We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A repeat customer....Great Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Foam Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Foam Motel
Save
You added Sea Foam Motel to your Saves list
7111 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A repeat customer....Great Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Family friendly older motel with oceanfront rooms, swimming pool, and a great staff. If you like fishing its walking distance to the Nags Head Fishing Pier.They go out of their way to make your beach vacation a great memory and if your like me you will return. Because of their great rates we often make multiple trips during the season.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    78
    13
    13
    15
See reviews for
75
50
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have stayed at this motel 2 years in a row... The rooms are a great size especially room number 5.. We did not request maid service during our stay, just fresh towels daily... Manager tracy is great... Very friendly and accomodating staff... This is a great place to stay without breaking the budget... We plan to go again soon... If you want big and fancy this is not it but if you want comfortable and affordable and great for kids this is it..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoy Sea Foam. The people are so friendly and laid back. Definitely coming back every year. It's right near the pier, animal friendly, clean, a value, and much more! The owners are considerate and we have had no complaints in the past two years! Recommend to any family with children or pets. They treated our dog like family also and spoke to him every morning

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed at the Sea Foam Easter weekend and just recently in June. Both visits were great. If you are looking for an old school beach experience this is the place to book. We've been staying at various motels in Nags Head since I was a teenager and the Sea Foam is my favorite by far.

No frills, but just what you need - a place to crash while you're swimming, dining or just enjoying the beach.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the ocean make sure you're on the top floor. First floor views are blocke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Last year my girlfriends and I had a long Labor Day weekend at the Sea Foam. This year we had a bachelorette weekend and decided to stay at the Sea Foam again (same group of girls). After our recent weekend stay, we decided to make this an annual event! We love the Sea Foam and it has become the only motel we will stay in at OBX. You can't beat the rates for the location. The owners are just awesome people and very laid back. Rooms are dated with wood paneling, but we love it and think it totally adds to the vacation. It's probably in the best location on beach road -short walk to all kinds of attractions. It's also oceanfront. Last year we had an oceanfront room which we loved, but this year we had two efficiency rooms and now that's where we plan on staying year after year. The efficiencies are large enough to comfortably fit 4 people and all their stuff, plus groceries. Thank you to all the Sea Foam staff for helping male out vacations totally worthwhile - we can't wait to come back every year. Well actually see you again in 3 weeks for a spontaneous trip since we had so much fun last weekend!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed three nights in room 37, top floor of the motel. I had read the reviews, some good, some bad, and want to put in my 2 cents too. The best thing about the hotel is the location, right on a beautiful beach, so that part was wonderful.
Hotel is old and very run down. Private lanai, sorta, had wooden plywood inbetween other guest lanai, not floor to ceiling, but well spaced. First arrived on June 3, 2014 and toilet paper roll had about 30 sheets left and none stocked. No shampoo or lotions either, just two small hotel sized bars of soap. Had to ask for more toilet paper, gal said it is in basket on back of toilet-no-not there. Next day we were gone all day long and came back and room was not tidied up, towels still left on floor, etc. Had to ask for it to be tidied up, but maids gone for the day. Asked for clean towels at least and guy said they were locked up and did not have the key. Finally we received some towels. No coffee maker in the room. Big coffee pot downstairs in the ice/pop machine room.
Lots that could be done to make travelers happy at the cost of $180.00 a day, very poor service indeed. We had a lot of fun touring around seeing beaches, light houses but was not impressed at all over the hotel.

Room Tip: The bathroom was just remodeled in this room, so that part was nice, but not too good of a remodelin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Great location, had a ball. Loved walking right out onto the beach. The place is a little pricey for its kinda run down, but I guess Its worth it to be right on the water.I would recommend taking your own blankets if your funny like me. I was a little dissapointed We could not see the water from the lower level but I loved that we could open the back screen door at night and listen to the ocean. The staff on the other hand , I did not have much contact with but the gentleman who took our reservations on the phone is super slow with not much personality and I am sure it was the same one who checked us in. The lady who took our key when we checked out was sure to tell me we were the last ones and it was before the 11 o'clock check out time. I figured as much as we paid for the place I was going to enjoy it till the end. All in all I would go back strickly for the location. After all I was there for the beach not the room. Oh and the beds are pretty uncomfortable.

Room Tip: if you want to see the ocean choose upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.5 mi away
Nags Head Inn
Nags Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#2 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 stars 963 reviews
7.3 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#11 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Owens' Motel
Owens' Motel
#13 of 13 in Nags Head
3.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Foam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Foam Motel

Address: 7111 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Sea Foam Hotel Nags Head
Sea Foam Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Foam Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.