We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Beacon Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beacon Motor Lodge
2617 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 hotels in Nags Head
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at the Beacon Aug. 14-17. We are frequent visitors to Nags Head and have stayed in several motels. We chose the Beacon for the price and the location. They immediately won us over when we were able to check in hours before the check in time. Our room was ready for us at 11:30 am! Checking in on a Tuesday morning probably didn't hurt our cause. Our room was courtside, under the ocean front rooms. The room was a bit worn, but very clean and comfortable. The A/C and shower worked perfectly. Bathrooms are a bit small. The housekeeping staff was thorough and everyone was very friendly. The beach access is convenient and the ocean front deck was great. We also loved the pool. Only drawback was that we could hear our neighbors talking loudly all through the night (not the motel's fault-just rude neighbors.) We would definitely come back to the Beacon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champagne1997, Manager at Beacon Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. That shows our staff has acheived our goals of making sure our guests have the perfect vacation. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the beautiful Outer Banks!

Robin James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    34
    10
    9
    11
See reviews for
37
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Rioms are a bit dated, but very clean. We stayed oceanfront and it was just a couple of steps to the beach with no dunes blocking view. We might have stayed a few more days if the Wifi was better. I can work remotely, but need a good wifi connection. The wifi could use upgrading. Otherwise a great experience. I would go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champagne1997, General Manager at Beacon Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Sorry you had trouble with the wifi when you are here. It may have been weather related. We will be working again this off season to make more improvements to our rooms as we always do. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to the OBX.

Robin James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were there for 5 days and 4 nights. Stayed in section C in our double room across from pool. The room was clean and a good size for us. Its local owned and ran so dont expect a resort place. Ive stayed at both and this place is more relaxing. Nags Head is in the middle of the banks and we spent one day going up the coast and another day going down the coast. Beacon was a great place with great staff. One guy in the office offered to bring flyers to our room so we could order out. Maid service was great with clean towels and sandy floor taken care of daily. Even though we are use to being ocean side Beacon made it easy for ocean access by having 2 ways to get to the beach. The pool was nice and clean and so was playground (our child is not young but the other kids seemed to enjoy it). This great family atmosphere made it easy to choose Beacon. Our last 2 nites families with small kids moved in on both sides of our room and we never heard a peep from either side. If you stay here we highly highly recommend eating at RedDrum...the mahimahi over shrimp and grits is great. The staff at Beacon will show you the way. When we come back we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Section C in a one story building so foot traffic on upper floors is not a problem here. We chose it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciroc, Manager at Beacon Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review of our property. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for staying with us and we look foward to seeing you again on your next visit to the beautiful Outer Banks!

Robin James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Head, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Beacon Motor Lodge was a great fit for 8 Alabamians.We rent 2 kitchenette suites for our stay. They were large enough for our needs. Staff was very curtious, maid service was really good and the laundry room a plus.A walk way up the dune from the beach would have been nice but the exercise didn't hurt us. Hope we can go back next year. The beach is awesome and there so much to do so close by.We spent 8 nights there and were well satisfied.
.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciroc, General Manager at Beacon Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write such a nice review. We really enjoyed meeting your wonderful family. So glad your first trip to the beach was to the Outer Banks. We hope you return again soon and if any of the staff gets to Alabama, we will look your up! Thanks again!

Robin James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This place was great! Very close to the beach and shopping/restaurants. We had a little efficiency with a kitchen and it was nothing fancy, but it was clean and comfortable. They have free laundry available too! You just have to wait for the morning to be over as the maids use the machines when they clean the linens. My boyfriend and I stayed here in early Sept last year, it rained the whole time, and we still had a great time together. This place is great if you are ok with no frills and outdated decor.

Room Tip: If you are wondering whether or not to pick ocean front, I would say don't do it. The motel is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciroc, Manager at Beacon Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our property. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Robin James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We spent four nights here and it was just perfect for our needs. Me, husband and two kids (4, 7) had a double poolside room. Room had two double beds, big tv with good choice of channels, fridge, microwave, small shower room, and air conditioning unit. Parking right outside the door. One main swimming pool and two toddler pools. Right on the most beautiful beach, the beach front rooms would be fantastic to stay in. It lost a star just because the rooms, whilst spotlessly clean, were a bit jaded.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms great, but a beachside room would be worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciroc, General Manager at Beacon Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. However, I am not sure you have the right property. We do not have free laundry for your guests. We have a coin-operated washer and dryer. We do have our own laundry facilities, but they are commerical machines for our linens and towels and not available for guest use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My family and I spent two nights here (July 17 & 18)after reading numerous reviews. It sounded quaint and kitchy, but we found it to be just tiny and old and in desperate need of an update. The hotel is your classic old-school "U" shaped configuration of buildings with the pool in the middle. The parking spaces are extremely narrow! The morning we left, a mid-sized truck had parked beside us on the driver's side of our car and we could not open either of our car doors on that side. I had to crawl trough the passenger side and back the car out of the space so that we could get the baby in the car seat. There is a boardwalk ramp that allows you to access the top of dunes at the beach and a patio just outside one set of rooms that faces the ocean. At the top of the ramp, you still have to go down a small hill of loose sand to get to the beach. This is not so bad going down, but can be a difficult hike coming back up while carrying a baby and a beach bag. The rooms are very small. In fact, one of the beds was about two inches from the wall on one side so you could only get in from the one free side.The bathroom is hardly big enough to turn around in. There is no bathtub, only a very small shower stall. I was not thrilled about this since I have a six-year-old and a nine-month-old baby. The first towel I took off the rack in the bathroom had something that looked suspiciously similar to a palm-sized blood stain on it. I took this to the lobby to ask for an exchange since I was not about to use it. The man at the desk was apologetic about it and brought me two replacement towels to the room. Also, I'm not sure how great a cleaning job gets done after each guest. My baby found a shoebox lid and assorted other small trash items in the floor under the edge of the beds as she was crawling around, and I had to wash to tops of her feet and her knees when I picked her up because they were black from the dirt she had picked up from the floor. Yuck! Overall, it was OK, but I would not stay there again, especially with kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciroc, General Manager at Beacon Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are dismayed to learn you did not enjoy your stay. If there were any issues with the cleanliness of your room I wish you had let us know so we could take care of them. As far as needing updating, your room had new carpet and new pillowtop mattresses in 2011. The oceanfront ramp with just rebuilt this year. All the beaches on the Outer Banks have high dunes and our oceanfront level is one of the few that you don't have a dune blocking your view. We spend the whole winter working on the property. Our health rating is A. We are known for our family atmosphere with the playground and kiddie pools. We are very fortunate to have our families with children that book year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beacon Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Motor Lodge

Address: 2617 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Beacon Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Motor Hotel Nags Head
Beacon Hotel Nags Head
Beacon Motel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.