We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Low Key, Great Staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Colonial Inn to your Saves list
Colonial Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3329 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Hagerstown, md
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, Low Key, Great Staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

What not to expect: A fancy, gorgeous high caliber hotel

What to expect: Fantastically friendly staff, RIGHT on the beach, clean upgraded rooms

I've stayed at the Colonial Inn for the past two years. They saved our butts last year when a hurricane ripped up 12 (we had a house booked for a week in hatteras) and we went right back to them this year without hesitation.

This year the rooms have been upgraded - new tv's, new beds, new carpet, etc.

Location is great. Right near the pier and literally on the beach. No walking across parking lots/roads/down the block. You've got direct beach access. Clean pool, charming "motel" atmosphere and the staff are probably the friendliest people ever.

This year when we arrived at the end of June, our sink had some draining problems (IE it wasn't...) They upgraded us to an apartment immediately for the trouble. The hotel is dog friendly, but we didn't bring ours. Kid friendly, but not loud or obnoxious.

If I had to dig up a complaint, it would be that the bathrooms don't have exhaust fans (at least the two I've been in didn't) and the bathrooms can get pretty hot and steamy in the middle of the summer without that. Pretty sure I can deal with it, though!

Don't book this motel and expect five star, but it's clean, neat, well kept, friendly, on the beach, awesome and reasonably priced. The Colonial Inn has earned my business and we will continue to book with them.

Room Tip: There are typical motel rooms, some right on the beach, and then apartments. As a family, we have st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
As always we are happy to see our returning family and we so appreciate you making this comment for us. We love having you and your family and cannot wait to see you next year. Thank you again and next time...bring the pup!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    58
    29
    19
    9
See reviews for
72
56
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Other reviews mention the motel's obvious age, and cramped parking. Both are accurate observations but not enough to give this place a bad review. When I noticed the sink in our bathroom was clogged, I asked the friendly woman at the front desk to send someone to fix it. A few hours later, when we returned from dinner, it drained just fine. I'm sure the sand is a chronic problem in beachfront motels. Although the parking is cramped, I never found myself boxed in or unable to find a parking spot. The fact that a wooden stairway just outside our room led directly to the beach below tended to cancel out any of this motel's minor defects. Sitting in the Adirondack chairs outside our room and listening to the surf was one of the most serene experiences of our trip to the Outer Banks. The Nags Head Pier right next door to the motel was interesting to visit, especially at night, when dozens of fishermen arrive to try their luck. The front desk personnel were always helpful and ready to answer any questions or give directions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review for us! We loved having you stay and hope that you will return to us soon. Thank you for being so kind to us and sweet about your sink...we are endeavoring to keep watch that this doesn't happen again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We spent 2 nights here in route to another destination. We had a small dog traveling with us which makes it hard to find a decent spot on the shore....especially last minute. We found this motel by review and I called and got a great room last minute in height of the season. It is probably the best room they have...unit #30 a studio room with kitchen, frig, coffee maker, sink, dining table, 2 couches (one pull out with extra sheets and pillows) and a queen bed. 175.00 a night high season. The shower was very tiny but clean. Nothing in this room is fancy, everything is worn, but everything is functional. And let's face it, when you are at the beach, you spend most of your time outside not in your room. What you get here is a great view, (sand dune/glimpse of ocean), end unit privacy, seconds to the beach, large porch with chairs, right next door to fishing pier with everything you need for fishing. It has a great restaurant (The Pierhouse), a large clean swimming pool, and a very quiet wonderful beach.
Perhaps the best part about this motel was the staff....SUPER NICE AND VERY HELPFUL! The beach and grounds are heaven for dogs. There is parking for guests and ice machines. The set up is perfect for a great beach stay. There is a great brew pub a few miles down the road.
All and all this is a great shore motel with wonderful people and a great location....I can see why it has been here so long!

Room Tip: unit 30 was probably the best...ask for units right up front on sand dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, we really appreciate it! We do love our four legged friends and hope that you will come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights in May with our dog. The location couldn't be better- right on the beach with it's own boardwalk. Even though it was said to be newly renovated, we found it to be dated and our room smelled very musty- we never got used to the overwhelming smell, though the room was clean. Overall, for the rate of $75 a night that we paid, we were a happy enough with our stay. Our dog enjoyed playing on the beautiful beach . Breakfast was very good with a lot of selection and we took it out to eat on the beach which was nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. We are always trying to fight the "musty" smell that comes from sitting on sand. It is a very difficult thing to master! Thank you again and we hope you and the pup will come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My first room had fleas all over the bed so I complained and they moved me into another room 30 minutes later. I would've liked a discount because the new room was in a worse location and didn't have the bed situation I wanted, but it's ok.

The new room had terrible lighting. With all the lights and the tv on, it was still uncomfortably dark. An outlet didn't work and the AC was very loud, even on the quietest setting. The breakfast was pretty good for this kind of motel.

It's right on the water, so the location's great, but I guess it depends on your room. It seems they are hit or miss. For $137.50 a night, I expect a better room.

Room Tip: the room with fleas was room #25 (king courtside). it was in a good location and seemed fine except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We wanted to apologize that your stay was not what you wanted. We hope that in the future you will give us another chance to show you how pleasant it can be here. Thank you for your comments as we strive to give our guests the best stay when they are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed again at The Colonial Inn for a mid-August, long weekend! Keri is a dedicated and very personable manager and all of the staff are great! We felt comfortably welcome and met a lot of friendly people (other guests)! The renovations that have been made really brightened up the room! I really love the beach there and being next to the pier/restaurant. Our daughter LOVED the Continental Breakfast! Thanks Jimmy, Pinky and the rest for your hard work! Just can't wait until we can do it again! Keri - Hi! And please tell Eddie and Gillian hello! Chris, Dave and Alison :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We were so happy to hear from you and doubly excited that you had a great time! We did too! We can't wait for you to come back real soon and see us! Thank you for taking the time to make this comment, we really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Recently stayed at the Colonial Inn for a short vacation. We were lucky to get a room on the dunes-- facing the ocean. Nothing like sitting on the "porch" in the MOST comfortable adirondack
chairs I have ever sat in, listening to the ocean and enjoying the breeze!
Everyone was friendly and accommodating.
Perfect place to stay if you are looking for casual, comfortable and no fussy, franchise options.
Great ac, nice TV and glad there was a hairdryer.
Has the potential to be a "GEM" with some capital investment.

Room Tip: Get the DUNES room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your kind comments! We were so happy to have you with us and will work hard to improve more and more each year! We always want each person who comes here to be happy and feel like they are family! Thank you again and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Address: 3329 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn is nestled at MP 11.5 On the oceanfront right next door to the Nags Head Fishing Pier. The hotel offers many different room types to accommodate every need. We are also pet friendly! There is a seasonal outdoor pool, a private beach access, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, as well as LG flat screen TVs. We also provide free YMCA passes at request, and free WIFI for our guests. We offer discounts for AAA, AARP members and run specials throughout the year. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey's Ridge State Park is half a mile south and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is less than 4 miles away. Lucky 12 Tavern is in walking distance, and Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar & Grill is half a mile north of the Colonial Inn!If you are looking for Old World Charm in the heart of Nags Head, the Colonial Inn is the place for you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Nags Head
Colonial Motel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.