We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colonial Inn to your Saves list
Colonial Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3329 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were originally going to stay 2 nights but after evaluation we decided to extend our visit 1 more night. The Inns staff was so understanding and nice it was unbelievable. We would like to thank the Maids that took care of our room during our stay they were extremely nice and very professional. We had an oceanfront room with easy access to the beach and the Nags Head Pier. The view was excellent. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. I am certainly blessed with a great team. I will be sure to share your wonderful feedback. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    59
    29
    20
    9
See reviews for
72
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a fun weekend at Nags Head. Stayed at the Colonial Inn with my wife and in-laws. We shared a small suite, but it was perfect for the event. The hotel is a little outdated, but don't take that as a negative. It actually was very quaint and a throw back to some nice memories from earlier days. The room was exceptionally clean. The hotel staff treated us like family. Every time I went to the lobby to get coffee, which was wonderful (generally i expect motel coffee to suck) and plentiful, I was greeted with a smile and "can I get you anything". Every time we saw a housekeeping staff person, they greeted us with a smile. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Eddie I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate the kind words and will certainly be sure to share with the staff. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staff was excellent - very helpful! Great hotel/motel location!! Clean rooms - spacious- loved kitchen (dishes/pots & pans) very needed! Bathroom good size- douyble beds - perfect! Couch & love seat
Great over all place!

Room Tip: Side near office is sunnier! Back of motel rooms are on the beach side!!!! Short walk from every roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
I sincerely appreciate the kind words and will certainly share with the staff. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Let me start with saying that this isn't the nicest or fanciest hotel I've ever stayed at. I don't recommend it for people with children or people who want many amenities. However if you are not one of those people - read on to hear the wonders of the Colonial Inn. I stayed here in one of their "apartment" rooms with my boyfriend and another couple. We loved this option because it gave us two bedrooms. The Inn is right on the beach and very convenient. It was clean, the service was great, and there was plenty of parking. The Colonial Inn is a motel of sorts so we expected as much, but the room was small and the bathroom reminded us of our first college apartment. We only spent time in the room to sleep and get ready in so we had no problems with the size. There is a small kitchenette and we were happy to utilize the fridge. If your main agenda for your trip is beach access this is definitely the place for you. If you want to spend a lot of time in your room, or have travelers with additional needs, this simple place probably isn't your thing.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back have nice porch chairs, but you cant see the beach over the dunes. Rooms in the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
I appreciate your feedback and honest review. We are an older hotel however we are consistenly upgrading and working to improve our guest experience. The bathrooms are on our list to upgrade along with many more plans for this off season. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very nice staff, the room was clean, very close to beach. We did not spend much time in the room, so the size suited us fine. The young girl at the front desk was very helpful when I asked for assistance with the WiFi for my Ipad, (I'm not computer savvy). Great having the continental breakfast available each morning before heading for the beach. Would recommend to friends and family as a clean, reasonably priced place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
I truly appreciate the wonderful comments and will be sure to let the front desk know. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

First, our trip was initially going to be one night and it was cancelled last minute...sadly with the cancellation policy in mind I made a call to the inn and a pleasant Gayle was ready to help...we rescheduled our trip for 2 weeks out and added an extra night as it was our wedding anniversary...Gayle worked some magic moving us to Labor day weekend and beach view...the location and access to the beach was outstanding. One negative is the parking lot...we had a minor fender bender when backing out and another guest checking in...but even that was handled with helpful info from Gayle...ready to lend a hand...even the local police were there quickly...and on a very busy weekend. We had an early morning dive the morning we were to check out...I made an inquiry about a late check out time so we could clean up before heading back to Raleigh...I was informed honestly regarding the renting of the room for that Sunday. I appreciated the frankness of the staff and their willingness to meet our needs. We were able to check out late on Sunday and even though our dive was not the best the staff, all the front office, the house keepers...everywhere were smiles. Your people are a huge asset and I am very happy with our stay. Thank you all!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and I am happy to hear you enjoyed your vacation. I can't say often enough how blessed I am with an incredible staff that sincerely care about each and every guest. We do hope you are able to return sooner than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Address: 3329 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn is nestled at MP 11.5 On the oceanfront right next door to the Nags Head Fishing Pier. The hotel offers many different room types to accommodate every need. We are also pet friendly! There is a seasonal outdoor pool, a private beach access, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, as well as LG flat screen TVs. We also provide free YMCA passes at request, and free WIFI for our guests. We offer discounts for AAA, AARP members and run specials throughout the year. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey's Ridge State Park is half a mile south and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is less than 4 miles away. Lucky 12 Tavern is in walking distance, and Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar & Grill is half a mile north of the Colonial Inn!If you are looking for Old World Charm in the heart of Nags Head, the Colonial Inn is the place for you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Nags Head
Colonial Motel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.