the new ugly high rise chain hotels but they looked so cold and unfriendly. I was greeted with a big smile as I entered the office and encouraged to look at the different rooms available. We chose a poolside king room even though an oceanfront suite was available because we only had 3 days and did not need a kitchen. The rates were very reasonable for end of August. There are picnic tables and grills on a nice lawn area as well as a playground. The pool area has 2 baby pools as well as adult pool and was very clean. This is where I will always stay when we do not need to rent a house at the Outer Banks. The friendliness of the staff made our stay so worth the trip.

Room Tip: There are several options for rooms. They do have a website but if you call them I am sure they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champagne1997, General Manager at Beacon Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Robin James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh,NC
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We (my 8 year old daughter and myself) were supposed to stay August 29-31 but our plans changed on August 28th. I called the Beacon Motor Lodge and asked if our room type (in section C a double and a single) was available for the night. It was and we arrived around 2:30 in the afternoon and checked in. They do charge you for all your nights at check in so be aware of that. Our room was clean and neat. The bathroom is very small. From the corner of the shower stall to the corner of the sink (they are cattycorner in the bathroom) there is about 12 inches between. So if you are a larger sized person you may not be able to fit through to get to the toilet. I am 5 foot 2 and not large but I still had to turn to the side! And there is no elbow room in the toilet area. We were in room 122 and the airconditioning unit was loud for me but I got used to it. There is a fridge/freezer and full sized microwave, a desk, flat screen tv, three clothing drawers and a pseudo-closet area to hang clothing. We had plenty of room with 2 people. The cleaning lady did a great job daily and we tipped her well when we left (they leave an envelope the first day and you turn it in at the front desk at check out). The walls are slightly thin and if your neighbors talk loudly you can hear them. Being right on the beach was amazing. They just built a new ramp from most of the inn's rooms which leads to the beach and the oceanfront rooms. The pool was very well maintained and we used that every day. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champagne1997, Manager at Beacon Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future!

Robin James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at the Beacon Aug. 14-17. We are frequent visitors to Nags Head and have stayed in several motels. We chose the Beacon for the price and the location. They immediately won us over when we were able to check in hours before the check in time. Our room was ready for us at 11:30 am! Checking in on a Tuesday morning probably didn't hurt our cause. Our room was courtside, under the ocean front rooms. The room was a bit worn, but very clean and comfortable. The A/C and shower worked perfectly. Bathrooms are a bit small. The housekeeping staff was thorough and everyone was very friendly. The beach access is convenient and the ocean front deck was great. We also loved the pool. Only drawback was that we could hear our neighbors talking loudly all through the night (not the motel's fault-just rude neighbors.) We would definitely come back to the Beacon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champagne1997, Manager at Beacon Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. That shows our staff has acheived our goals of making sure our guests have the perfect vacation. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the beautiful Outer Banks!

Robin James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Rioms are a bit dated, but very clean. We stayed oceanfront and it was just a couple of steps to the beach with no dunes blocking view. We might have stayed a few more days if the Wifi was better. I can work remotely, but need a good wifi connection. The wifi could use upgrading. Otherwise a great experience. I would go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champagne1997, General Manager at Beacon Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Sorry you had trouble with the wifi when you are here. It may have been weather related. We will be working again this off season to make more improvements to our rooms as we always do. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to the OBX.

Robin James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were there for 5 days and 4 nights. Stayed in section C in our double room across from pool. The room was clean and a good size for us. Its local owned and ran so dont expect a resort place. Ive stayed at both and this place is more relaxing. Nags Head is in the middle of the banks and we spent one day going up the coast and another day going down the coast. Beacon was a great place with great staff. One guy in the office offered to bring flyers to our room so we could order out. Maid service was great with clean towels and sandy floor taken care of daily. Even though we are use to being ocean side Beacon made it easy for ocean access by having 2 ways to get to the beach. The pool was nice and clean and so was playground (our child is not young but the other kids seemed to enjoy it). This great family atmosphere made it easy to choose Beacon. Our last 2 nites families with small kids moved in on both sides of our room and we never heard a peep from either side. If you stay here we highly highly recommend eating at RedDrum...the mahimahi over shrimp and grits is great. The staff at Beacon will show you the way. When we come back we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Section C in a one story building so foot traffic on upper floors is not a problem here. We chose it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciroc, Manager at Beacon Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review of our property. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for staying with us and we look foward to seeing you again on your next visit to the beautiful Outer Banks!

Robin James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Head, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Beacon Motor Lodge was a great fit for 8 Alabamians.We rent 2 kitchenette suites for our stay. They were large enough for our needs. Staff was very curtious, maid service was really good and the laundry room a plus.A walk way up the dune from the beach would have been nice but the exercise didn't hurt us. Hope we can go back next year. The beach is awesome and there so much to do so close by.We spent 8 nights there and were well satisfied.
.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciroc, General Manager at Beacon Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write such a nice review. We really enjoyed meeting your wonderful family. So glad your first trip to the beach was to the Outer Banks. We hope you return again soon and if any of the staff gets to Alabama, we will look your up! Thanks again!

Robin James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beacon Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Motor Lodge

Also Known As:
Beacon Motor Hotel Nags Head
Beacon Motor Hotel
Beacon Hotel Nags Head
Beacon Motel Nags Head
Address: 2617 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Beacon Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.