We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good views, good service, ok food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pier House Restaurant

Pier House Restaurant
3335 S Virginia Dare Trl, U.S. 158, Nags Head, NC 27959-9267
252-441-4200
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 72 Restaurants in Nags Head
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good views, good service, ok food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This place has the atmosphere of a crusty fishing shack which we loved! We were practically sitting on top of the water watching surfers and fisherman it seemed like we had chosen a great place to eat - the servers were friendly and competent but the food was just ok - menu choices were a little lackluster, but I was hoping the cooking was better than the writing...not so much. I think they said they had just reopened for the season, maybe the 'chef' was new.

Our dinner bought us free walk on the pier, otherwise there is a charge for going out there...that was a nice ending to the day

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    36
    19
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding Ocean Views, Good Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I remember seeing reviews on Pier House before we went to Nags Head, so I had to try it - so glad we did. We went for breakfast - and WOW! We were seated in the front room, and were right on top of the ocean. It could not have been better. Service was excellent; breakfast menu had many choices, and prices were reasonable. Service was really fast - too fast! I wanted to enjoy that view even longer! Great place to eat if you like the ocean!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice view, food not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

6 went for lunch. Great view on the porch. Food, well, not good. I had the pier pressure chowder, which was not good at all. Also had fried calamari, breading to thick not crispy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce Inlet, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“You gotta try the Pier Pressure chowder!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stopped at the Pier House for a light lunch. This place has all of the ambience you would expect in a seafood restaurant on a fishing pier with a view of the ocean. We tried their famous Pier Pressure chowder, a mini seafood stew with a slightly spicy, outstanding flavor. Going back there for more. Fantastic!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“"Lunch overlooking the pier"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I ate lunch here on our first day in OBX. I ordered the Pier Pressure soup (Fish Chowder) and a Grilled Cheese w/bacon. The soup was really good, but the grilled cheese was dry, tasted sort of stale, and was not hot - and it contained no bacon! My wife had the shrimp salad (actually a salad with broiled shrimp on top). She thought it was excellent! Our waitress was friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pier House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.