We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Overcomes an Over the Hill Motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Inn

Save Saved
You added Colonial Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonial Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3329 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 hotels in Nags Head
Morris, IL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Staff Overcomes an Over the Hill Motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I can't say enough about the helpfulness and knowledge of the staff. In booking "blind" I was hoping that we wouldn't be staying in an out of date place. The registration went smoothly and the folks couldn't have done a better job of directing us to local attractions and restaurants. The motel rooms were clean and the location of being right on the beach couldn't be better. The motel is long past its prime but is worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Jim I appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. Ownership of Colonial Inn changed hands just under two years ago and have been going through phases of upgrades and improvements. We do hope you will visit us again soon and see what all we have improved. I will certainly share your kinds words with the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    53
    28
    18
    8
See reviews for
67
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

After doing a lot of research, I found Colonial Inn. It had great reviews, despite having only a two star rating. For the great price we deciced to take a chance, and we are glad we did. The motel is older, but the rooms have been updated, repainted, new mattresses, etc. it was clean and the staff was friendly. Katie was GREAT! she is very cheerful and helpful and just a fun person. She gave us great tips on where to eat, and she did not steer us wrong! The motel has its own beach, too..a short walk from the rooms. Would I stay there again? You bet! And we usually stay at 3-star places. The room was small, but I was not there to stay in a room, but to enjoy the outer banks. Which we did.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We all appreciate your feedback. I am elated you had such an enjoyable stay. It is so nice to hear our off season renovations were a success and we are already planning upgrades for next year. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

You should know at the outset that the Colonial Inn is a no-frills type place. It has rooms, parking and a continental breakfast. It even has wi-fi if you're so inclined. That said, it also has an absolutely amazing location (it's right on the beach next to the Nags Head Pier and a block away from Lucky 12 Tavern which is where we'd have spent our nights out if not for other obligations) and, based on our interactions with them, an incredibly helpful staff. Katie and Hagen were incredibly friendly and absolutely beyond helpful. If there was a place we wanted to check out, or something we wanted to do, they helped us find it. We were only there for a weekend, but already determined that when/if we go back to Nags Head, that's where we're staying.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share your review with Katie and Hagen. We hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was a great place to stay. The staff were super friendly in helping out. It was very clean (which is a major concern when staying in a hotel). It was right next to the beach. We will be staying here again on our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We have certainly worked very hard on this property and it is so nice to hear your kind words. Reviews like this help motivate the staff by letting them know their hard work is paying off. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The view was beautiful. Ocean front, quiet and relaxing. The employees were respectful and nice. The young lady at the front desk was very helpful and friendly, Karla. I will be returning at the end of the summer. It was a safe place no noise or problems. I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Corner Apartment quiet beautiful view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
I will certainly pass along your kind words and appreciate the feedback. I am certainly blessed with a wonderful staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I went for a one-night getaway. Our room was great. It was very spacious and clean and pleasantly decorated. The location cannot be beat, right on the ocean! I have stayed here many times and will continue to stay here when I visit the Outer Banks.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms can't be beat!! Deluxe efficiencies are very spacious and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. I truly appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breezewood, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed June 14-19, 2013. The location was awesome, the rooms were clean (except the sofa and love seat), the staff friendly. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment and when we first arrived we noticed that the only A/C was a window unit above the outside door. We requested a fan to help move the air into the bedrooms and that worked ok. The sofa and love seat were very dirty and I was a little apprehensive about sitting on them. So we put a sheet over them -- that helped. The parking was a little tight. I expected the breakfast to be just muffins, coffee, and juice. So, I was surprised when my kids came back with French toast, waffles and egg omelets (of course, they were frozen and needed warmed in the microwave) but my kids were happy with that. We would consider returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Jenny I appreciate the kind words. I certainly agree that the sofas are outdated but assure you we clean them between each stay. They are also being replaced in the fall. We upgraded a lot of things in the rooms this year and the sofas and lighting are next on the list. I am also glad to hear he kids enjoyed their breakfast. We do hope to see you again soon and maybe next time we will have the new sofas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
Charming, Beach...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Nags Head Inn
Nags Head Inn
#4 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
4.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
4.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#7 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 492 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
2.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#11 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Address: 3329 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn is nestled at MP 11.5 On the oceanfront right next door to the Nags Head Fishing Pier. The hotel offers many different room types to accommodate every need. We are also pet friendly! There is a seasonal outdoor pool, a private beach access, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, as well as LG flat screen TVs. We also provide free YMCA passes at request, and free WIFI for our guests. We offer discounts for AAA, AARP members and run specials throughout the year. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey's Ridge State Park is half a mile south and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is less than 4 miles away. Lucky 12 Tavern is in walking distance, and Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar & Grill is half a mile north of the Colonial Inn!If you are looking for Old World Charm in the heart of Nags Head, the Colonial Inn is the place for you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Nags Head
Colonial Motel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.