We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Foam Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Foam Motel
Save Saved
You added Sea Foam Motel to your Saves list
7111 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I would stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Sea Foam is a pleasant hotel located oceanfront in Nags Head. It is within walking distance to Jeanette's Pier, Tanger Outlets, restaurants and a grocery store. This is a mom and pop family run place so dont expect the ritz, it is a beach motel.However the important things like clean crisp sheets, nice thick towels and very clean! The staff is very friendly as well. The pool was crystal clear and water temp was perfect.This motel is a true gem that I hope will be around for many years to come.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    63
    13
    9
    14
See reviews for
63
37
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Freeman, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our first visit to the Sea Foam Motel. It is an older motel but it appeared they were doing lots of upgrades and was there in minutes when we had an issue. VERY clean, no musty odors. Beds were SOOO comfortable....not those cheap thin mattresses. We have a number bed at home and those were comparable. They have great emenities like a fish cleaning table and two ice machines, one for ice for your room and one to fill coolers! There's free coffee in the morning in the breezeway and newspaper machines. We only live 3 hours from Nags Head and love to come every four day weekend we can get away. The room (efficiency) was affordable and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a courtside efficiency room #1 out at the road. I worried we would hear traffic all nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherland, VA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Sea Foam is a hotel with great character right on the ocean. View is excellent. So very close to the pier and many other sites/stores, etc. Loved our trip there. Motel is an older motel; very affordable. You can't beat the view!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had been helping our daughter prepare her house for sale and decided to recover at the beach. A relative suggested the Sea Foam, and she was dead on. This motel reminds me of why I started going to Nags Head instead of the 'Grand Strand'. Wonderful view from the room, right on the ocean. It is retro, so if you want the Hilton go there. If you want a very friendly old fashioned beach motel, visit the Sea Foam!

Room Tip: Upstairs, oceanfront for the view and the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at this motel for spring Bike Week 2013. We had reserved a courtside room (cheaper than oceanfront) and upon arrival was pleased to see that we had been upgraded to an efficiency/oceanfront, sand level walkout room. The original assignment was for a room that did not have heat, and it was really cold (46 degrees) when we arrived. The staff moved us at no extra cost into a room with heat. It was HUGE, the fully furnished kitchen was clean and complete with full refrig., coffeemaker, microwave, microwave dishes and pots and pans-- it even had dishwashing detergent already there. They even bring clean dish towels each day. The views were spectacular, the staff was excellent and friendly, and being the skeptic that I am, I searched for negatives, and there were none! No bugs, no dirt, just wonderful. It is not a new place, and it has been in business for a very long time. It is even on the historic registry. So, things are older. They have been really well maintained and it just feels like home. The carpets look like new. No stinky smells, the beds and linens were clean and fresh--they do their own bedding washing on site. Everyone takes such pride in this place, that you can't help but admire the facilities and staff. Recommend spending the couple extra dollars for the oceanfront corner/efficiency. All first floor oceanfront rooms have 2 entrances (both with real doors AND screened doors). One entrance is courtside, and the back door allows you to walk out onto the sand/ocean. The Dunes restaurant with breakfast buffet was within walking distance. Jeanette's Pier is a couple buildings down the beach. This is not a fancy overpriced place with mints on the pillows.It is however, a really nice place to stay while you enjoy the Outer Banks. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Corner efficiencies are roomy and have a fully equipped kitchen and big kitchen table. First floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the Sea Foam for a quick weekend getaway and we were not disappointed! The rooms are nothing fancy, but very clean and right on the beach! Beautiful views and a very helpful staff. We arrived later than normal Friday from Richmond and Tracy (?) was nice enough to accomidate us with a late check-in. The pier is withing walking distance from the motel as are many restaurants. We can't wait to come back when the weather is warmer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My Family has been staying at the Sea Foam for many years. This place is so family friendly. The beach, the pool, the scenic area make for a great vacation every year! Sea Foam is very well maintained and the staff is outstanding. This place is a hidden treasure!

Room Tip: I recommend ocean front efficiency...but all the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Foam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Foam Motel

Address: 7111 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Sea Foam Hotel Nags Head
Sea Foam Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Foam Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.