We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Inn

Save Saved
You added Colonial Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonial Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3329 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 hotels in Nags Head
edwards, Ny
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

If you're looking for a 5 star or a luxury condo...keep looking. If you are looking for a clean, convienetly located, quiet place thats budget friendly- this is the place. The room was small and a bit outdated, BUT it was always clean as a whistle and ithe furthest room is less than a 100 yards from the beach. You could hear the surf as soon as you stepped outside. The staff was as helpful and friendly as you could ask for. Well under a $100 a night, we'll stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
I couldn't agree more that the sound of the surf never seems to get old. I will be sure to share this with housekeeping and we appreciate your comments. Come see us next you head to OBX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    54
    28
    18
    8
See reviews for
68
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We came to the OBX for the first time mid April for a nice long weekend for some peace and quiet, it was perfect. The Inn recently underwent some renovations and are very nice for the time you spend in your room. The Inn is on the beach, no kidding, literally on the beach with a staircase down through the sand dunes to the surf! We loved walking the beach, kite flying, and eating at the Nags Head Pier where the restaurant is pretty good! The location is 11.5 milepost, mid stream on the island, perfect! Karla and Linda in the office are very accomodating and friendly, offering the best of the OBX! We took in the sites, traveled the island and had a very good time. Josh, Thank you too for making room for us at the Inn for our weekend away! Sincerely, J and D
PS... Hang gliding was amazing !!

Room Tip: Ask about the different views available !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
I am so happy to hear your trip went so well. I will share your kind words with Karla and Linda and we hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We just completed a 3-day stay at this convenient, beach-front hotel. Carla and Linda who work at the front desk and Josh owner/manager are friendly and provided phenomenal service. Rooms were adequate, well-maintained, and provided a rustic charm that made for an enjoyable stay. The location is convenient and provides easy access to Nags Head pier and restaurant. We'd recommend it to others and will certainly consider it for our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
I am so appreciative of the kind words and will most certainly share with Linda and Karla. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The rooms were clean and the staff is so nice! We went dcuring spring break and a lot of the big chains were full but all we needed were beds and showers. With two small boys it was fine. The beach was amazing and we would probably stay again

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Karry thank you for the compliments regarding our staff and housekeeping. I will most certainly share this with the staff. We hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The hotel offers clean, basic rooms in a good location. Some rooms are on the beachfront with an ocean view. Pets are accepted.

No breakfast is included. Coffee is available in the reception area.

We stayed for a few days in early April, apparently just after the hotel had reopened after winter. Our first room was not ready for occupants and we had to move to the room next door ( a slight upgrade). On the final day of our stay, the hotel parking lot was re-asphalted. The work began at 6:00 AM, was very noisy and the fumes were strong. While the office staff appeared pleasant enough, with better management these situations would not have arisen. The hotel was not ready to receive guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Jan allow me to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of the paving process. It is not in our nature to make excuses so I do on behalf of ownership, our management company, and myself apologize. The nature of the winter we have had and partly planning of our capital improvements we were forced to put this project off until this date. We have sent a voucher for you to return at your convenience at no cost. We do hope you are able to return and allow us to compensate for your last day with us. I can tell you all off season improvements have been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were traveling with our dog so we were happy to have a place that still welcomes pets. The staff was very friendly....even before we arrived when we had to push our trip back a week due to an emergency. The motel was clean but we could tell it was old. I am guessing they have nicer rooms but since we had the dog I think we got a room they don't update too often. My biggest complaint is just that the room was so dark. The walls, doors and ceiling were dark wood that looked like something from the 70's. The tv, fridge and microwave were new. There was not a lot of lighting or outlets in the room either. The location is excellent....just had to go up a set of steps and we were on the beach. Overall, this place was fine for a place to sleep but not to spend a great deal if time in the room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, the room was clean, and you enjoyed the location. We all agree the rooms are a bit outdated. The current owner purchased the hotel two years ago. Each year he has invested in improvements and we have come a very long way. This off season we will be replacing the furniture and lighting. We have a lot planned for the off season. We sincerely hope you will consider us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The colonial inn is a very cozy hideaway right smack dab in the middle of the OBX. My roommate and I stayed for three nights in June of 2013, and did-not want to leave. Many restaurants within walking distance. We already have a room-reserved for the forth of July, 2014. You can never plan too far in advance. The continental breakfast wasgreat, it has the best french toast ever. In our room was a cute kitchen complete with everything! Comfy TV area with a couch and love seat, and dining area. More than enough room and comfortable beds. The walk out to the beach through the archway was so pleasant and inviting. The OBX is great, the Colonial Inn puts you in a Home, away from Home .

Room Tip: The rooms on the south side had the best for sun exposure seating outside the room. It is a quiet pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Nancy we sincerely appreciate your kind words. I will certainly pass along to the staff and we sincerely hope you are able to stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Address: 3329 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn is nestled at MP 11.5 On the oceanfront right next door to the Nags Head Fishing Pier. The hotel offers many different room types to accommodate every need. We are also pet friendly! There is a seasonal outdoor pool, a private beach access, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, as well as LG flat screen TVs. We also provide free YMCA passes at request, and free WIFI for our guests. We offer discounts for AAA, AARP members and run specials throughout the year. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey's Ridge State Park is half a mile south and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is less than 4 miles away. Lucky 12 Tavern is in walking distance, and Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar & Grill is half a mile north of the Colonial Inn!If you are looking for Old World Charm in the heart of Nags Head, the Colonial Inn is the place for you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Nags Head
Colonial Motel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;