We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT choice for 1st night in OBX” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colonial Inn to your Saves list
Colonial Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3329 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“GREAT choice for 1st night in OBX”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Could not ask for a better location right next to Nags Head Fishing Pier! They are not only oceanfront, but pet friendly as well so I got to walk my baby on the ocean with me on my birthday! The room was perfect for the night, even came with a fridge & microwave. The bathroom was small, but not bad for one night.

Room Tip: Oceanside rooms are the best even if not oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hey Travediva! Thanks for the great photo and review!! We are so glad you were able to bring your furry friend and enjoy your birthday with us here at the Colonial Inn! We hope it was everything you wanted and more and hope that you will return to see us again soon. We are so glad you got to enjoy the pier as well! We are lucky to have such a great location. Thanks again and enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    59
    29
    20
    9
See reviews for
72
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is our 12th time at the Colonial Inn. Yes, the motel is older; yes, the parking lot is cramped; yes, having the over-flow parking down the street is a pain; yes, the showers are small; but those things don't bother our family. We go there because we get a lot of bang for our dollar. We stay in one of their apartments; this year it was a one-bedroom apartment. With 4 people, it did get somewhat cramped, but we had booked it last year not knowing which, if any, of our grown sons would be available to come with us, Even so, we had a good time. We don't spend a lot of time in the room. It is nice having a full-size refrigerator, microwave, stove, and sink, as well as dishes and pans to cook breakfast, lunch, and several dinners. The place is clean, and renovations are being made all the time. The pool is a definite bonus to those of us who don't ocean-swim. Even having the over-flow parking where it is gives us a chance for extra exercise. HA! And the staff is terrific! Karla and Bo were great in the office. Karla even recommended a book by a local author. Thank you, Karla. Miss Pinky, Anna, and Diana are wonderful housekeepers and should be paid their weight in gold. They are delightful, and it's great knowing that they are there each year. Josh, the GM, is always willing to take time to listen to concerns and suggestions. We look forward to seeing all of you again next year! :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hey Kathy, thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of the Colonial Inn with so much great information for travelers to help make their decision as to where to stay on the Outer Banks! Thanks so much for all the staff shout outs as well, we will make sure they know what you have said and also get some WOW points for that -- which is our in-house rewards system for employees! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us again, and appreciate your return business with us! Thanks for the comments regarding the pool and the room! We look forward to your next visit and thanks again for the review Kathy! Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel is overpriced for the accommodations. Only In Nags Head can they get away with charging such high rates for such mediocre rooms. This place is in desperate need of a renovation. The furniture is outdated. The rooms are old, musty smelling and in terrible shape. The bed linen is dingy, the bathrooms are suspect looking, and the are conditioner is on it's last leg. Stayed there 3 nights and never had hot water. The only saving grace this motel has going for it is the staff. From the maids to the front office staff, everybody is super friendly.

Room Tip: Located on a busy street. You may hear less noise if you get a room in the very back of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Bobbie - I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I can say the owner has put a lot into renovating this hotel while keeping its character. Most of the furniture was purchased in the spring of 2014. We are planning more improvements this off season as well. As for our pricing we try to stay as relative to our competitors as we can. I do personally apologize you didn't feel you received what you paid for. Our hot water system was completely replaced in 2012. I will certainly look into why this was an issue for you and not fixed during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had 11 adults and 8 kids in 6 different rooms. The kids had a great time being able to go to the pool and then the beach without having to get in a car. The staff was extremely friendly...especially Bo. He is a great employee to have at the front desk. He was very friendly and helpful. He made us feel welcomed.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Mark, we are so glad we were able to accommodate your large party. We are glad that you enjoyed your vacation with us and thanks so much for your kind comments regarding staff member Beau. He certainly is great with the guests and has a lot to offer as an employee and a person in general. We are so glad the location was convenient for you and your family. We look forward to your return, and thanks so much for the review of the Colonial Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faber, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Booked a two bedroom apartment (Still have the confirmation sheet) stating that the bedroom holds two queenside beds, When I checked in, I was told that wasn't what I booked. Staff was reasonably friendly about the matter but it was definitely a take it or leave it situation. Room was clean but dated. For two adults to sleep on a fold our couch does not make for a great trip. Parking is tight and crowded. Again, staff was nice but there is definitely a problem in their booking procedures.

Room Tip: no advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Jim - I certainly remember this situation as the staff did let me know about it right away. I found the issue root cause of why this happened and been able to fix it from happening again in the future. I hope our gesture helped to rectify the system mistake. I apologize for any inconvenience and hope you were still able to enjoy your time at the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I liked this hotel. We had 7 people in our party and the spacious apartment with 2 queen beds in 2 bedrooms and a large kitchen/living room were perfect. t's not fancy but everything was clean and comfortable. Who needs fancy when you spend most of time at the pool, fishing off the pier or on the beach! Being next to the pier made it very convenient for fishing for my husband and brother. The pool was clean. The only thing I didn't like were people lingering outside our door late at night on the shared balcony/walkways. Overall, it was a good inexpensive hotel for a vacation at the beach!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Patty, we are so glad you and your party enjoyed the apartment and your stay with us! We are glad the pier was easily accessible and worked well for your party's needs. In addition, we appreciate the comment about the room being clean and comfortable. Thanks so much for your review Patty, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 br apt by the pool in July. The staff was very friendly and the cleaning service always had everything done by the time we came back from the beach. Convenient to everything and the rooms although older had everything you need and clean. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thanks so much for your review! We are so glad that everything with your stay was to your liking including the service, the room and we certainly hope that you will join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Address: 3329 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn is nestled at MP 11.5 On the oceanfront right next door to the Nags Head Fishing Pier. The hotel offers many different room types to accommodate every need. We are also pet friendly! There is a seasonal outdoor pool, a private beach access, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, as well as LG flat screen TVs. We also provide free YMCA passes at request, and free WIFI for our guests. We offer discounts for AAA, AARP members and run specials throughout the year. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey's Ridge State Park is half a mile south and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is less than 4 miles away. Lucky 12 Tavern is in walking distance, and Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar & Grill is half a mile north of the Colonial Inn!If you are looking for Old World Charm in the heart of Nags Head, the Colonial Inn is the place for you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Nags Head
Colonial Motel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.