We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar

Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar
MP 11 on the Beach Rd, 3014 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
252 441 7299
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 72 Restaurants in Nags Head
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Corolla, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had to try this for myself, it was on Diners, Dives and Drive Ins. We went yesterday for lunch, I had a delicious fresh Mahi Mahi sandwich, with goat cheese, strawberries, lettuce, tomato and of course I had to have jalapeno peppers added. It was delicious.
Definitely will go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    185
    51
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Succasunna
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Old Time Outer Banks Dive Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Tortugas' Lie is a very small, old Outer Banks style restuarant that has survived for many years. A large portion of the Menu is Jamaican style cooking, prepared precisely as you would expect with outtanding flavors.. Quality and value is excellent, as is the service. A definite locals scene. Seating is limited, as is seating at the bar. This a popular place and if you try to have your lunch or dinner at Torrtugas in-season, be preapred to wait! But if you like what the Outer Banks was all about in the 70s and 80s, this is a must stop for you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“You Should Go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Been going to Tortugas' Lie for quite awhile now. Our family loves going there to grab a good bite away from all the huge vacation families that frequent other restaurants. This would certainly be more of a locals scene, but they are very welcoming of tourists and outta towners. The Conch Fritters and Carib Burger are some of my favorite. The pricing is also very reasonable. The folks who work at the bar are a lot of fun as well...And they've got the best T-Shirts.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yum!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great little local's bar/grill. Their habanero sauce is sold in the local grocery stores it is so good! Love the Habanero Burger, and the fries are some of the very best I have ever eaten. Defintely a place to add to your "don't miss" list!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fresh and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing salmon salad that was their lunch special the day we visit, think it is my favorite salmon salad ever...blackened salmon ( very fresh), quality baby greens, goat cheese, red grapes , roasted red peppers, pecans, and a homemade raspberry vinaigrette, no gummy bottled dressing here. The interior is fun and the new restrooms are clean and bright. Our server was friendly too. We will be back our next time we are on town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.